We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

Hotels.comUSD 74*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 87*
USD 74*
USD 76*
USD 87*
USD 74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Hotel, Caithness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 271: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Hotel, Caithness
 Click to rate
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Worst hotel I have been in for a long time. Thurso is busy tonight and this is all that is left. The room is tired. The carpet is dirty with crumbs on the floor and there is no internet! Its a struggle to lock the bedroom door. The toilet had not been flushed! When I arrived there was a female...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archie S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked on-line, this hotel is in the tradition of Victorian railway hotels. There is a small car-park behind the hotel and a short walk from the imposing front. The check-in staff were efficient and friendly and happily changed my booking from room-only to B&B. The room facilities were good, TV and free wifi, although the en-suite toilet and shower were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-Gander
Glasgow
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The Royal Hotel is right in the middle of town. The room I had was fine, usual old hotel drawbacks about noise etc but all in all in was good value. The breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly. The bar did not open till after 5 when I was there and it was quite quiet. Maybe something to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garygilmore77
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We stayed 1 night at the royal in early March...Ok it looks dated but for what we paid (£55) for 2 of us 1 night B&B it was very good.Very good location for a look around the town...free car park and a good chinese up the road!.The shower in our room was the best i had in Scotland!!Our breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Yes, it is an old coach house but, they've had enough time to spruce it up. I'm not sure when they started but it doesn't look finished. For £40 single b&b it's the cheapest and for that the drawbacks are:- creaking boards, splashing water outside the window, no mirror light to shave and waitress recycles the unused milk on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
North East UK
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

As other reviews state, the hotel could do with some tlc and updating - but it's an old hotel and you get what you pay for in my opinion. I actually found it quite charming with it's winding corridors etc. The rooms are large - and warm - don't know how other people think it's cold as we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shewolf77
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Staff tried hard but this poor hotel is badly in need of some updating and TLC. Positives first - staff were pleasant, room was clean,shower had power, food was very tasty, B&B rate was cheap...BUT hotel was cold though-out, our room had two small single beds and two single glazed windows, tiny tv and towels had seen better days (but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen H
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

There's potential in this place that's just not being realised. It looked slightly shabby and down at heel. It had the feel of somewhere that didn't need to compete for customers. Breakfast was slightly lack lustre. I'd look elsewhere if I came back to Thurso.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toddy62
Toronto
Reviewed 27 December 2016

WRETCHED. Sleep in your car. I'll try to itemize things & provide some pictures, which speak better than any words. THE STAFF Terrible, just terrible. You can tell that if at one time they cared, they've long since given up any hope. In the restaurant they let food drop to the floor & re-position it on plates, the bar hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angela H
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

“My apologies that you were dismayed during your stay in June. However, I would like to assure others reading your feedback that the comments are grossly exaggerated. We certainly do not, nor have ever had, any issues with cockroaches or anything remotely similar and the suggestion of 2 – 3 inches of dust is simply untrue. It is a shame...

Tadcaster
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This is the coldest most dated knackered hotel I have ever stayed in and I've been to eastern europe. The room was freezing cold not overly clean with a dated bathroom. Breakfast was basic and very greasy. Bar was reasonable. If there was anywhere else available I would of moved rooms. This place might be cheap but it's needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faultrated

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.5 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
160 reviews
0.2 km away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
276 reviews
7.5 km away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
200 reviews
17.5 km away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Address: Traill Street, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Missoula, Montana
Rochester, New York
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you care about noise etc speak to the staff”
Garygilmore77, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 151- perpetual noise of rain from broken gutter.”
294peterd, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to have heating on prior to arrival or a heater added to your room.”
123kaz321, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sleep in Your Car”
744angelah, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long walk so if you've got a heavy bag or don't like mazes then ask for a room near reception/car park.”
ThatSharpy, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 74* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 76
Hotwire.comUSD 74
TripAdvisorUSD 76
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates