We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Station Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Station Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Hopeman, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit to the Station Hotel. We had attended a funeral at Invergordon and we were invited back to the Station Hotel for soup, tea and sandwiches. Only quibble was both tables that we sat at were clean but were sticky. End of negatives. A good selection of sandwiches were provided, service was good and very friendly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank alister b
Becca C, General Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have looked into the issue of the sticky tables and have spoken with the staff with regards to the cleaning agent being used and will rectify this immediately. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked our lunch we arrived early but that was not a problem the waitress was very friendly and helpful the hotel has been given a revamp and was very welcoming our food arrived I nearly had a heart attack when I saw the size of the portions I did my best with it but could not finish it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz S
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basic room. Clean enough. Food passable. Ruined by racket from bar. Staff appear harrassed at times, whch leads to uncomfortable atmosphere. We felt they couldn,t wait to get us out. Food almost thrown by waitress.

Helpful?
Thank malikaScotland
Becca C, General Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have checked our complaints register and found no log of any complaints with regards to the noise or staff. Should you have expressed your concerns at the time we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you. As you can see from previous reviews we have excellent customer service so are... More 

london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in October and received a warm welcome. The room was clean, had a good shower and biscuits and coffee. The first night was a little cold in the room but wasn't sure how the radiators worked and figured it out by the second night- however I wanted an early night and that was impossible... More 

Helpful?
Thank emjay1970
Becca C, General Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have checked our complaints register and found no log of any complaints with regards to the heating, noise, food or coffee from you. Should you have expressed your concerns at the time we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you. The hotel was evacuated by the emergency services as a... More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Rooms are simple, but clean and with new furniture, especially the bathroom, which had a new shower. I had a very good sleep and I liked the food very much. The town is tranquil, but has quite a few shops. Some Distilleries are close by.

Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Large, roomy room. Great meal and helpful staff. Would recommend. In the centre of town. Opposite an Indian restraint, Bengal cuisine, also recommended. If you go in summer, be sure to see the fyrish monument nearby

Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Worst pint iv had in my life, i had cola after ditching my pint after a mouthful and even my cola was warm, only saving grace is the food very quiet and staff dont say much if you want a meal go for it, if you want a night out with friends use the bar down the road better quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annonomys91
Becca C, General Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry about your bad experience. We have new drinks coolers, pumps etc so don't know why your drinks were warm. We have checked our complaints book however couldn't see a log of your complaint. Should you have expressed your concerns at the time we would have been more than happy to rectify this for... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2016

A must if in Alness or surrounding area, well worth the visit we had a fantastic meal in very pleasant, clean surroundings , quick service , excellent choice and it does not break the bank 100% satisfaction guaranteed.

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The Station Hotel's restaurant helped solve the problem of having a Sunday Dinner without cooking it myself. Due to working as a volunteer at my local heritage centre from Monday to Saturday, and with a F1 Grand Prix being shown on the TV, my cooking a meal was something that needed a solution, so once again it was solved by... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last year before the place was renovated and upon my return, I'm happy to say that the owner has done a wonderful job in transforming this place into a lovely, comfortable and welcoming establishment. Nice room with comfortable double bed, good sized lcd television, tea & coffee facilities and a lovely roomy en-suite shower and toilet room. Place... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alness
3.6 km away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
293 reviews
24.1 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 33 in Inverness
1,617 reviews
15.0 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 2 in Avoch
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Invergordon
15 reviews
6.1 km away
Kiltearn House
Kiltearn House
#1 of 2 in Evanton
168 reviews
5.4 km away
Tuckers Inn
Tuckers Inn
#4 of 6 in Invergordon
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Station Hotel is now under new Ownership. We are based on the High St of the Highland town of Alness, winner of Britain in Bloom. The hotel has recently completed a massive refurbishment of the lounge, bar and all bedrooms. We serve breakfast to residents and are open to all for food from 12 noon until 8pm. We have live music from local bands regularly and a good entertainment team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Address: 94 High Street, Alness IV17 0SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Alness
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Station Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Station Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a double”
 of 5 bubbles bjrankine1957, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“try premier inn”
 of 5 bubbles johne757, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles robholygrail, 19 Sep 2013 | Read review
“go else where”
 of 5 bubbles rhonag780, 18 Aug 2013 | Read review
4 of 4