We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel, Caithness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel, Caithness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed in Thurso for 2 nights in the Royal Hotel. Very big hotel, many corridors to get lost in. We stayed on the second floor. Room was comfortable and warm, quiet night. Shower was rather weak, but adequate. Room was clean. Hotel was interesting, looked like it had last been renovated in the 1970s. Breakfast was alright. I would use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette P
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Stayed for the weekend recently as we were attending a nearby festival. Check in is easy and the hotel staff are all very pleasant. The hotel rooms are basic but adequate. The electric shower does not control very well and is very hot or very cold. The room we had overlooked a busy junction, so getting a good nights sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rangers9
shetland
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

I've just returned from my 12th annual visit to the Royal Hotel in Thurso and as always I thoroughly enjoyed it. I look forward to returning to the hotel each year as I think it's absolutely brilliant! The rooms are always immaculately clean each with an en- suite, TV, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garr80
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015

It was terrible very old fashioned food terrible dinning room was very cold it really needs a BI GMAKEOVER .Positive thing the receptionist and the staff were great We would never go back.we had an alarm that went of before 2 am never saw any staff till I was outside people crowing the front door they should have beenn told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dundeegirl54
Maine
Reviewed 29 March 2015

If you are expecting a sleek, modern hotel, then this isn't for you. But if you want decent, clean room near the center of town, with a good breakfast to start your day, with a reception staff that was helpful and knows the area ~ this should work for you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank killearnan
Heanor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Did the job, just, saved by the breakfast. Tired, tatty, maze like, won't be back in a hurry. Parking was not great. When I rang and spoke to the receptionist I was given the impression that it was well run and friendly, I was fooled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

The hotel is homely and our room warm and cosy. We found the staff were friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast is excellent and the plates warm enough to cause full thickness burns on prolonged contact with flesh. The Royal is a great centre from which to explore the region with a great Indian, Chinese and Fish and Chip shop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lloyd W
Brit in Gulf
Reviewed 21 March 2015

In recent months, I have tried about 5 low-value hotel/guest houses in the North Highlands in single rooms. All 5 were acceptable for the price but the Royal Hotel was overall the winner for me and I had a most comfortable stay The room had everything I needed; it was clean, warm and perfectly located for my onward journey. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richie-In-Oxon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2015

An old fashioned hotel that has been in Thurso for decades so you have to accept that a few things might squeak. I enjoyed my one night stay here. From the quaint revolving door to the cheery woman on reception and the great nights sleep followed by a gut busting fry up for breakfast. We were in room 2 which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janice84
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Me and my father stayed at this hotel. We had previously booked and payed for the room so had no choice but to stay or else lose our money. We parked in the rear carpark and came in through the back door.....the whole place looked dirty and old, we actually thought about just walking back out and actually that's what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrPBSmith
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Many thanks for commenting on Trip Advisor though i find it strange that you have decided to do so 5 months after you claim to have stayed. As always, if our guests, (who have actually booked and stayed with us) have a concern we will always do our upmost to address the issues and where possable rectify them.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.5 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
160 reviews
0.2 km away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
276 reviews
7.5 km away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
200 reviews
17.5 km away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Address: Traill Street, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Missoula, Montana
Rochester, New York
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you care about noise etc speak to the staff”
Garygilmore77, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 151- perpetual noise of rain from broken gutter.”
294peterd, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to have heating on prior to arrival or a heater added to your room.”
123kaz321, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sleep in Your Car”
744angelah, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long walk so if you've got a heavy bag or don't like mazes then ask for a room near reception/car park.”
ThatSharpy, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5