We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ivory Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ivory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 128: English reviews
Start your review of The Ivory Hotel
 Click to rate
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a meal here while staying at the hotel. All of the food was delicious and the service was great. I was given a free glass of wine as my first choice of starter was unavailable. Can recommend the sea bass and chocolate brownie in particular. Good atmosphere on a Friday night with live music.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeleninDurham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dont bother. Overpriced room dirty shower. Manager didnt even reply when I spoke to her. No breakfast. Room cold. Restaurant shut at 9 on a Friday night as not busy enough. Then I get a message saying that I am being charged 50 for smoking in my room which is a complete con. Told there was a late bar was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therev99no
Management response:

This revue is defamatory and based on the charge made against his card for smoking in a room that he was warned was a no smoking area. The Hotel is completely Non smoking , it has 30 odd signs detailing the rules and charges that apply to those who choose to break the rules. Lots of stock etc is easily...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay at this hotel whilst visiting my mum in a care home nearby so the location, for us, is ideal. The main road of Shawlands is about 500+ yds away so well within walking distance to the shops, cafes and restaurants but far enough away not to be disturbed at night. We normally book mid week but on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capercaillie01
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The positive: The room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable. The negative: On the hotel website, it states: “As you would expect from a successful family run operation the Ivory Hotel is comfortable and homely and very professionally run. We have a fabulous team and we always aim to deliver a wonderful experience.” There should be warning to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MachairOrchid
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Location was good for visiting family but hugely over priced 79 for a room without breakfast. Bed was clean but the rest was "very tired" and bathroom not the cleanest. Stale smell was muffed with air fresher. Radiator in bathroom did not work and window blind was dirty and stained. Wouldn't stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee742
Management response:

Hi , We are very disappointed to read your review .We take all reviews whether good or bad seriously,and so we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel rooms have recently undergone a major refurb with new ensuites, beds, matresses , furniture and carpets , hence why we are extremely unhappy to read your comments....

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

When we arrived for a birthday lunch we very quietly and gently placed a stroller containing our sleeping child next to the table we had booked.. let sleeping babies lie I say. Soon, we were asked by the staff to move her because she was blocking the stairway… fair enough I can understand that. When I asked can we put...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TonyShields
Management response:

Hi Tony , Sorry to read your very disappointing review, when someone takes the time to write a lengthy account of their visit it normally expresses how they feel. In our defence the pram im told was massive and no matter were it was put would have created a hazard in such a small space , could i maybe suggest...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Had not been here for years and was pleased with both the surroundings, lovely wee conservatory area, great to watch the world go past and food was lovely and good value. Rather rushed out at the end of the night but this will not prevent us returning, will just keep this on mind when ordering drinks etc Actually plan to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janice g
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

First time trying this place but i had heard alot about it. The food is fantastic. Great quality ingredients and even better value for money. Had 2 courses on the pre theatre menu for £13. You will struggle to find food of this quality for that price. Also i must mention the service, it was second to none and staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexjb15
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Have stayed here on 3 occasions. Overnight stays to visit family. A bit shabby on the outside and the check-in area leaves a lot to be desired. Rooms are large, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished. The en-suite is very small and there are no shelves or surfaces to place toiletries. The complimentary toiletries consisted of a tiny bar of soap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capercaillie01
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Been here loads, as it's only a 10 minute walk from the house. Food is well cooked, service is good, and not much can go wrong here to be honest. Always consistent too- which really makes the difference.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottMcGready

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 10 Hotel
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
707 reviews
Orchard Park Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
119 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#82 of 96 in Glasgow
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manor Park Guest House
#6 of 37 in Glasgow
187 reviews
The Parkville Hotel
#8 of 37 in Glasgow
86 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 37 in Glasgow
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Ivory Hotel

Address: 2-4 Camphill Avenue, Glasgow G41 3AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $84 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ivory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivory Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ivory Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
scotland
Inveraray, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Ivory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 is very spacious, small ensuite. Views over park to the front and over the car park to the side.”
 of 5 bubbles capercaillie01, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is very spacious but small en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles capercaillie01, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 7 With a Z bed for our grandson No view to speak of but a well presented room Clean and the beds were comfy !!!”
 of 5 bubbles margaretmY5474AG, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a top floor room to get away from noise. It still penetrates but less so!”
 of 5 bubbles charless965, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check room before paying.”
 of 5 bubbles lozdow, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5