We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Central Hotel - Donegal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Central Hotel - Donegal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

695 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 659: English reviews
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Me and my wife won a facebook comp for a nights stay with dinner, bed and breakfast and they allowed our 2 children to come also and put us up in a spacious family room free of charge. The staff were amazing and made us feel so welcome. The breakfast and dinner was delicious. Unfortunately my car battery died on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazokane
coatbridge
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went here with a group of friends for a 3 day trip with Caledonian travel...This hotel is very nice and friendly...My only complaint is the slow service at meal times..on our first night it took 40 mins to get our starter, then another 30 mins to get our main course...As for the breakfast it wouldn't feed a mouse, one egg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coatbridgecouple_10
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is 3 star and fully lives up to that. Plus Nice reception Comfortable bar area Pleasant and helpful staff Minus Shabby room avoid 169, very small needs total revamp Poor housekeeping bath not cleaned on 2nd day of stay and floor not hoovered Swimming pool very basic with lots of children. We didnt eat meals except breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Central. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests, is vitally important to us and we have taken your comments about the decor and furnishings on board. At the moment we are in the process of redecorating our bedrooms. Please accept our apologies...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights as part of a coach trip package arranged through Caledonian Travel. Everything was most satisfactory. The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean. The shower was hot and powerful and very easy to operate. The staff are absolutely first class. Our package included dinner as well as B & B and the meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie J
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us at The Central. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Donegal and The Central again in the future. Kind regards, Niamh

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had afternoon tea here at the end of summer, it was easily booked and the hotel had just recently started providing this. The tea was in the dining room with a lovely view across Donegal bay. The staff were very pleasant and polite and attentive. The food was good, there were nice sandwiches, scones and savoury breads, the only downfall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBHegarty
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear CBHegarty, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to The Central for Afternoon Tea. We appreciate and rely on all feedback, both positive and negative, so we can continually improve our quality and service. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your desserts with your afternoon tea,...

South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we travelled on a coach tour for 3 nights, NIce hotel, rooms clean and we had a lovely view down the river to the bay. staff very nice and helpful meals were good but a bit regimented - maybe because we were a coachful being served at once? breakfast was; cereal/porridge/fruit, then 2 small sausages, one fried egg and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcmerryton
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear dcmerryton, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to The Central. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our helpful staff made it a pleasant one. We hope to welcome you back again in the future Kind regards, Niamh

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been going to Donegal town for years now have stayed almost everywhere from hotels B and Bs and holiday homes...love everything about this place if you want to relax and eat great food or go for some nice drink in the pub then this is the place to go....also have to mention the waterbus which will take you out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burda1965
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Burda1965, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Niamh

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I have eaten here on many occasions and cant fault any of the visits,!! The food was always consistant and tasty. Marina the duty manager stood out on all occasions, she had a fantastic personality and is an all round nice person, she made sure we were enjoying our meals as we did on every visit,!! The chowder is out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gaffers1993
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear gaffers1993, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to The Central. Your kind compliments are greatly appreciated by the entire team and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Niamh

Vancouver
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I spent 4 nights at this hotel on a PAB tour over the Christmas 2016 period. Overall I had a good experience. However, I found many (not all) of the receptionists not very helpful. The Deputy Manager in particular was rude and dismissive to one of the elderly disabled guests who was having problems with her room. I found the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Anne M, We are disappointed to read your some of your comments in relation to your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests, is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We have taken your feedback on board and it will...

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I got married in Central Hotel Donegal Town on 30th December 2016. We had civil ceremony and reception there and we were treated like royalty by all the staff. Thank you to Eamon and Catherine and all your staff for all your care and attention to detail. The whole event was second to none xo❤️Bet and Alan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bettyboo2002
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Bet & Alan, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were delighted to host your special day. It was our pleasure to assist you from day one and the entire team at The Central enjoyed the day as much as you and your guests. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and wish you...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
686 reviews
4.8 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,826 reviews
2.2 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
376 reviews
12.8 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally Located in The Heart of Donegal Town beside all local amenities and ideal base for touring Co. Donegal. The Central Hotel is located near beautiful coastal drives and signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way. Nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities, Disabled Access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Price Range: $118 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Central Hotel - Donegal staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Dunoon, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Annan, United Kingdom
Clydebank, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Central Hotel - Donegal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room with river view. they're lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles dcmerryton, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel if you have mobility issues unless you get a ground or first room floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 65AnneM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back have a nicer view (of Lough Eske).”
 of 5 bubbles Tillydog7, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“some rooms had better views than others but your room is only for sleeping so the view does not matter.”
 of 5 bubbles Ismah, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room which faces the main street”
 of 5 bubbles SGrierUK, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5