We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (12)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
1 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
102
196
156
81
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
102
196
156
81
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free breakfast person room temple bar grafton street trinity college dorm ireland pub
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't call this a hotel. Was like a cheap hostel, without the cheap!! Looks like the council may use this place for homeless etc. Breakfast was toast and cereal which was fine and plentiful, but absolutely packed solid. On the plus side, staff were really...More

Thank Traveler12463832636
Response from Larry T, Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 5 days ago

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that haven't fully enjoyed your stay with us. We are trying to make a difference in all our guests traveling plans and hearing that we failed to impress you makes us sad....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Weird vibe and also weird smells in the hostel. It’s more like a hotel and 4 floors high. Lot’s of homeless locals and people looking for jobs, no backpacker vibe at all. No nice common area’s, you’re not allowed to drink alcohol even though there...More

Thank Annetript
Response from Larry T, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 5 days ago

Dear guest We are very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, even thou you appreciated our location and the staff being nice. Cleanliness is very important to us and this is the reason why the staff in the kitchen...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

54€ a night for a room with 4 beds and no bath. The only reason I booked was because there were no more hostels available at that time. Shower rooms remind you of your highshool sport times, mass cabines with that "press to obtain 3...More

Thank Robert_Zisser
Response from Larry T, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 5 days ago

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. We are very careful to ensure prices are always competitive and we are very sorry to hear that even thou you have agreed to pay a price, you have found our facilities over priced. We hope to be...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not very expensive. Did the job. Great location. Perfect for a quick visit to Dublin. Recommended if you do not want to spend too much on accommodation and will be spending most time outdoors sightseeing.

Thank VD1214
Response from Larry T, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 5 days ago

Dear guest Thank you for your kind feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hostel, should you ever wish to comeback to Dublin.. Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 nights here. So close to town we got to explore on foot. Friendly and helpful staff made our stay welcoming. Clean and tidy rooms and what made the teenagers so happy was the free breakfast. 😊 Would highly recommend anyone to...More

Thank Scenic731940
View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
70
Price range
USD 14 - USD 182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Avalon House Hotel Dublin
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
70
Price range
USD 14 - USD 182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Avalon House Hotel Dublin
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Photos
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (12)
Amenities (33)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 153 nearby hotels
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
656 reviews
.14 km away
Grafton Capital Hotel
1,065 reviews
.18 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
2,559 reviews
.18 km away
Drury Court Hotel
1,818 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,912 nearby restaurants
Whitefriar Grill
1,248 reviews
.09 km away
The Bald Barista
158 reviews
.11 km away
Bow Lane
205 reviews
.09 km away
Dublin Pizza Company
58 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,479 nearby attractions
Marsh's Library
554 reviews
.29 km away
St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre
502 reviews
.29 km away
Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church
67 reviews
.10 km away
Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Whitefriar Street Church
15 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Iona A
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Maguder D | Reviewed this property |
You can buy one at 1euro shops cheap too ( IN dublin there are a lot of 1 Eruo shops like 1$ shops in USA and Japan.)
0
Votes
Mihai H
8 July 2015|
Answer
Response from adrioceano | Reviewed this property |
It was a wonderful journey and I recommend to everyone who wants to discover unique places in the world.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Can be a very long walk to the bathroom. Ask for a room closer."
Traveler12463832636
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Dont come here if you can afford any better."
smcintee
28 Aug. 2018
Read review
"Cheap private ensuite accommodations."
ca2210
15 Aug. 2018
Read review
"If you get a double ensuite, request the top floor. Other rooms... the higher up the less street noise."
rochellec36
10 Jun. 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing