We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Start your review of Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
 Click to rate
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Very nice owners, John is from the US, and was in the Air Force, I enjoyed talking to him. Helen was also very nice, great breakfast, and visit. We felt a little rushed because they had family coming over.. but all in all we had a great time.

Thank Tim P
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Tim for the lovely review and swapping Air Force stories. We didn't realize yo were feeling rushed, and apologies for that.

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Helen and John we're lovely hosts and they have a beautiful home. You would not find the same service anywhere for the same price! We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Lovely weekend in Cork :) Thank you. X

Thank Kelly D
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

John and Helen were very sweet hosts and the accommodations were perfectly satisfactory. Breakfast was tasty and the gardens and view were really beautiful. It would have been as expected/advertised. However, we had some issues with the booking. After booking our two nights through their own website in early November when we arrived and knocked they were surprised and said...

1Thank nonamalgamated
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Emily, Mason, Luke and Monica, I am writing to apologize for the mess I made of your booking, and to also say I should not have charged you for the night and am refunding the €140 you paid me. I have no excuse for charging you and I am ashamed that I did. I saw the much deserved review...

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Our first B&B night in Ireland, and we were lucky to get a room here. We got the 2nd floor room, with beautiful window skylights overlooking the garden. So peaceful to just sit and watching the light rain come down. We went back out to Cork for the evening, but the room and breakfast in the sun room in the...

Thank Feifei L
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The location suited us fine - easy take- off spot for exploring Kinsale and Cobh as well as Cork city. There was parking on site and ample, freshly prepared breakfasts each Day. John and Helen gave us good information regarding where to eat and routes to take to make our excursions special. One draw back - no ice for our...

Thank nomad_rover
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Nice room, well cleaned. Very friendly and helpful hosts. We've got lots of good suggestions of where to go to see different interesting sights. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again! BR Henric and Torun

Thank hank802016
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Lovely house in Cork, but I think our favorite thing was our hosts John and Helen. He had a lovely get away here, and spent an entire day walking around Cork. Their garden is absolutely beautiful and it was also fun to meet new fellow B&Bers over breakfast each morning.

Thank Patrick C
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Glencairn Bed and Breakfast is truly like staying at your aunt & uncle's house. John and Helen were really sweet, and helped us figure out places to go & things to do while we were there. The b&b is a short bus ride (or drive) to Cork. We used it as a home base for exploring around the Cork area....

Thank stacydi
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Room was not comfortable The bathroom was incredibily small, could not stand up straight. Bathroon mirror was tiny. chairs in the bedroom were old and rickety. No mirror in bedroom. Would not recommend.

Thank MaryAnn N
wauseon1, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Ann Marie, We are sorry you did not find your stay with us comfortable. Yes, the bathroom is tiny but a person can stand up straight in front of the sink and shower. We have had very tall people stand up straight in front front of the sink and shower. There are many pictures on our Trip Advisor site...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The trip to Cork and area was the present for my mom s 60th birthday. To say it straight out I couldn t have chosen a better accomodation other than the one from Helen & John. The rooms as well as the whole house are really cosy, the breakfast was plenty and yummy and John and Helen fabulous hosts. John...

Thank Sebastian K

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (108)
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Room/Suite (15)
Dining (13)
View from Room (8)
Bathroom (3)
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (18)
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
715 reviews
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glencairn Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Glencairn Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy to find, and nice area”
L4472KKtimp, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you are over 5' 9" be sure NOT to get our room. The bathroom would be a challenge.”
nomad_rover, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead!”
scubabelz, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The downstairs bedroom had a wonderful view!”
donnakillingbeck, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in a room with a queen and small bed. It was good for us, two people.”
957phyllisf, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5