We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Merrion Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Merrion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Merrion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,860: English reviews
Northampton, England
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Regal hotel in the party city of Dublin, the Merrion provides relaxing grandeur in the main reception, drawing rooms and bar. The bedrooms, we stayed in the Garden wing, are big enough to avoid claustrophobia sometimes encountered in city hotels though perhaps not as luxurious as might be expected from the initial impressions front of house. The staff are highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trickster
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed The Cellar Bar and our Art Afternoon Tea, and to read your lovely comments about the service that you received here at the Hotel. I hope it is not too long...

Westport, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I stayed for several nights recently, after being away from Ireland for a year. I used to stay several times a year. The hotel has maintained it excellence in all categories. I'd be disappointed to stay anywhere else in Dublin -- great service, food, artwork, history and location. A real treat. My only advice would be to have a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. You will be pleased to hear that we are currently going through an exciting transformation project here at the hotel, which will see the expansion of our Tethra Spa over the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We had a wonderful stay here last wednesday night, the room was absolutely beautiful and the staff could not do enough. Really enjoyed our stay, special mention to the breakfast which was yummy, I had the french toast which was lovely andf my dad had th full irish which was also gorgeous. Our only complaint was the patrick guilbauds restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katie m
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed breakfast in our Cellar Restaurant, and to read your kind words about the service that you received here at the Hotel. I have shared your comments with the team, who I am certain...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 September 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Merrion for 5 days in Aug and absolutely loved it. The service was above and beyond and could not have been more perfect. Upon arrival we needed an emergency dental appointment and we had one setup within one hour!! Every request was met with an immediate and full response in the most friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda R
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are all truly delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. I was disappointed to read that you experienced some inconsistencies with our Wi-Fi. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for this, and to thank...

Southam, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Went here recently for Art tea for my Mums Birthday. It was pure perfection from the food, tea and service. It was luxurious in every way and being surrounded by priceless art helped as well. Art tea is like no other afternoon tea because desserts take their inspiration from art around the hotel. The service is second to none because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily K
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was delighted hear how much you enjoyed the Art Afternoon Tea and that you had such a wonderful dining experience. I have shared your comments with the team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Thank...

Calgary
Reviewed 5 September 2015

we came from the St Helen's which was very close to UCD where we were settling in our daughter for her studies. The contrast was night and day. The Merrion is service personified. While you pay for it, you can clearly see what you are paying for. The room was large and beautifully appointed. The staff, food and beverage service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MEC6
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and I hope it is...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The service and atmosphere in this hotel were excellent, with the staff on hand at all times to assist with whatever they could. We had afternoon tea which was delicious and when we had a small issue with one of the cakes the manager was immediately on hand and provided 3 free glasses of champagne as a token which totally...

Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Majella M
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Art Afternoon Tea and that the issue you had was resolved so promptly. I have shared your comments with my colleagues and they are very pleased that you appreciated their...

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Disappointing hotel. Room is poor... tiny TV, entertainment unit didn't work, bedding not appropriate to summer, bedside tables too big for the bed, wifi is dreadful, no shelving in bathroom for your personal effects and a horrible water saving shower head. Concierge staff were mixed...some were friendly were helpful and friendly... others would look right through you as if you...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Melb_tourist
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We have endeavoured to find any record of the issues you allude to in your review being reported or even your stay, as of course we were most concerned to read your comments and observations. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly at...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Precisely the level of service both my girlfriend and I had hoped for; very attentive however not over the top. Whilst the hotel is maginificient both in it's heritage and attention to detail, the staff truly make it an experience to remember. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mulliganc
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that my colleagues created...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Love this hotel the best throughout my entire 23 days Europe trip! It was situated close to the shopping area and lots of eatery round the corner. Service was superb from the moment you stepped out of the taxi as the bellboys greeted you and assist with the luggages. The relaxed atmosphere and tasteful decorations of the old charm hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mic_leow
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay, and to read your kind words about the service that you received here at the Hotel. I have shared your comments with the team, who I...

1,019 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (635)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (126)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (217)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (351)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Merrion Penthouse Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
The Merrion Suite (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
2,747 reviews
0.6 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
3,700 reviews
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
2.5 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,278 reviews
0.9 km away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $402 - $911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Jetsetter, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#1 Family Hotel in Dublin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#1 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#2 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Merrion Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Merrion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the small courtyard were nice!”
 of 5 bubbles KendallSchue, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They have charger converters for your electric items. No need to bring a lot of extras!”
 of 5 bubbles SherrifromDestin, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if possible the old house rooms have a special charm”
 of 5 bubbles 665cathym665, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Main house generally nicer, I think”
 of 5 bubbles FaffyTravels, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't pass up the Spa and make sure you have a whiskey in the lounge.”
  • Yes. I really did set up my laptop so I could watch The Crown whilst sipping champers in the bat
  • Best. Bed. Ever.
 of 5 bubbles MD2FL, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5