We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hall Green

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lifford
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hall Green
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Navan, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Had googled "Lifford accommodation" and this was the first spot that came up and very happy I went with it. Lovely old farm house on an active farm. I landed and was given tea and cake in the sitting room where I got to enjoy the company of the owners along with some Aussie guests. Bed was very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johhny F
Holywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We were looking for somewhere to stay on Christmas Eve and Christmas Night. Mervyn and Jean welcomed us into their beautiful, historical and characterful home with genuine warmth and hospitality. Imagine our surprise when we came down to breakfast to find a Christmas present with our names on and sitting on the table. The breakfast was superb, as was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed for 2 days with 2 teenaged boys. We had a very pleasant welcome with tea and biscuits directly after arrival. The boys could play in the huge garden and with Rocky (the dog). This B&B is different than all the other B&B's we visited. This is a very special and historical place and the kindness of Jean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward v
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This ancient Plantation house, which is still a working farm and very much a family home, is an excellent place to base yourself if you want to explore the history of Ulster. We loved our huge room with two large and comfortable Victorian beds, a shower en suite and a hand basin in the room. It was incredibly warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Euberes
barcelona
Reviewed 26 October 2013

this is a great place. an old farm, the house has a history. you do feel you are in Ireland, in a place and with a family that is part of the history of the country. they are very nice, the place is old yes but so charming. It is very quiet and relaxing

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ladivinebarcelona
jeannie27lifford, Owner at The Hall Green, responded to this review

thank you for your review it was a pleasure to have you as our guests and hope your trip to Ireland was enjoyable

Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewed 18 May 2013

With such wonderful history for the house, we were looking forward to our stay. However, the place was so filthy we considered leaving. It obviously had not been dusted or vacuumed for some time. The carpets were dirty, so we wore slippers. There was black mold in the bathroom in the shower and on the windows. Every place we touched...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roundup600
jeannie27lifford, Owner at The Hall Green, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your experience of our bed & breakfast. We have never been aware of any of our guests commenting in this way while staying with us - if anyone does have a comment it is a good idea to tell the proprietor so they can respond at the time. However, we have reviewed...

Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This house was nice on the outside and the antique furniture was interesting. We stayed three nights. The bathroom had mold growing on the shower door and on the grout behind the toilet. There was mold on the windows in the bedroom. There were cobwebs and spiderwebs on the front of the dresser and hanging from the ceiling light. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mari6951
jeannie27lifford, Owner at The Hall Green, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were disappointed with our bed & breakfast. This is a very unusual experience for Hall Green. In general we like our guests to tell us in person if they have any comments on the facilities. We would of course then do all we could to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Although we have...

Texarkana, Texas
Reviewed 30 September 2012

On the day my husband and I arrived at Hall Green it had just rained and a brilliant rainbow materialized, seeming to land in the front yard. Indeed, Hall Green is not only a historical treasure to its community (at 400 years old), it's a gem to those who choose to stay there. Jean and Mervyn are wonderful hosts and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SabrinaM904
jeannie27lifford, Owner at The Hall Green, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and Mervyn and I always enjoy helping our guests make the most of their time in Donegal.

Lubbock, Texas
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Jean and Mervyn welcomed us with scones and tea which was wonderful. They were very helpful with information about the area. The food was wonderful, and how often do you get to stay in a 400 year old house.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimmy B
jeannie27lifford, Owner at The Hall Green, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are always so pleased to share our historical home with visitors, and it is particularly rewarding for us when they take such an interest. Everyone is greeted with scones, cakes and tea to make them feel welcome and we are glad you enjoyed these extra touches.

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 3 July 2012

How often does one get to stay in a 400 year old house? Jean welcomed us with tea and scones and we felt welcome right away. I was on crutches from hurting myself on the first day of our trip but Jean and Mervyn allowed me to use the downstairs loo after breakfast so I wouldn't have to made the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sabinojan
jeannie27lifford, Owner at The Hall Green, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back and spend more time with us, because you are right, we are a good base for exploring the area, right up to the Giant's Causeway and the north coast.

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Additional Information about The Hall Green

Address: The Hall Green The Hall Green Porthall, Lifford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Lifford
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hall Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go someplace else.”
 of 5 bubbles Roundup600, 18 May 2013 | Read review
“If you have someone with special needs you might want to ask for a room on the ground floor if possible”
 of 5 bubbles JimmyB109, 6 Jul 2012 | Read review
“There are several rooms to choose from - some ensuite, others not. We had a huge corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanL303, 14 Sep 2011 | Read review
3 of 3