We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ashley Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 125*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 129*
USD 125*
USD 129*
USD 125*
USD 129*
USD 125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ashley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ashley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 15 February 2016

No parking for a start. Had to drive around on a cold dark night to find a parking space on the street. Then carry our bags in the rain. Room was grubby and dirty, stained duvet cover, no TV receception, no residents bar. Came here for a night away with my girlfriend. She was disgusted. Ruined our weekend. Far better...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bridie M
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bridie M, we were very busy on the night you arrived very late to Cork city and could simply not offer a parking space in our car park as there was no space left. And we are very sorry you were disappointed with the weather in Cork city.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I stayed here two nights and it was a solid stay. The room is of a decent size and the bathroom is quite large. I did not have the breakfast. There are two great pubs across the street - Sin E and The Corner House which are great for a trad session. MacCurtain street is close by with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JWalker610
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JWalker610, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked the standard and size of the bedroom, our excellent location in the heart of Cork city and the staff friendliness and attitude to work. We hope to see you again, when you decide to visit our wonderful city in the future.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Staff really good, very helpful, Hotel has been looked after pretty well for its age, to be honest it is an old old building it can never be 5* unless you rip everything inside it out and start over, the beds are comfy, clean, showers hot and clean. staff are there to help. In the morning I was served by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spinerkop
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spinerkop, thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Ashley Hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback and are glad that you liked our excellent service, cleanliness and standard of the bedroom, central location close to best local pubs and quality of the breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future.

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The Ashley was for all intensive purposes what I imagined what a proper Irish hotel should be. This hotel has a posh lobby and friendly staff. Comfortable chairs great for reading and using the WIFI. I loved the lobby to just people watch. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Only spent one night of my trip here but would return if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RudyR2011
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RudyR2011, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Ashley Hotel and that you liked our facilities, friendliness of the staff, comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms. We hope to see you again in the future when visiting Cork city.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 December 2015

The hotel was basic and clean. The room was small, but the bathroom was huge. They had a coffee/tea pot in the room with glasses and cups, which was very nice. The hallway smelled like fresh paint, but fortunately the room did not. I complained about my mattress (we had two twin beds), and was told they had just replaced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank curlymaple
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear curlymaple, thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Ashley Hotel. We are glad you were satisfied with the standard of your bedroom, quality of service and staff friendliness.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 11 December 2015

The lobby was interesting looking, but the rooms were disappointing. We had 2 twin beds in our room. They were made up with at least a double mattress pad underneath that hung over the sides of the beds and managed to slide the sheets off every few minutes. There were also 3 huge comforters on each bed - too many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grayll
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grayll, we were surprised to read your comments after you extended your stay with us and did not bring any of your shortcomings to attention of any member of staff. However, we are happy that you liked our great central location and friendliness of the staff.

County Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Booked a triple room with 2 friends!during the night 1 of the lads decided he would stay at a friends instead of coming back to the hotel room! I then met my girlfriend out so I brought her back to the hotel with me!the night porter told me then that she was not allowed stay because her name was not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Martin O
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin O, the guest who did not wish to stay for the night (following your information) never came back to the hotel and first of all, had never informed us about changing his plans. The nightporter could not assume that was the agreement between the guests. He was provided the list of names with the registered guests and only...

Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Hotel was very average (you get what you pay for!) but the staff were more than helpful and kind. Me and my boyfriend were offered maps to help us get around and greeted with a smile each time we entered the building, which made our stay at the hotel a pleasant one.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caitríona N
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caitriona N, thank you for liking staff friendliness and their attitude to work. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel is old and does it show the room was small and the smell of mould was overpowering. The breakfast was full irish with a twist,cold beans. I was disappointed and to cap it all the receptionist was also cold and never asked how my stay was. I would not recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gerry o
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry, thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not mention any of the shortcomings while staying in the hotel.

Waterford
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The ashley is a very central hotel very handy for a walk to Cork's pubs or a bit of shopping. The Hotel is very dated.This not a hotel for a romantic weekend or a family getaway unless the budget is an issue. The room was fairly clean ,but found a few items under chairs and bed from previous guest which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalshWaterford
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WalshWaterford, thank you for your review, liking our great central location, complimenting friendliness of staff and their attitude to work.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
867 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,470 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
714 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome and enjoy excellent accommodation with ensuite facilities at surprising value prices in the heart of the City and enjoy a relaxing stay. Park your car in the complimentary on site residents car park and stroll to the shops cafes and bars at your door step. Wifi available throughtout. An extensive breakfast is served early to start your day ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: Ashley Hotel 16 Coburg Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Price Range: $119 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ashley Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ashley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are double glazed so no sound pollution”
georginab584, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel like the plague!”
alano932, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 27 is loud and WiFi is spotty.”
R4037JGstevep, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The twins rooms are very very small.”
Pepperonay, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I liked back rooms! quieter!”
maris09, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 125* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 125
TravelocityUSD 125
Booking.comUSD 129
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates