We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Salutation Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Salutation Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 907: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a family room which had 3 single beds we had dinner in hotel which wasnt worth the money steak cost £18.95each portions were quite small . breakfast was plentiful staff were nice and friendly .Liked the coal fire in the reception ares

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123marjoryd456
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking a minute to send in a few lines about your stay. I am pleased you found breakfast to be plentiful and staff were nice and friendly and that you liked the coal fire at reception. I am sorry you did not find the dinner value for money. I do hope you will return as we will shortly...

Turriff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I worried that the price I was paying for three adults meant a workman type premises? Not the case. Large hotel room and i loved the enviromentally friendly products. A very Scottish feeling hotel - making a great change from the ikea type that seems to be the current idle. Staff lovely throughout esp at breakfast and hotel throughout kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loopy511
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am really happy to see that you found the hotel to be Lovely, large and full of enviromentally friendly products. I am glad to see that our scottish feeling hotel was full of lovely staff and great amibance. I look forward to...

Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a night as a birthday treat from the other half. On previous day visits to Perth we often popped in for a coffee or a couple of drinks so thought it would be an ideal place for a stop over. The guy on reception at first couldn't find our booking and failed to tell us my daughter had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C6162QZkarenb
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there two years ago and it's still an excellent place to stay for the weekend. Great curry in the bar and the breakfast was really good. And it's a really quiet place in the evenings, no noise at all. Would definitely stay again, it's close to everything and everyone is really friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O579EHdavidm
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sending us such kind words about our lovely old hotel. I am glad to see that you have found the hotel to of maintained its high standards from two years ago and that you have found the foo to be great! i am also happy that you found the building central but quiet so you got a...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

staff,room,food and cleanliness all excellent. choice of bands very poor except for resident band. the other two were useless for dancing to. the bands. the bands we were told were booked were not the ones that appeared on the 30th.dec. and 1st. jan.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ronwatson759
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for dropping in a few lines about your recent stay. I am pleased you found the staff, room, food and cleanliness all excellent. I am sorry you did not like the first and third night of the package - we do try offer different bands for the package. The original band we had booked for the first night had...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Perth again for 4 days at Christmas and as always had our annual pilgrimage to the Salutation. We go because we just love the building so much. We always call in for a wee dram but this time decided to have afternoon tea. On Boxing day they were very busy and run off their feet and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Teddybears
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us such kind words about your pilgrimage to us here in perth. I am exceedingly happy to see that the staff, although different, were still as efficient and welcoming, helping to provide the great ambiance that you come back for. I am also happy to see that although the staff were exceedingly...

tenerife spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful time Catching up with old friends I asked to be moved as I did Not have a bath . Staff We're Very efficient and it was No trouble to them to move me to a room I was Happy with .i was in the s part of the hotel old beams and creaky uneven corridor .. wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wilmten
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely comment about your recent stay and the nice remarks how your imperfection was handled. We really do try our best. I am glad you liked the ambience of our hotel, it certainly full of character. I hope you have a nice year and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a fantastic birthday . 🍸Met up with old friends and had a ball . Booked single room . But had no bath . Polish lady at reception moved me to a twin room with a bath . Thank you . I was in the old part of the hotel an it was wonderful old beams and creaky uneven floors...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilmapender
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for such kind words about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you had a great birthday! I am glad that you were able to be moved from a room with a shower only to a room with a bath for your comfort and that you found the hotel to be full of character. I...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly, helpful staff at reception gave us a warm welcome on arrival Bar staff were polite & friendly and the food excellent in both Bar and Restaurant . Our room on the 3rdfloor was warm and comfortable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank irism877
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us a review about your recent stay with us. I am really happy to see that you found the staff to be excellent especially in the bar and reception. I am also happy to see that the food was superb through out the hotel. I hope you will come and stay again...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent value for money Twixmas Break. Three nights DBB, afternoon tea on arrival, complimentary drink each, before dinners and Entertainment each night in their function suite. All four or five piece bands, one good (27/12/16) one excellent ( 28/12/16 ) but one dire (29/12/16 - you know who you are ). Food was good at dinner, not a large choice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R R
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback from our twixmas break. I am really happy to see that you have found the food, drink and entertainment to be excellent! I am also happy to see that you have found the location to be excellent for any post christmas shopping you had. I hope to see you back...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
590 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#15 of 18 in Perth
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
714 reviews
5.1 km away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
836 reviews
0.8 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Price Range: $88 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salutation Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Salutation Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family room had 3 single beds”
 of 5 bubbles 123marjoryd456, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors over look offices and shops. No blinds or nets at windows so lack of privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles C6162QZkarenb, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We called in for afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles Travel_Teddybears, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are to the rear and sides. Front street facing can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles RR688, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A lot of the rooms have been upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles willowsend2014, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay