We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Atholl Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Atholl Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Atholl Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,555: English reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Was expecting big things from this hotel and although the views, setting and communal areas are all lovely our room was very basic and was in need of upgrade. Again I was thoroughly looking forward to dinner and was so disappointed, staff seemed in a rush to get us in and out and our meal was no better than a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaSkinner
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RebeccaSkinner , Firstly I am sorry that dinner was not to your liking ,but on a positive I was pleased that the Ladies at the front were very friendly and did take care of the matter . Again my apologies . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachan

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Visited for a long weekend with two friends on the winter package. I wanted so badly to like this hotel, but when it comes down to it, we will not be returning. With some money for refurbishment it could be stunning. However as of now, it falls quite flat. Our 3 person room felt a lot like a glorified dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LostinHI
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LostinHI , Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel ,sorry that your room was not to your liking and had a issue with the shower . MY apologies that you had problems getting all your bookings in the Spa but we always advice to book in advance but I am glad that Natasa did look after...

Leiden, Netherlands
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

A beautifull castle hotel at the outskirts of pitlochry. Lot's of places where you can sit, most times with a fireplace but they are all part of a giant hall/lobby. The seats and benches have known better times. Rooms are ok. Shower is disappointing with almost no waterpressure. Diner was nothing special. Staff was friendly and happy to help us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoite
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hoite , Thank you for your review , my apologies that you just thought your room and food were just ok , but I am pleased that the staff were friendly and sorted your table for eight and found a good breakfast . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachan

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Been here a few times and every time it is amazing the staff are very good food is amazing and the scenery is to die for we have also been with our kids and they enjoy there stay as well the lovely coal fires are relaxing time just sitting watching them chilling waiting on the dinning room opening

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kels2512
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kels2512, Delighted to read that you you found the staff and food amazing . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachan

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We Stayed at the Athol Palace On arrival we were not offered a welcome drink Our bedroom wasn't very clean one of our pillow cases was filthy looked as if it hadn't been changed The room was so cold we had to buy a little fan heater We booked a table for dinner Not once but twice I asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhairicormack c
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mhairicormack c I was very sorry to read your feedback on your visit to the hotel and I would like to express my sincere apologies regarding all the points that you raised . I will be discussing this with my department heads as this is clearly not what I expect and demand from my team . Once again my...

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend brought me here for Valentine's, we had a lovely warm welcome on arrival..there was a wedding going on so the lobby was very crowed. Our room was nice but very basic. The pool was small but it was quiet, the jacuzzi was my favourite. Dinner was amazing..really good menu & the waiters were very pleasant to talk to....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Atholl Palace . I was pleased that overall you had a good stay and found your Dinner to be amazing and found the waiters to be very pleasant . Looking forward to you both returning and thank you for recommending the hotel to others...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Wonderful weekend at Athol palace - A very warm welcome at this lovely Hotel after a unforeseen hic up with our room, we were given a nice cosy room.. bit small but comfortable....There was a wedding so very busy but added to the romance, hotel staff are wonderful and nothing was to much bother. Restaurant was well organised, food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phyllis s
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear phyllis s , Delighted to read that you had a wonderful weekend at the Atholl Palace and found a traditional Scottish welcome . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachan

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here on the 14th February 2016. We paid over the odds for a superior room only to be disappointed the room was dirty and in need of attention and to our shock the romantic night away from the kids was ruined when we discovered the bed was two singles rammed together to an uncomfortable double!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael H
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael H , Sorry that you found your superior room not to your liking and were unhappy with the super king zip and link bed . As discussed in our private message last week again my sincere apologies as we really do wish to give all our guests a wonderful experience . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachanj

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

My husband and I had a weekend break to the Atholl Palace Hotel in Pitlochry this past weekend and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The food was terrific - couldn't be any better. the Hotel is beautiful to look at both inside and out - the grounds were beautiful with many water features.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison S
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allison , Thank you for taking the time to place a review after your visit last weekend . I was very pleased to read that everything was so good and you would thoroughly recommend the Atholl Palace . Many Thanks Graeme Strachan

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Stayed at Atholl Palace 06.02-08.02. There was Valentine's Day dinner and ball on Saturday night which we really enjoyed. Food was lovely, plenty of it. And entertainment was great. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Thank you to the lady who saved my dress when I had wardrobe malfunction! We also had dinner at the Stag's Head on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annahornik
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear annahornik, Thank you for your very kind review on your recent visit to the Atholl Palace . Sorry that you found a few members staff a bit rude . Overall you seem to had a great weekend which is very pleasing . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachan

913 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (545)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (155)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (196)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (89)
Viewed
Double Room (19)
Viewed
Double Room Flowers (20)
Viewed
Double Room Green (14)
Viewed
Edradour Suite (31)
Viewed
Family (12)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Shower (18)
Viewed
Standard Double with Bathtub (15)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Valley View Double Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.4 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,680 reviews
0.5 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,119 reviews
1.4 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
729 reviews
2.1 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: $207 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Atholl Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have lovely views of the surrounding countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles maryr346, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor at the front of the hotel and we didn't here a sound.”
 of 5 bubbles andreens, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 101”
 of 5 bubbles 647JohnM, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No tips. We had a nice room - no complaints”
 of 5 bubbles LesHen1423, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front have great views”
 of 5 bubbles ronniegarvie, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5