We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Morven House Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Morven House Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Morven House Guest House
 Click to rate
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed there last night and Martin was most helpful and really went out of his way to make us comfortable - fully recommend a stay when heading north or south.... The rooms are very comfortable with excellent beds linen and towels......... A peaceful night and very comfortable with a good breakfast

Thank ptvernon
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as always we try to make all our guest comfortable so that they enjoy their stay. Very glad you enjoyed the breakfast, hope the rest of your time spent in the Highlands was as enjoyable. Regards Martin

Isle of Raasay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Met with a great welcome , superb hosts , spotlessly clean , lovely room , I only stayed at morven house for two nights but drove away thinking " I've met two very nice people , great place , great people , Many thanks Michael ( room 3 )

Thank mellis5
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, deepest apologies for not responding sooner, only got the email today. It was a pleasure having you stay with us if only briefly, we hope to see you again soon Regards martin & Janet

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I enjoyed my stay at Morvern Guest house. The bed was comfy, the wifi was strong enough, the place was clean and I had new biscuits every day! If you are fussy about decor then the rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade but when I stay in a place I focus on comfort, quality of sleep and...

Thank wolfbhoy
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and with each response we get better and better. Yes the dog was a rescue so was abused, and we are trying with love and kindness to try and get her to be kind to people again and only time and understanding will help. Kind...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after reading the good reviews on here, however I was a little disappointed. The room and bathroom was clean, however as soon as you walk in the reception area smelled of cooking fat and the smell was present throughout the duration of our stay- on returning home clothes that were hung in the wardrobe...

Thank Lyndsey R
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We do try to please our guests, a bit mystified where the smell of cooking fat in your clothes comes from as the kitchen and extractors are no where near any bedrooms. Since this review we will undertak a test to see if any smell permeates through the kitchen ceiling in to any other part...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

If you are looking for a nice little place to stay while up in Alness, look no further than Morven House. The host's are very friendly and welcoming and make you feel at ease from arrival. The room we had was a double (2 people sharing) and it was nice and spacious with all the facilities you would expect a...

Thank Cef1987
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As always we try our best to make everyone's stay here a pleasure, if it is for one night or longer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here, being such a beautiful part of the country, can not remember what the weather was like, but Scotland is renowned for its diverse weather patterns...

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

We have just come back from our 5 night stay at Morven Guest House. It was a great base for exploring Scotland's highlands. We found the accomodation very clean and comfortable with everything we needed in our room and en suite. We were made to feel very welcome by Martin and Janet and the house is very warm and inviting....

Thank Jane R
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very please that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had the time to explore a lot of the beautiful area that we enjoy every day. We try to make all our guests feel welcome and ensure that their stay with us is enjoyable, and offer advice on what to see...

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

They have noisy plumbing problems, the shower was a trickle, breakfast was English not Scottish so disappointing. Poor value for money. Can't fault the cleanliness or friendliness. It's a shame because they seem to find it hard work and are not really enjoying it.

Thank XXX283
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that the plumbing was noisy for you, we believe that this has now been sorted out, but cannot guarantee silent plumbing in the future. The varied breakfast menu that we offer may lack some items due to certain fatal allergies to food substances, which i believe others have as well. We try...

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I have just read up on the history of this place and realise now why we had felt such "peace" during our week-long stay with you! We stayed in the self contained self catering annex and it was just so suitable for what we needed. We were made very welcome on our arrival and the friendly owners always on hand...

Thank Sharon J
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review apologies for not responding earlier windows 10 issues. That said it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are glad that you had a peaceful holiday and that the weather held for you. Hope all the hard work you did whilst you were here went well. Kind regards Martin and janet

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

A warm welcome yet again & our hosts remembered us !! a good sign ! They are continuing to improve the facilities & we really enjoyed the fire in the large guest lounge. Tasty Sausage & Bacon at breakfast !

Thank Gordon070
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure seeing you again and very pleased that you opted to stay with us again. We always look forward to returning guests to catch up on news. Very pleased that you also see all the updates we have done to the place. Only question we have is (Black Tomato Seeds) ?? Hope...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We stayed on a cycling tour so comfy beds were very welcome as well as a decent shower. The house and 'grounds' are nice and spacious, garage storage for our bikes provided and the dogs were great! Breakfast - selection of cereals, spreads etc was very good with fresh coffee, cooked breakfast was well cooked - not to be taken...

Thank jimmyhatch
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you completed your tour safely. The dogs are getting bigger each day and still full of fun. If you are ever back up this way it would be a pleasure to see you again and I am sure the dogs would...

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (3)
Room/Suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
View from Room (1)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alness
4.5 km away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
314 reviews
16.0 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
121 reviews
5.4 km away
Kiltearn House
Kiltearn House
#1 of 2 in Evanton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Martin and Janet run the Guest House and offers everyone a warm Highland welcome. Alness is in the North of Scotland, this little known tourist destination, is located just 20 minutes' drive from Inverness, it offers everything that helps to make it the ideal place to explore and discover what the Scottish North Highlands have to offer. Morven House Guest House is situated on the main road into Alness, approached by its own private sweeping driveway, and also boasts a self catering cottage for those who wish more privacy or independence. During the summer months it abound with flora, as does the town of Alness which seeks annually to win the Britain in Bloom competition. We now have a guest lounge and a Bar for those of you that may wish to relax, have a glass of wine in front of a nice roaring fire (in winter) and ocasionally in summer plan your trips. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morven House Guest House

Address: 70 Novar Road, Alness IV17 0RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Alness
Price Range: $49 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Morven House Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms nice”
 of 5 bubbles mellis5, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Do NOT accept the small room.........”
 of 5 bubbles bajanella, 24 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Avoid room 1 if possible”
  • the room
  • room 1
  • twin room
 of 5 bubbles valandroy, 25 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Go for room 6”
 of 5 bubbles Bigrodge1310, 31 Jul 2013 | Read review
“You can request a double or twin room.”
 of 5 bubbles Bettenmar, 11 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5