We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Merchant House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of The Merchant House
 Click to rate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice, very clean & home-like rooms. Lovely bathrooms. The first night we had some trouble with a window that wouldn't close but the staff were lovely and solved the problem as fast as they possibly could by taking us to another room for the night which was also very nice!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VictoriaXara
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, it was a pleasure to look after you. Do stay again in 2017 for your special return customer discount rate.

Nassau, New Providence Island
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 13 October 2016

In heart of Temple Bar area. We had the James Joyce suite. Windows were excellent for keeping out sound. Comfy bed, good shower, very clean. Checkin is at 2 pm - no earlier - we arrived around 1:00pm, but our luggage was kept until we returned. Did not have the breakfast package. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deb G
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful place in heart of Temple Barrett. The attention to detail in suites was stunning. I booked 2 rooms for myself and 3 daughters and was overwhelmed by how fantastic the rooms were. We had the WB Yeats and Oscar Wilden suites. Owners very friendly and rooms spotless. They will even look after your bags for you the day you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernibop
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to look after your party at The Merchant House. Do come back soon and try another of our luxurious Guest Suites.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing location, in the heart of the "action". Very clean, outstanding warm design. To improve; 1. Breakfast was served in a nearby restaurant, very stylish but extremely limited menu. If you stay for more than three days, food would be boring ;( 2. Underfloor heating in the shower area didn't work around the clock. Otherwise- a perfect place !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank עמית פ
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you indeed for your kind review. Our underfloor heating is on a timer turning on for 6 hours each day. Our breakfasts are limited but very tasty and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed our facilities here in Dublin. Thank you again .

Ireland
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the W.B Yeats suite for two nights off peak in January. Large room with walk in shower, street facing with double glazing but light sleepers may need to avail of the complimentary ear plugs, noise didn't bother me personally. Steep stairs, not for crutch users or those with bad knees/hips. Lovely for a romantic stay in beautiful Dublin....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romy F
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

So sorry for late response to your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you both. We do try and make that little effort to make our Guest stay's that bit nicer. Do return sometime soon and thank you again !!

N.Ireland
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent location, right in the middle of Temple Bar and yet so quiet. Good security, excellent manager in Chris who went above and beyond to accommodate any request. Room was stunning down to every little last detail, beautifully decorated, comfortable bed and great sized bathroom. Would stay here again and highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jetsetgirl01
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time out to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure looking after you both. See you sometime soon ....................

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here on many occasions - I booked at 11 this morning only to have to cancel at 1pm due to a family emergency & be told they would not refund me my €160, a €160 that has already been taken from my card although it said on e-mail that it was payable at hotel. I cannot believe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky B
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

As we explained to you as well as the agent you booked with. Your reservation was totally discounted down and the rate you received was excellent but with no refunds. WE DID OFFER you another date without any loss but you abruptly declined with a barrage of abuse. It clearly stated in all your documents that you went for a...

Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We really liked the location a lot. Right in the heard of temple bar area. The room was extremely quiet. No noise at all from outside! Clean and well designed Stoker room. Takes 35 minutes with an air coach or air link for 10-12 euro per return ticket. Walk from busstop is max 10minutes. Improvements: the matras was not really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peteruga
Ireland
Reviewed 8 December 2016

this is a quiet, comfortable historic town house in Dublin's Temple Bar. You are a few minutes from dublin castle, Trinity College and Christchurch Cathedral so very central. It is not a serviced hotel but it has spent a bit of time thinking through everything you might need to ensure a comfortable stay. my room, W.B. Yeats room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizs105
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

So sorry for this delay in replying to your lovely review. Thank you indeed for your kind words. It was a pleasure to look after you both. Do visit us and Dublin soon............... Thank you again !!

NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Arrived at the Merchant House, and to say it was unexpected was an understatement, as I suppose I was expecting the more traditional type service, but can say it was a nice room and served us well, nice and roomy and good blackout blinds, it was quite loud but with a few drinks its not that noticeable, bed was super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IHATELIBRAHOLIDAYS

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Bram Stoker Suite (38)
Viewed
James Joyce Suite (42)
Viewed
Oscar Wilde Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
WB Yeats Suite (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Clarence
#44 of 153 in Dublin
1,517 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
961 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#84 of 153 in Dublin
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
2,622 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,374 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range: $246 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Merchant House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i understand they have a smaller room to the back but it's also the quietest with a room on top with fab views..”
 of 5 bubbles lizs105, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close to points of interest”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseJ_13, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No lift, over 4 floors”
 of 5 bubbles H8205DElindak, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“If you have large luggage, try to get the Bram Stoker room or the one on the second floor - there's no elevator. Yeats was third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsaypindsay, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Take the breakfast option you won't be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles foxesfan1, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5