We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights including New Years Eve. Our room was clean , and functional . The restaurant offers a good buffet breakfast with Italian food for dinner. the service was very good.The resort has a Cinema, Theatre , shopping and a well equipped play centre for children and a swimming pool . The gym is very small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoMcG
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'RoMcG' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am so glad that you had a lovely experience whilst staying with us over the New Year, your comments about the room, restaurants and facilities are very kind. I am sorry that you found the gym to be too small, I will be sure...

Beauly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on a weekend away in early January. There was no snow so the resort was fairly quiet which was really nice. The hotel was fine for the price we paid, decor nice, staff pleasant, room was nothing fancy but nice & clean. We spent a couple of days here & on both days the breakfast service was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EtiveGirl
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'EtiveGirl' Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor I am glad that you felt the hotel was at a good standard, but it seems you had quite a few concerns over the breakfast that we provide. I am very sorry that the food at breakfast was not to your liking and that your tea was not enjoyable, I...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Most Awful experience ever at a hotel - wont give blow by blow account as would take all week but the main points were: 1. Booked specifically into the Morlich back in April 2016 for a stay in December 2016 - have stayed in the Highlands hotel before at same resort and room had no heating and was no where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanitsa7328
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Melanitsa7328' Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor I am sincerely sorry you did not have a pleasant experience at our resort, I am sorry for the mix up with the dinner bookings, the hotel room and that the bed has not been provided for your son before you arrived. I am so sorry that you found a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a week of walking and climbing I booked into this hotel for a weekend break to recoup, before the following week. I arrived early and was told by the hotel staff that there was no way of gaining access to my room until the allotted 4pm. I left and came back around 3:45, again would have to wait until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orchard4
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Orchard4' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor I am sorry that you found our 4pm check-in time to be too late, but due to the volume of rooms we have on the resort we have to have a slightly later check-in time to allow for the rooms to be cleaned to an appropriate...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are currently staying in the macdonald morlich hotel and I really don't know what some of these reviews are about! we have come with a 14 month old baby and the staff couldnt be more friendly and cannot do enough for you ..nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are clean modern and cleaned everyday . There is plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annmareelydiawilson
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Annmareelydiawilson' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor It is great to see that our staff are treating you with the level of customer service that we expect. I am glad you have enjoyed Giovannis during your stay, and found the food to be of a good standard. Your kind comments about our Activity...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite apart from looking like a US Housing Project, that should never have been allowed to happen, there are some reasonable priced deals if you book late via Laterooms. However, don't be tempted, if you have a credible alternative. When we checked in the booking request for a twin room had resulted in us being allocated a double. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glen g
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'glen g' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor I am sincerely sorry that you did not find our resort to be at the standard that you expected. We aim to provide high levels of customer service and I am again sorry that this was not the case during your stay. I will be...

Canton of Aargau, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Better than we thought this place would be, however, they put two single beds together to be a double bed, which splits in the middle of the night, very annoying. Also, the shower was a joke, took me ages to wash my hair as it was like dripping water, not really a shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franzwilk
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'franzwilk' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am very sorry that you felt our resort was only average, and that you did not enjoy how some of our rooms have zip and link beds which can be made as a double or two singles. I am also sorry that the shower...

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Beautifully decorated room, very large and spacious bed. Only negative was our room was near the lift and the lift was noisy.that said would definitely stay again. Steak house restaurant food was amazing. The whole location is perfect

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonf119
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Jonf119' Many thank for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is with great pleasure that I read your review, with your kind comments regarding the room, bed and food in our Scottish Steakhouse are greatly appreciated. We would be more that happy to welcome you back to enjoy another stay with us. We hope...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed here for one night prior to running the Aviemore half marathon. The room was fairly small and makes poor use of space. Decorated well BUT has to large arm chair and a very coffee table in a very small room - surely a more effective use of space would be to have smaller furniture! Also we asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 702traveller
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear '702traveller'' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am sorry that you did not feel that the price you paid was representative of your stay, your comments regarding the room and customer service are worrying and I am sorry you had such a negative experience. We hope to welcome you back to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at the resort.The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Staff helpful and pleasant. 5 minute walk down hill to Main Street in Aviemore to local restaurants,bars, shops etc although several restaurants and bar in resort .Restaurant at breakfast time is extremely busy and noisy during school holidays so best avoided if you prefer...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia K
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Sylvia K' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor Your review is very pleasing to read and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay here at the resort. Your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, staff members and location of the resort are lovely to read. We hope...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.0 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.0 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.0 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
669 reviews
0.0 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
211 reviews
0.0 km away
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Next to the Conference Center | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: $130 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Morlich Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quiet rooms ask to be away from the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Jonf119, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try executive rooms at Morlich....but check credit card for any double charges....”
 of 5 bubbles TheaScotland, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are given the correct room, don't back down!”
 of 5 bubbles 242becac, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“best go to the Hilton instead”
 of 5 bubbles kathrynm978, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms on the first floor above the Italian restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles HaddingtonJinty, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay