We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Booking.comUSD 121*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 231*
USD 121*
Great Deal
USD 231*
USD 122*
USD 231*
USD 122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,188: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Checked in early with no problem as room was ready. Lovely large room, overlooking the river and castle. Lovely location. Room was warm but not a problem on a cold February night. Staff pleasant and buffet breakfast very good. Only downside was the price of drinks in the hotel bar - £4.60 for a can of Guiness??! Plenty of other...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank annemma
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear annemma Thank you for your lovely review. I'm sorry you couldn't make it a 5 star one, all the team are shown the reviews so the Food and Beverage Manager will note your comment about the drinks prices. It's great that overall you enjoyed your experience with us and I do hope we are able to look after you...

Melvich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Having stayed in the palace a number of times and always been very pleased we were very disappointed with our room. The room was very small as was the bed, it being a small double. They advertise large sized beds but definitely not this one. The door to our room had a two inch gap at the bottom of it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Juanella F
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Juanella F Thank you for posting your review of your stay. I and all the team are so sorry you have left disappointed with the room you were allocated especially as you have booked with us before. The rooms are different shapes and sizes due to the nature of the building and the team will always do their best...

Dingwall, Scotland
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Old Victorian building which has been kept well up to date with pool, gym and Starbucks coffee shop. Rooms are comfy, warm and well decorated though seem to be all sorts of shapes. Great location just across the River Ness from the city centre of Inverness. Walkable from both bus and train station though you might want to take a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JustinUrquhart
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JustinUrquhart Thanks ever so much for your lovely review of the hotel and your stay with us. Many will find your review very helpful should they be looking to book with us as you are absolutely right about our location being so central and how close we are to the transport links. The car park can be very busy...

Reviewed 13 February 2016

This is a good hotel and delivers a pleasant enough stay, but it would be straightforward for them to make it better. We went on the sleeper train so arrived fairly early in the day, we were allowed to drop bags, but they have no bag room as such so left in the office (this must happen very often). Check...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Frank F
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Frank F Thank you for posting your review of your stay. We are all so sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us and please be assured, your review has been shared with everyone so that we can look at the areas we can improve on. The heating and water system has very recently been entirely replaced and...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

My wife and I have been going to inverness for the past 8 years, this is the 1st time we have stopped in the centre of the city having always stopped in either a premier inn or Travelodge. The palace is great hotel in a fantastic position on the riverside. I booked a room with a river view, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank damicless
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear damicless Thank you so much for sharing your super review with everyone! We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a great time. I have passed on your lovely comments to the whole team as it's so great to read. The lift is on the bijou side...only because the original building is...

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel is nice enough but nothing extraordinarily special. We arrived at 12 knowing that checkin wasn't until 3 and were OK with that. So we sat in the lounge and were allowed to use the pool. But they didn't hurry things along at all knowing we were there: we got our rooms precisely at three and no earlier. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oterwill
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear oterwill Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I and the whole team are really very sorry that you have left without feeling entirely satisfied and that there were issues with some areas of the hotel. The reception team are aware that they can change allocation to an alternative room should any guests arrive earlier than...

inverness
Reviewed 3 February 2016

really lovely room and enjoyed the stay very much. Excellent location and very nice view over the river and to the castle. Warm welcome and happy staff team. Good all round service, good food and nice presentation

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Glo P
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Glo P Thank you so much - what a super review to share with everyone! It is simply brilliant that you enjoyed yours stay with us so much, we have been thrilled to read your fantastic praise of the hotel and the team here. I do hope we have the opportunity to look after you again on future trips...

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay at this relaxing hotel, dog friendly as well so our wee dog Zoe had a ball. The bedroom was spacious, clean and homely pieces of furniture to make it cosy looking. The food was excellent, staff very pleasant. The lift was out of action but that didn't matter.. Used the hotel as a base to explore further....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Chunk828
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chunk828 Thanks so much! What a super review and we're so happy that Zoe enjoyed herself too! It's brilliant that you enjoyed the room, the food and that you found the team friendly. Inverness is fantastic as a base for the Highlands, only a couple of minutes out and you're in the hills! It would be lovely to have...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

I stayed at the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in December 2015. It's a beautiful building, right along the River Ness. It was affordable, clean, and mostly comfortable. Unfortunately, when I was there, the hot water system was being replaced. This caused a few disruptions with the heated swimming pool and the showers at the gym (it really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DrVetticus
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear DrVetticus Thank you for writing a review of the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and I am sorry that we didn't meet all of your expectations with the leisure facilities we have or with the breakfast we offer. The new boilers have all been installed now and we have a much more economical system for the hot water...

Castle Rock, Colorado
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We really liked this hotel a lot! Good value for your money. It is in a great location for people who are visiting Loch Ness. It is right in town, and you can walk to anything you might need. The room was large and clean. The hotel restaurant was also really good, and the staff was very helpful. They have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anne S

511 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Classic Double (20)
Viewed
Classic Single (26)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
River View Double (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
522 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.3 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.5 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,743 reviews
3.7 km away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $175 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a river room”
tinawest2016, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with a view of the River Ness is an option.”
  • View across the River Ness. Top floor is open to public from mid-April 2017.
yoncaoj, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room at front of hotel”
VirgoQualitySeeker47, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 310 was way too warm (even in April) and no air conditioning. Wifi was intermittent”
JenAberdeen_9, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors front of hotel for best views.”
jambo2, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 121* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 122
Hotels.comUSD 122
TripAdvisorUSD 121
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates