We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Western House Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Western House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 697: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I found the staff at the western house hotel were incredibly helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they are all happy to oblige. They certainly made my stay much less stressful. The room was large and spacious with a good range of facilities - I liked the little touches such as shortbread and fruit in the room. I also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cannell11
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Cannell11 Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review regarding your experience at our hotel. I am really pleased to see that the staff made your stay so much easier and that you enjoyed all of the wee touches in the bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back to Western House Hotel. Kind... More 

Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked direct with Hotel. Excellent deal on dinner bed and breakfast for 6 people. Courtyard rooms. Very spacious, warm inviting and the amount of extras was just amazing! Every member of staff were so polite, helpful and courteous. Excellent reception on arrival and quick and efficient check in. Slight mix up with rooms quickly rectified and couldn't apologise enough. Girl... More 

Helpful?
Thank LanarkshireMolly
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Molly Thank you for the excellent review regarding your experience of our hotel. I am really pleased to see that you were well looked after by everyone and that you certainly enjoyed the food and menu on offer. We believe that all the wee touches we provide can make a guests experience so much better, so i'm pleased... More 

Thornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a suite which was fabulous. We were staying because we were wedding guests, so did not eat in the hotel. We found all of the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was "OK" - not a great choice and not really very hot

Helpful?
Thank Maxine S
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Maxine Thank you for the excellent review, however i am sorry to hear about Breakfast. I will certainly inform Chef of this. Great to see the team looked after you and that you found your bedroom to be of a great standard. We hope to see you again in the near future at Western House Hotel. Kind regards,... More 

Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So what can I say about this hotel. We booked in for a 3 night stay to see friends after a recommendation. The main hotel was nice and the receptionist was extremely efficient and pleasant. We were booked in the courtyard room which when entering the building reminded me of an army barracks. The room itself was large with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan3226
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Ryan Thank you for leaving a review regarding your visit to Western House Hotel. It's great to see that everyone you met gave you excellent service. Your shower holder has now been fixed by our maintenance team. I have let the Chef know regarding your food and i am really sorry to hear about the guest chapping on... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an overnight stay when attending a function at the racecourse. We had a courtyard room which was large and very comfortable with every amenity you could need. Breakfast was very good, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone .

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Elizabeth S. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience of Western House. Great to see we met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Gary White Hotel General Manager More 

South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lunch at western house is lovely. The staff are very attentive and welcoming. The setting is very relaxing and it is also an excellent venue For a wedding. There are fresh flowers throughout the hotel. The washrooms are immaculate.

Helpful?
Thank 231anneg
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning 231anneg Thank you for leaving a wonderful review on your experience of the Jockey Club Restaurant. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the food, service and setting. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed in the courtyard section of the hotel on a Sunday night for a wedding. I was disappointed with the room, which considering the price was small and shabby - dirty grouting round the bath and generally run down. The room was also very noisy, the door to the courtyard section of the hotel banged loudly each time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Sarah F Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on Sunday 16th October. Firstly, i would like to say that i hope you enjoyed the wedding you were attending as Bridesmaid and that i am saddened to see that your experience of your bedroom has somewhat ruined that day for you. It was myself who checked you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in March to attend a wedding. We had a great time and only wished we had booked another night to enjoy all the facilities and the nice setting even more than we did. We had a courtyard room which is not in the main building. Our room was lovely, really spacious and comfortable. Décor was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol R
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Carol R. Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review on your visit to our hotel. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed the wedding you were attending and the food during your stay. It's also great to see that everyone looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Western House... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In other circumstances I would be giving this hotel an excellent rating, as it is a very good hotel overall. The staff, rooms and food are all first class, and if I had visited when there was no weddings on I would no doubt have had a great stay. On arrival the reception was full of wedding guests and an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Axecroft
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Axecroft. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your visit to our hotel. If i can just start off by saying thank you for the kind words towards our staff and hotel managers. We do work extremely hard to please our guests and to ensure that they have a comfortable stay as best we... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a lovely, spacious room. The menu in the restaurant was limited, but what they lack in volume they more than make up in quality. Prices are fair (maybe even under priced) for how good it is. Staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Rob S Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel. I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and that you were well looked after by the team. The staff here are fantastic and will do what ever they can to ensure our guests are looked after very well. I will pass your comments... More 

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.6 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.7 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
796 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
1.3 km away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
7.7 km away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jockey Club
The Jockey Club
Cuisines: British, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $84 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Western House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Western House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles MaxineS547, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the courtyard if you want to get any sleep”
 of 5 bubbles sarahfP2180KI, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can, get into the main house. Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles kimaB4961EU, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“courtyard rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles johndscotland, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel will probably be full on race days....”
 of 5 bubbles richardnoall, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay