We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Surprised at some of the negative reviews on here. This is a hostel which charges less than £20 a night for a dorm room and breakfast, free wifi and free fantastic views of the ben. Communal areas are clean, tidy and well furnished and the kitchen was spotless. It may be a little out of town but the places of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alasdair C
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and candid 5 star review and your observations on the negative reviews we have recently received. All the best.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The staff at the establishment are rude, and unhelpful. I would recommend avoiding this establishment on the basis of their poor business practices. I have stayed at many hostels and hotels and have never dealt with one like this; Put simply, you're better off elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

True to your word, you have followed through on your threat to write us a 'terrible' review if we did not award you a refund if you cancelled with us. We see you left a similar review of the establishment you had cancelled for your previous night in the area. We appreciate all reviews written in good faith. However, yours...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

You get what you pay for, this was good value, toast and tea for breakfast was included, common areas were spacious and clean.2 Nice pubs within waking distance and the locks were interesting to watch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review Paul. All the best.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

My friend and I climbed Nevis last Wednesday, and had booked in for two nights stay at the hostel. We got there and was greeted by a perfectly friendly smiling young lady, who told us all we needed to do etc. Happy days. When we went up to the room however, it was a horrendous mess from the other people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neilio666
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, and we do see the funny side, though clearly things are a little confused. Hostels are not usually frequented by dead badgers, usually only sentient beings. Though some having spent a time on the hill can be worse for wear, none we are sure would like to be described thus. Hostels aren't everyone's 'cup of...

Quebec City, Quebec
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Good dormitory for short time. Very friendly services, we met nice people too. Kitchen and living room very usefull. It was a little to far away from the town center to go by walk. You really need a car to go there and to visit other attractions around. But the city and the mountains around are really worth it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlafon_343310
Reviewed 28 September 2016

After a wet and windy hike up Ben Nevis, hot water and a decent bed was a priority! Chase the wild goose provided excellent bathroom/shower facilities for which we never had to que for once. The mattresses on the bunks were a bit hard and you could hear almost every door shutting in the building which resulted in a broken...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Beziers, France
Reviewed 28 September 2016

the staff on the days we arrived and left were very nice and we apprediated our 2 days stay in that hostel. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The only drawback is the dinig room which is not large enough!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clubalpinbeziers
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed here for the third time in September 16. Superb location, well equipped kitchen/lounge areas, friendly staff. I think the shower/bath rooms have recently been refurbished which is a welcome upgrade too. My only issue is the pillows are well worn and flat so could do with being replaced or additional pillows provided. Other than that, this is an excellent...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyPandy298
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Ideal location equipped with free wifi, kitchen utensils, and nice bathrooms. Got warm house feeling with kitchen, dining hall and living hall. Breakfast need to pay but it's simple and nice. Overall, the stay is just great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaitian2016
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Probably the dirtiest hostel in the UK. The room was stinking. It was so bad I couldn't stay there. Had to go and find alternative accommodation. I would not recommend any one to stay here. It wasn't that cheap either you can find better in the area. Or buy a tent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

It is unbelievable that you would write something like this. But I guess this is our reward for reprimanding your bad behaviour in the hostel and towards other guests.... C'est la vie.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.2 km away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
215 reviews
6.3 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
498 reviews
0.1 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
628 reviews
2.7 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can now enjoy a FREE Breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi at this fantastic hostel near Ben Nevis. Great accommodation for walkers, climbers, backpackers and families. Enjoy a break to the Scottish Highlands. Be inspired by fantastic views of Ben Nevis. Take an evening walk along the banks of the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's Staircase. Above all, share your experiences with like-minded travelers. Quality hostel accommodation sleeping 42. Meals available nearby, with kitchen facilities in-house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $27 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chase The Wild Goose Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chase The Wild Goose Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chase The Wild Goose Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chase The Wild Goose Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take an extension lead for charging phones etc, there aren't many sockets in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyPandy298, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not go.”
 of 5 bubbles P7831RTamyr, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't see any of the other rooms but the Tiree room is an eight berth that can get quite warm in the night.”
 of 5 bubbles clndnlrxtn, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the stairwell.”
 of 5 bubbles J9697EDstevem, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms all seemed about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Shoregate, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5