We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Newton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Newton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Newton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 721: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015

ALL staff here were very pleasant form check-in to the bar and waiting staff. The room was large and had a view across the fields and golf course to the Moray Firth and Black Isle beyond though it was a little tired looking - tears in the curtain linings and the shower thermostatic control was not working, but the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank D D
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. We did have a look at the water, and we have ordered the correct parts. We appreciate it when our guests let us know of issues like this at the time, then we can do everything we can to repair to enhance your stay. Apologies about the lack of decent wifi coverage, i... More 

Dunvegan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

From reading several previous reviews was expecting tired and faded decor. I don't know what or where these reviewers stayed but found the Newton clean,warm with lovely rooms , bedroom and public rooms were welcoming and staff attentive, The grounds surrounding the hotel were a lovely country park. Only negative was poor old fashioned TV which was badly tuned Hopefully... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank greyskye2015
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our TVs are slowly being re-newed and the next time you visit us you'll certainly notice a difference :-) More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed at this hotel after I purchased a GroupOn voucher for myself and my partner. We loved the bar and the relaxed setting when we first arrived. We were upgraded on arrival and stayed in a Executive Suite! The room was clean and more modern than expected. The bathroom was bigger than expected too. The girl on reception when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SarahForbes12345
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies that we charged you for your wine-this shouldnt have happened. I do hope that the mishap wouldnt stop you returning to the hotel again soon More 

Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

Arrived to be greated with a smile and all the information needed to make our stay thoroughly evjoyabe. We had a courtyard room with over looked the wonderful garden resplendent in their autumn colours. All the staff from receptionist to barman and restaurant were incredibly welcoming and always willing to go that wee bit further to make our stay with... More 

Helpful?
Thank 62travelking
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review, I am glad you found all of our team helpful and friendly-we pride ourselves on that. look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2015

just back from a weekend with friends staying in the Newton , rooms were modern clean and very nice. The young man in the bar could not have been more helpful and everything was perfect. Breakfast the next morning was a shambles the staff had no idea , food went to the wrong tables 3 of our party got the... More 

Helpful?
Thank gmccartney2016
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didnt experience a very good breakfast, and i do hope that it wont stop you returning to the hotel. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

I booked a night at the newton hotel for my partners birthday. I give it 10/10 staff were polite rooms were clean and the food was amazing and great value for money i even picked up a wedding brochure! Definetley recommend staying here to anyone .

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

thanks so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and remember to contact us about your forthcoming wedding! More 

Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We have stayed at the Newton Hotel in Nairn on several ocassions and always been really impressed, until this weekend that is. In the last 2 years it has gone very much downhill and is now little more than average. We paid for an upgrade to Executive room which was spacious and very clean. Bathroom however was looking shabby with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DRWesthill
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. I have read your guest comment card also, and was going to email you directly this morning regarding your stay. I apologise for you not enjoying your stay as much as you have previously. All of our produce is home-cooked, and we pride ourselves on that, so I'm sorry you didnt enjoy your desserts. We are... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel very much. The staff were all first class and made the stay in many respects. Good bar meal and excellent breakfast. We paid a supplement for an executive room which was large, comfortable and well appointed.

Helpful?
Thank HilaryJH
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

thank-you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Booked a 2 night stay, arrived at this wonderful setting was given a courtyard room, which was well decorated and cosy and above all spotlessly clean, staff were great always ready to help food was good and so were the relaxing areas of the hotel, what more can I say it was thoroughly enjoyable, have no hesitation in recommending this... More 

Helpful?
Thank gaz373
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our courtyard rooms, they are indeed cracking rooms. Look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Newcastle
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015

This was our 2nd stay at this lovely hotel set within magnificent grounds just on the outskirts of the town. We had not had our miniature Schnauzer with us before so we wondered what sort of room we would be assigned as 'doggy friendly' and part of a 'special deal' we were on. However we were delighted with the size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chasyj
Kevin S, Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and i look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (303)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.8 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
260 reviews
1.0 km away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
18.3 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 33 in Inverness
469 reviews
4.6 km away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Price Range: $85 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newton Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Linthicum
7 months ago
Erskine, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Newton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only two floors and a reliable lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 20ShugT, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms to garden lovely”
 of 5 bubbles maureena795, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room looking on to the front.”
 of 5 bubbles KenD565, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Secret Escapes offered better deal than other conventional websites.”
 of 5 bubbles Jaynesue, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the new part of the hotel, which was spot on.”
 of 5 bubbles 10karag, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay