We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,989 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,650: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I absolutely love this Hotel ;) Whenever I visit Dublin I always chose the Gresham because of its quality and location. The service we receive is excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel decor and facilities are superb including the online check in option which is very handy if you arrive in Dublin early. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Kerry D Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

Delaware
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located, fairly priced, and full of helpful staff. My wife and I came for vacation and we couldn't have been more pleased. Would highly recommend to anyone to come and stay. Dublin overall has proven to be a great place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrandMrsTravelers56
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear MrandMrsTravellers56 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

The online check in option was really helpful and ran smoothly and saved time. Breakfast was terrific great choice well prepared and presented. Staff were both helpful and pleasant. The hotel is in an excellent position for many attractions, tour buses, restaurants and coaches from the airport. We have used the Gresham before and will again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muckpicker
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear muckpicker Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

My stay was over a weekend. Location is good, communal rooms were og, but a well managed building site, receiving upgrades. My room - 608 - has below par. Cheap furniture, ancient bathroom, but clean. In all, hotel relying on old glory doing as much upgrading as essential but nothing extra. OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilippAHSimon
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear PhilippAHSimon Thank you to your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel. We have re-inspected room 608 following your review and ask whether this room number is correct? The bathroom was refurbished approximately 3 years ago. All the furniture is made by a company called Castlebrook Furniture and Design, who have just completed a refurbishment of London's Connaught...

Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the gresham before staff very friendly great city centre location very easy to get to. Downside not all breakfast staff helpful seemed a bit annoyed when asked for omelette & poached eggs. Breakfast a bit dissapointing this time to be honest !! Overall a gud stay but there are other hotels in Dublin of as good if not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brantry B
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Brantry B Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If you could let me know went you did stay, i can investigate the issues surrounding breakfast further. Please do not hesitate...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Twin room was small compared to some but it was adequate. The view from the window was disappointing. The room had a safe, desk, and t.v. with a limited number of channels. The en suite had no bath but the shower produced a reasonable stream. The hotel staff were friendly and Toddy's bar was well stocked and provided an interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Jeff B Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Set on O'Connell Street, the Gresham Hotel was the perfect location for us. I visited with my mum and we were both impressed with our stay. Fantastic service and the hotel food was wonderful, would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah H
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Rebekah H Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel on-line which was rated as 4-star, and were not impressed. We arrived at midnight after a long drive and were looking forward to a night in a luxury hotel. They could not find our reservation and all but accused us of lying about it even though we had the email and confirmation number to show. An...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RYAN K
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear RYAN K Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel. Whilst we did receive your reservation, w are investigating the issues surrounding your arrival. The Gresham is a very large hotel with 323 rooms and like any hotel of our size, we have rooms close and others far away from an elevator. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

Danville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 April 2015

A beautiful old hotel complete with crystal chandelier and an old fashioned reception dest and the name in the stonework above the door, Great location, nice breakfast, nice and clean but clearly dated rooms. They are in the midst of a face lift, especially in the reception area. The dining area is clean and bright and the food good, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herb I
Pori, Finland
Reviewed 23 April 2015

My parents visited me in Dublin over the Easter holidays and they stayed in the Gresham. I was vowed when they told me that they would stay there, as I knew the reputation of the hotel. However, their experience was not the best. My parents and I have travelled a lot in Europe and stayed in a variety of hotels....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henri V

1,121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (649)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (276)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Elizabeth Taylor Suite (89)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #408 (60)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #442 (69)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 151 in Dublin
4,237 reviews
0.6 km away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
2,379 reviews
2.1 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €17.00 overnight rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: $125 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a room with a view of O'Connell street, 4th floor and we were never woken by any noise so it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles KieranBrighton, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room in the inner sanctum areas as outside wall rooms could be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 944AndrewB, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher floor away from lifts!”
 of 5 bubbles Privatedancer, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles tinsley27, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room at the back is very quiet -- lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles Cobblerstravels, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5