We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,360: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Me and my mum decided that we wanted to come to Cork for a week away as we've always wanted to visit Ireland. We booked this hotel as it is in the City Centre and near absolutely everything. We did not realise how brilliant the staff would be. Honestly, the staff are the nicest people we have met and made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank letsfindkatie
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well wow is all I can say, from the second we arrived with our daughter (who is 2) the hotel could not of done enough, from our check in experience, the lady who showed fantastic customer service even acknowledging our little girl and offering her a sweet (its the little things that count) once we arrived at our room it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ndennehy13
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ndennehy13, Wow! Some reviews will just stay with you forever & this is certainly one of them, thank you so much! We believe our team members are the heart of the hotel, and are what makes us stand out in particular. So naturally, I am delighted to hear all our guys here looked after you & your little girl...

Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came with small children and few families.. one of the reason we chose this hotel was because it was near the Everyman theatre. Check-in took us some time to sort out as there were 5 rooms booked. The lobby was nicely decorated and slightly small of space. The elevator was quite crampy that can fit maybe 5 adults. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Globetrottersirlande
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Globetrottersirlande, Thank you for your 5 star review! I’m delighted to hear you availed of our amenities such as Leeside Leisure centre & enjoyed our breakfast options, we believe our Riverview restaurant has the most beautiful view of Cork! An interesting fact regarding The Met, it was the first hotel in Cork to have an elevator installed so it’s...

Noaddressville
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms were were given let this old hotel down big time. The walls were dirty,the Windows mildewed and the shower blocked, we were moved to a slightly better room, but only just, the heating was also an issue and the pillows were totally flat

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank siobhanm656
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear siobhanm656, Thank you for your feedback. Here at the Met we consider all feedback important as it allows us to focus on what may need improving in order to give each guest the most enjoyable stay & time with us as possible. I can’t say I’m not disappointed to hear you had some issues regarding your room and in...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed in the Metropole several times over the years but this is the first review I have written. I was recently home in Cork for a family bereavement and stayed again in the Metropole ..... I have to say that the staff were amazing..... we had an extremely late check in which they were more than happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riafos74
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel three times and will be there again in august. Staff are lovely and very helpful. Rooms are lovely and clean. Breakfast is tops. City is right on your doorstep. A lovely view over the river Lee as you enjoy breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinmortimer
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear martinmortimer, Many thanks for your lovely words. I will be delighted to pass on your words of recommendation & encouragement to all our team members here at the Met and I’m sure they will be equally as delighted to hear them. Our Riverview Restaurant is aptly named and it will stand to be one of the hotel’s nicest features....

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice clean hotel in the centre of Cork city close to shops, restaurants and Cork Opera house. When checking in we were offered breakfast for next morning for €10 per person. We were also offered parking in a private car park for €7.50 for 24 hours parking, Both great valueStaff are very friendly and helpful. The only down was it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cantsitstill2016
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cantsitstill2016, Thank you for you lovely review. As you may have seen during our stay, we are kicking off an exciting make-over in 2017 so I hope you will make the journey to us again to see the new additions for yourself & continue to give us your feedback. We have a fantastic team here at the Met so...

Dublin
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I booked last minute for a really good rate. We only stayed one night but found the staff to be really really excellent. I found them to be friendly, attentive, chatty and really helpful. Good old-fashioned customer service and a genuine Irish welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, bag hold, late checkout, ice to the room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Positivity24
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Positivity24, What a fantastic review, many thanks! Our team members are the centre of our hotel, so I’ll be more than pleased than to pass on your kind words of recommendations to make their Monday morning. I fully take your comments regarding the shower & room on board and would love to discuss this with you further to improve...

NW Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for five nights in May. The property is a little old, but it had everything we need. It was a short walk from the rail station. The breakfast bar was well stocked, and the breakfast room overlooked the river. We found everything we needed within a short walk of the property. we had no need of transportation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NWOhioGuy
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NWOhioGuy, What a lovely review to receive from Summer just gone. Our hotel is one of the oldest in the city, boasting loads of charm and personality, and to top it off we are due an exciting make over in 2017 so I hope you’ll come back to be a part of it. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed...

Tender
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice location, but the room was very small and the cleaning could be a little bit better. Found hair in the cink and the bathtub was not working funtionally. The Breakfast was great and various. The staff was very helpfull and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivonneb129
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ivonneb129, Many thanks for your feedback. While I was very happy to hear you enjoyed our variety of breakfast options and the staff met all your needs with a smile, I was disappointed to read you felt our accommodation department was not up to standard. I would love to hear more about your stay in order to rectify these...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#8 of 23 in Cork
1,288 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,214 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
819 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
1,859 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Price Range: $100 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None but when having breakfast you have a great view of the river Lee as the breakfast room over looks the river Lee.”
 of 5 bubbles cantsitstill2016, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No comment”
 of 5 bubbles NWOhioGuy, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room at the back on the fourth floor was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles christophernewman44, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be early for breakfast to get the best view”
 of 5 bubbles JMurphyCork, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“406 junior suite was a lovely room but was on the road side not the river side”
 of 5 bubbles VALEDIreland, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay