We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 770: English reviews
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Hydro for 2 nights as part of a getaway break with Caledonian Travel. The hotel is also used by Shearings coach company. The room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated but in line with the hotel generally it could probably do with a little bit of "TLC" - example staining round the bath/shower grout and seals... More 

Helpful?
Thank stevetheskier
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was our first time at the Pitlochry Hydro. Firstly our driver Geoff was funny and helpful, I cant comment on the trip's because at several degrees below freezing we decided to stay where it was warm. Our room was large and warm with comfy beds and an extra heater. My only disappointment was the so called Disabled room did... More 

Helpful?
Thank June G
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, it was nice meeting you guys and I was pleased to have received glowing reviews off you face to face and even more pleased to read them on here too. Work commences on bedrooms soon which will improve our product that little bit more as we march into 2017 and beyond. Glad you enjoyed our facilities too and... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went with a large group of friends(36) to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The hotel management and staff did everything they could to make this a very enjoyable weekend! Nothing was any bother and they were happy for us to have our own piper and make our own entertainment on Friday night and then on Sat night after the hotel's... More 

Helpful?
Thank George H
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, that's a great review, thanks very much. With big groups sometimes a bit of extra 'attention to detail' is required and I am pleased, as are the whole team, that you have all appreciated that. You are quite correct, Pitlochry and everything it has to offer visitors, is quite stunning. Perhaps we will see you again as I can... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a mid week break with Shearings to this hotel. Enjoyed every minute. This is a 3 star hotel not a 5 star. Bedrooms very warm and comfortable. Bathroom with bath and shower. Food very good with plenty of choice. Reception area welcoming. Staff very pleasant. There are a few squeaky floorboards it is an old hotel so... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris10002014
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, lovely comments and they are very much appreciated by us all. Our maintenance man takes a squeaky floorboard personally and is on a one man mission to rid us of squeaky floorboards forever......he is nearly there and when he completes his final repair I will give him the afternoon off. Best Regards Chris Stanton More 

Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a large and traditional building with a pleasant setting on the hills above Pitlochry with nice grounds, plenty of car parking and within an easy walk to the town centre. The reception and dining area is fine and the swimming pool / leisure facilities excellent. The breakfast was okay too. Unfortunately, we were sorely disappointed by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank iainidc
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, it's very disappointing that we have let you down in terms of our standard accommodation. The room you stayed in is back of house as most of our standard rooms are. They last had a refurbishment eight years ago and had new beds this year. It is a slight exaggeration to say 1970's ....not the case at all. It... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, hotel is tired and run down, room was average and bathroom was extremely cold, had to use facilities to get a shower. Good location and nice grounds but this hotel is unlike any other hydro I have visited. Breakfast was disappointing we didn't eat there on our second morning. Facilities were good although again needs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janna32
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I don't agree that the Hotel is tired and run down, we are constantly investing in it's appearance and fabric and will continue to do so. One of the most consistently mentioned positives here is the value for money aspect and for the rate you paid I feel that was fair. I have yet to see better value in... More 

Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just come home from a three day break at this hotel. Got into our rooms at 3pm. Our room was lovely and spacious but when we went into the bathroom, it was bitterly cold. The window was old and did not fit properly and there was a gap between the window and it's frame. The outside temperature, during our 3-day... More 

Helpful?
Thank dodechalmers
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. a few positives here yet a definite issue with the bathroom. Our new central heating system has had a positive effect, some customers saying it is too warm, but if this is a problem we are glad you have let us know and myself and the handyman will go up today and see what can be done. Regards Chris... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At a 50th anniversary with family and friends at the weekend. Party was great but the hotel was a letdown. On arrival at the tired looking reception area we were not greeted with a cheery welcome. Our room seemed to have been refurbished but not to a great standard. Mould round the bath, poor shower (hardly any pressure). Window in... More 

Helpful?
Thank linda m
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I can see that you were happy with our service and for laying on a nice celebration but disappointed with the product. I will, of course, look into the issues raised and where we can tackle the problem. Thanks for the review despite the critique. Regards Chris Stanton GM More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived Monday 14.11.2016 got a very warm welcome from the manager explaing breakfast times clearly and politely, we immediately checked in our room on the second floor via lift. The room was comfortable, warm, spacious and a lovely view of the mountains. During our stay all staff members were friendly, courteous and willingly responded to our requests. The service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank zara0810
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you very much for a lovely five star review of us all. This is exactly the kind of review we work very hard for and it is even better when they go on public forums such as this. An awful lot of people tell be verbally week in and week out how good we all are... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned home after a weekend break at this hotel. Firstly I would like to thank the driver Jim of our brand new comfortable coach. I am partially disabled and use a wheeled walking aid. Nothing was a bother to this nice man, he would and store the aid when boarding the coach and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, lots of positives here which we will take any day of the week. Artur has bragging rights this week and is delighted with your kind words as are our lovely kitchen team who always work hard to keep standards high. Thanks again and hope you pay us a return visit at some point. Regards Chris Stanton GM More 

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,573 reviews
0.5 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,059 reviews
0.4 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Knockendarroch House Hotel
Knockendarroch House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pitlochry
737 reviews
1.2 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,495 reviews
0.5 km away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: $129 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Sibsey, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a little extra for a "scenic view" if you do not want to look out of your window at other buildings or tree lines”
 of 5 bubbles stevetheskier, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This is a large hotel with about 100 rooms. We had views over beautiful countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles 116georgeh, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 8!”
 of 5 bubbles iainidc, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For a few pound extra upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles A8707EDdavidc, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are best.”
 of 5 bubbles cazm652015, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay