We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Merchant House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of The Merchant House
 Click to rate
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly let me say that the standard of this room was excellent, very clean and the staff we're on their game the whole four days we occupied it and even kept our cases safe in the hallway due to our evening return flight. This particular room is at the top of a flight of stairs from memory it's about 6/7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atjs24
Nassau, New Providence Island
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 13 October 2016

In heart of Temple Bar area. We had the James Joyce suite. Windows were excellent for keeping out sound. Comfy bed, good shower, very clean. Checkin is at 2 pm - no earlier - we arrived around 1:00pm, but our luggage was kept until we returned. Did not have the breakfast package. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Deb G
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Merchant House apartments are located between a sex shop and Thai message parlour in the centre of Temple Bar. For those who don't know Temple Bar Dublin, it is ideally located for the river, castle and shops. It is also surrounded by hundreds of bars and restaurants who all play live music from early to very late! Hence my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul D
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you indeed for your review. You are correct, Temple Bar is a lively vibrant place with wonderful activities . It is over 1000 years old and full of character. We do like to provide our Guests with comforts and ear plugs are provided for light sleepers. We also have 'secondary' glazing in our building to dedden most outside noises,...

Lancashire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an excellent town house and what excellent, considerate service. I ended up travelling alone and was on a flight delayed late into the evening. I knew that there was no reception at the Merchant House. As a women travelling alone, this bothered me but Christian stayed until I arrived and made sure I was safe and settled. I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LancashireBells21
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

We were aware your flight was delayed and indeed that can be stressful on our guests. Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to leave this review. It was a pleasure to look after you and do visit us again by using your return guest discount voucher. Thank you from Kristian and all the team...

Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the Bram Stoker room for 3 nights as part of a football match visit to Dublin and we were not disappointed . We arrived about 4.30pm on Thursday night and were met and shown up to the room and everything was explained on arrival . Room has all you could ask for including a very comfortable bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martyn M
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to look after you both . Indeed the streets are cleaned early some mornings so they are presentable afterwards. Our staff at the Stage Door are delighted with your review of their breakfasts. We do provide ear plugs for light sleepers but obviously you didn't pop...

Anahuac, Texas
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Location, location, location! We were guests at The Merchant House for 6 nights during the St. Patrick's Day Festival last week. Central to everything and in the heart of the city. A few minutes walk to the historical landmarks, great restaurants, lively pubs, and public transportation. We were half a block from the parade and it doesn't get any better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BevThomassee
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review . It was a total pleasure to look after your party for such a long period. We are so pleased that the St Patrick festivities were to your liking here in Dublin. We pride ourselves in offering beautiful, comfortable and relaxing Guest Suites in the heart of Dublin city. We are...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice, very clean & home-like rooms. Lovely bathrooms. The first night we had some trouble with a window that wouldn't close but the staff were lovely and solved the problem as fast as they possibly could by taking us to another room for the night which was also very nice!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VictoriaXara
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, it was a pleasure to look after you. Do stay again in 2017 for your special return customer discount rate.

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place in heart of Temple Barrett. The attention to detail in suites was stunning. I booked 2 rooms for myself and 3 daughters and was overwhelmed by how fantastic the rooms were. We had the WB Yeats and Oscar Wilden suites. Owners very friendly and rooms spotless. They will even look after your bags for you the day you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bernibop
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to look after your party at The Merchant House. Do come back soon and try another of our luxurious Guest Suites.

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing location, in the heart of the "action". Very clean, outstanding warm design. To improve; 1. Breakfast was served in a nearby restaurant, very stylish but extremely limited menu. If you stay for more than three days, food would be boring ;( 2. Underfloor heating in the shower area didn't work around the clock. Otherwise- a perfect place !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank עמית פ
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you indeed for your kind review. Our underfloor heating is on a timer turning on for 6 hours each day. Our breakfasts are limited but very tasty and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed our facilities here in Dublin. Thank you again .

Ireland
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the W.B Yeats suite for two nights off peak in January. Large room with walk in shower, street facing with double glazing but light sleepers may need to avail of the complimentary ear plugs, noise didn't bother me personally. Steep stairs, not for crutch users or those with bad knees/hips. Lovely for a romantic stay in beautiful Dublin....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Romy F
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

So sorry for late response to your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you both. We do try and make that little effort to make our Guest stay's that bit nicer. Do return sometime soon and thank you again !!

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Bram Stoker Suite (38)
Viewed
James Joyce Suite (42)
Viewed
Oscar Wilde Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
WB Yeats Suite (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
3,753 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
2,660 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 153 in Dublin
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range: $241 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Merchant House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the rear of the building are probably quieter.”
bethd599, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“i understand they have a smaller room to the back but it's also the quietest with a room on top with fab views..”
lizs105, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close to points of interest”
LouiseJ_13, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No lift, over 4 floors”
H8205DElindak, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“If you have large luggage, try to get the Bram Stoker room or the one on the second floor - there's no elevator. Yeats was third floor.”
lindsaypindsay, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5