We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

898 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 802: English reviews
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Booked room for parents as part of a 65th birthday gift - noting the fact at time of booking. When they arrived the found a handwritten card and wine waiting for them in the room. Parents were delighted with service & newly refurbished room - would recommend this hotel very highly

Helpful?
Thank jaydubya1980
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and recommendation. i am glad to hear your parents had a good stay with us. Kind Regards Marly-Ann Falconer More 

Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Hotel is across the street from the train and bus stations. An underpass makes crossing under to the hotel easy. Dining room served excellent meal with varied menu. Bed was comfortable and room quiet. OK, so you already know the hotel is old so narrow corridors and small slow elevator should not be a surprise. Museum is five minute walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank eggwhite
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are exceptionally lucky with our location, with almost everything in Fort William within walking distance from the hotel. I am very pleased to hear you found our food, rooms, staff, and organisation to be of a good standard. Unfortunately with being a nineteenth century hotel the internal infrastructure does not allow for... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Stayed here last minute after walking Ben Nevis. The hotel receptionist (Sarah) was brilliant. Really lovely and made me feel very welcome. The hotel room was small, but i was informed of this on arrival and it was only for me and very last minute. The breakfast was good with lots of choice, however the breakfast team really let the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vikk08
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I will pass on your lovely comments to Sarah, I'm sure she will be very grateful to hear. I'm very pleased you found your room and breakfast to be of a good standard. Thank you for your comments on our breakfast room through receiving feedback it is... More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon in Fort William and checked in at the Alexandra for £99 (inc breakfast). The staff were very friendly and the location was very good (central to town). The room / hotel in general could do with some TLC (a common theme we have found on our UK road trip) but was ok. Bed was comfortable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnski99
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very lucky with our location as almost everything in Fort William is within walking distance. We do have an on going refurbishment programme with in the company which will be continuous until all areas of the hotel are completed. Kind Regards Marly-Ann Falconer More 

Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The Alexandra was a very nice and in a great location. The food was excellent. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful and informative. The porters did a great job of getting our bags in and out on a timely basis. I highly recommend the Alexandra.

Helpful?
Thank hdgirl42
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and recommendation. i will pass your kind comments on to our staff. Kind Regards Marly-Ann Falconer More 

Level Contributor
84 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I really like the 19th Century feel of this place, service was friendly with good recommendation for local eateries. Great view from hotel window. Breakfast was spot on and included with room. I really enjoyed the Haggis with the English style breakfast. I would recommend this as a good stopover.

Helpful?
Thank Mrbmist
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and recommendation. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in future. Kind Regards Marly-Ann Falconer More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed two nights in Fort William at the Alexandra. The hotel is well placed closed to the loch, shops, railway station. There was easy parking. Our room was on the front of the hotel on the second floor. We had requested a superior room and would recommend. It was a four poster. We have stayed with Strathclyde Hotels before and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward345
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed one night in early September. The rooms though small were nice and adequate. Bathrooms were clean and in good shape. Staff was very nice. Location is within walking distance of everything in the town. Best part was the breakfast. We stayed at 4 hotels while in Scotland, and this breakfast buffet was by far the best. Great variety;... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelinglemon1959
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel, i will pass your comments on to the staff i'm sure they will be very appreciative. Kind Regards Marly-Ann Falconer More 

BRIDGNORTH
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I arrived for drinks without any great expectation that I would be served since I was accompanied by dog Lucy. However the welcome was effusive and it was most pleasant to sit outside on the patio in the October sunshine. Unfortunately there are no Real Ales

Helpful?
Thank CLOCKFOSSIL
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad to hear that you felt that we where accommodating towards you. Unfortunately it is only in the peak of the season that we would sell enough Real Ale to consider stocking it. Kind Regards Marly-Ann Falconer More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had not been planning to stay in Fort William at all but because of my husband's unexpected visit to A&E and inpatient stay, we were advised to curtail our journey there. I walked in to the nearest hotel which happened to be the Alexandra and was met with such kindness and helpfulness. The receptionist found us a room for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Val H
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation. Where I really appreciate your comments on our staff team. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Catalina Dumitru Duty Manager More 

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.4 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
487 reviews
4.3 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
636 reviews
1.4 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
827 reviews
3.1 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $118 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Derbyshire
over a year ago
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a superior room or the four poster.”
 of 5 bubbles bowtowtwo, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room we had was on 1st floor and looked onto a wee roof top garden so was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles andreap0rter, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms located in several floors, not any bad noize anywhere”
 of 5 bubbles JaakkoTapio, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get room which has been upgraded.”
 of 5 bubbles kovwirana, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is currently bring updated but room 234 was great - shower too was pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenD811, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay