We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

959 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 857: English reviews
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

first impression when opened door in hotel room was one of terrible musky smell ,not the best of starts,bed was fine and bathroom nice as well (needs an extractor fan) only a minor gripe.Biggest prob was the heat in room far too hot plus terrible racket from what seemed hotel boiler room next door .was on first floor and windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

As a traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. With a welcoming staff team, good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm, rather than the coldness of the modern Hotel....

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

If " traditional" and "quaint" means threadbare carpets and worn, shabby, dusty surroundings this hotel will not disappoint. We stayed here for two nights on an excursion with a rail company very recently and were astonished to find that standards like this still exist in Scottish hotels.The parent company should have a close look at some other hotel chains to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank much_travelled819
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time out to write a very detailed report on your experience at our Hotel, it is greatly appreciated. Please let me apologise to you that we did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your comments and will be addressing them. It is through feedback such as yours that enables...

Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I don't know where to start. We had such a terrible experience with this place. Following check in we waited 15 mins for the 2 person lift. A lift that had no lights working on the panel. You had no idea what floor you were on, which makes you think did the alarm work. When we eventually got to our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Liane W
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Please let me apologise to you that we did not live up to your expectations. The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years, and being an old hotel the internal infrastructure does not allow for a lager lift.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a tour with Statesman Rail.We had an accessible room on the first floor,the room was large enough and comfortable albeit a little dated .This room is at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park,over the kitchen it's noisy due to the extractors running.Why is it a lot if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123Suzywong
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and all of our Statesman rail guests for their good nature and friendliness. Thank you for taking time out to post a review.

Weston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We stayed at this hotel in a warm early September and found the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the bathrooms too. Something that's not always the case! The lounges also are traditional, comfortable and relaxing, and large. The staff were all very welcoming and efficient and the food was glorious - breakfast with porridge honey and cinnamon as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alxrh
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

Hotel was dated but nice enough nice extras in room. Chocolates and nuts etc. Dinner at the hotel was nice. Breakfast was buffet style and a.bit of a distance from were we were sitting. For the price I am unsure if I would return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine4180
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to write in with your comments.

Derbyshire
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The hotel in Fort William was good, the food was and service. It was clean and always warm. the only thing was that the carpet on th esecond floor was thread beard you had to be carful incase you put your foot wrong and court the threads, you would soon go over. Also the shower was not able to angle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonia l
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we have taken note of your comments. The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years, and being an old hotel, we do have an ongoing refurbishment program which will be addressing the issues you have raised.

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Very pleasant hotel close to the railway station and the shops.spacious rooms with lots of drawers and hanging space,tea making in the room.Good food at breakfast and dinner and very quick service. Wifi in public areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTFomes
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

Stranraer, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We didn't stop at this hotel but we did book in for our Saturday evening meal, easily providing a table for ten all i can say is the service was very good and the meal ! Well this is probably one of the best three course meals that i have ever had, from the starter all the way to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee W
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and quality of the food, thank you

Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Had two nights here food adequate large portions no complaints here room comfy and very clean view of sea table service very good Comfy bed great bathroom good shower Limited parking at hotel front Bus tours favourite 3 tours there when we were there Would probably return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. With regard to the parking we do have a large parking lot at the back of the Hotel

267 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.7 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
4.3 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
887 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
680 reviews
3.1 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $151 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Derbyshire
over a year ago
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1ts floor was quiet enough”
kevinkY5733EY, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A high room facing out to the station gives good views”
dougalboy, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room near the stairs on each floor.”
susangP7847CI, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to eat in bistro instead of main restaurant.”
frasanne, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“superior rooms are offered for a small surcharge”
michaelgZ6950IC, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5