We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Merchant House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
N.Ireland
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent location, right in the middle of Temple Bar and yet so quiet. Good security, excellent manager in Chris who went above and beyond to accommodate any request. Room was stunning down to every little last detail, beautifully decorated, comfortable bed and great sized bathroom. Would stay here again and highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jetsetgirl01
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time out to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure looking after you both. See you sometime soon ....................

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here on many occasions - I booked at 11 this morning only to have to cancel at 1pm due to a family emergency & be told they would not refund me my €160, a €160 that has already been taken from my card although it said on e-mail that it was payable at hotel. I cannot believe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky B
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

As we explained to you as well as the agent you booked with. Your reservation was totally discounted down and the rate you received was excellent but with no refunds. WE DID OFFER you another date without any loss but you abruptly declined with a barrage of abuse. It clearly stated in all your documents that you went for a...

Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We really liked the location a lot. Right in the heard of temple bar area. The room was extremely quiet. No noise at all from outside! Clean and well designed Stoker room. Takes 35 minutes with an air coach or air link for 10-12 euro per return ticket. Walk from busstop is max 10minutes. Improvements: the matras was not really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peteruga
Ireland
Reviewed 8 December 2016

this is a quiet, comfortable historic town house in Dublin's Temple Bar. You are a few minutes from dublin castle, Trinity College and Christchurch Cathedral so very central. It is not a serviced hotel but it has spent a bit of time thinking through everything you might need to ensure a comfortable stay. my room, W.B. Yeats room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lizs105
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

So sorry for this delay in replying to your lovely review. Thank you indeed for your kind words. It was a pleasure to look after you both. Do visit us and Dublin soon............... Thank you again !!

NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Arrived at the Merchant House, and to say it was unexpected was an understatement, as I suppose I was expecting the more traditional type service, but can say it was a nice room and served us well, nice and roomy and good blackout blinds, it was quite loud but with a few drinks its not that noticeable, bed was super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IHATELIBRAHOLIDAYS
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Well-appointed rooms in a super central location, friendly and helpful staff. Low water pressure, no kitchenette (does have a minibar&coffee/tea maker) but for the rest very comfortable and quiet in the middle of Temple Bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stanm0re
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you indeed for taking the time to leave a kind review. We are advertised as Guest Suites and therefore do not provide a 'kitchen/cooking' area . Temple Bar is full of food outlets . We prefer to offer our Guests nice furnishings while they can enjoy the quiet atmosphere of their Suites. Thank you again.................

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

What a find! Firstly, don't be concerned about Temple Bar noise as this charming guest house is fully double-glazed. We arrived early but it was not an issue as the gentleman who met us, took our bags & when we returned at the specified time, we were taken up to the Oscar Wilde suite (top floor). Exceptionally clean with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeteEdge1
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

It was indeed a pleasure to look after you both. Thank you for such a nice , reasonable and honest review. See you both on your next visit................

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent little B&B with gracious hosts - the Bram Stoker room was the perfect size and the location couldn't have been any better. Within walking distance of a huge amount of things to see, shopping, the ubiquitous pubs, or just plain people watching. Highly recommend this B&B for couples. Access might be a little tight for families but still doable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We arrived weary on a late Wednesday night, after more than 26 hours in transit and 22 hours flying direct from Australia, and it was an absolute pleasure to arrive at such delightful accommodation and to have such a warm welcome by the housekeeper and effortless check in process. It was like arriving home! We stayed in the James Joyce...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Swarvie
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We stayed here for two nights during our 22-day vacation, and it was not only the nicest place we stayed during our journey but also the nicest place I think we've ever stayed! We loved how it's been updated and modernized while maintaining much of the original architecture, like the brick fireplaces. We arrived late because we'd popped over to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quinnunit66
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

We are exhausted after reading your review, on behalf of our small team here in Dublin a big Thank You for taking the time out to write same. It was a pleasure to look after you both . Do contact us for your next stay at The Merchant House and we will be delighted to offer you our customary discount...

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Bram Stoker Suite (38)
Viewed
James Joyce Suite (42)
Viewed
Oscar Wilde Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
WB Yeats Suite (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
3,746 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,403 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
2,655 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range: $239 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Merchant House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the rear of the building are probably quieter.”
bethd599, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“i understand they have a smaller room to the back but it's also the quietest with a room on top with fab views..”
lizs105, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close to points of interest”
LouiseJ_13, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No lift, over 4 floors”
H8205DElindak, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“If you have large luggage, try to get the Bram Stoker room or the one on the second floor - there's no elevator. Yeats was third floor.”
lindsaypindsay, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5