We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bluesky Hostel

Hostelworld.comUSD 28*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bluesky Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Bluesky Hostel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There's a kitchen, a common area open 24h, confy beds, sofas, jacuzzi and a dog! We booked 1 night and we ended up staying 5! It's an old building so don't expect everything to be clean and shiny. We stayed in a private room, the cheapest private room ever! We loved it, the staff, the atmosphere, everything we needed it:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaricaSoulJourney
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This could be, if not the worst hostel in the world. Not only are the rooms, bathrooms and hang out areas disgusting, this lady (a good chance to be a relative of the Osbourne's) at reception I had to deal with at reception was a disgraceful stain of a women. Completely uninterested and extremely rude, I asked if the music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Cold, dirty shower with fungus everywhere. Short blankets, didnt fit. No atmosphere. I have slept in a lot of hostels all over the world but this was the worst one. I can't commend this hostel to anybody who is traveling to Glasgow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I stayed here for one night during a weekend up to Glasgow. It’s an okay hostel, the staff seemed friendly and I’d booked myself a private room which worked out to be about £30. And had a bunk bed and single bed in the room. The bathrooms/ shower is shared with the floor but there’s only like three rooms per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMattFoley
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

It's a pretty average hostel, not particularly well organised but does the job and is in a good location. Be warned there are no plug sockets in some of the rooms so you have to charge in the lounge but generally alright

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This hostel's atmosphere is poor. They have negative signs up all over the place. For example in the toilets a sign that says "boys, if you can't pee like a man, sit like a girl". Also it was not very clean. The toilets and showers were absolutely gross. The one shower almost overflowed when I used it. The security is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Keisha H
toddP898, Owner at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

the atmosphere is poor? you need to talk to people. you can just sit in a corner and expect people to come to you. the signs in the toilet are pretty self explanatory. the toilets are cleaned every day but not 50 times a day. the keys are not all the same. each key opens the doors that you are...

Fort St. John, Canada
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I'd give this place 2.5/5 if I could.. I wouldn't call it average - but it wasn't totally terrible either. You kinda understand what you're getting into when you look at the photos and do your research before you book. It's an older building so the bathrooms are a bit stained and have a weird layout. The upstairs bathroom stall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rissjay
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

yes, we are a old style hostel. we have been here for 17 years. backpacker hostels have been changed by hostelworld promoting hotels with bunk beds as hostels just to confuse people and cash in on the coolness of hosteling but they just want to cash in on the hostel vibe and they ruened hosteling for everyone. hostels are meant...

Reviewed 6 October 2016

I know sometimes a bad review can be exaggerated or people often expect amazing things from just a hostel, but honestly this was a terrible place to stay. Me and my partner are not fussy people, we are happy with just a bed to stay in but we didn't even get that on our first night here. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rebecca H
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

You have us mixed up with another hostel. we dont have any french people working here. We havnt had a french person here since last summer. also we dont have any couches.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Easily the worst hostel my friend and I have stayed in so far. They did not allocate beds which means that no one had any idea when walking into a 16 bed dorm which beds were free and which were taken. The bunks were too low to store bags underneath them which meant that everyone's things were all over the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Florence B
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

you booked a 16 bed dorm. what did you expect? The reason the things you were talking about were all over is because no one puts their things on their beds so how are we meant to clean up? i wish there was a pill for stupid people!

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I hesitated to run away from this dirty hostel before my journey ending... Showers, hall, rooms, beds, noises,...:a disaster would not enough to describe all these points. I just find the staff pretty cool.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luludu38000
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

The staff are cool! the hostel is cool! you my friend are not cool!

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
195 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
886 reviews
Alba Hostel Glasgow
#9 of 49 in Glasgow
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#18 of 49 in Glasgow
1,216 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
#2 of 49 in Glasgow
163 reviews
Tartan Lodge
#3 of 49 in Glasgow
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
IF YOU ARE NOT A BACKPACKER DONT COME HERE YOU WONT BE HAPPY!!!!! Can i be any clearer than that? . We are a 1 star backpacker hostel in the city centre of Glasgow. We offer basic self catering accommodation at the cheapest price in town! We cater strictly to the 18 to 35 age group. so if you are old and cant climb bunk beds don't come here! If you like to meet people and have a great time you will love it here. We will do our best to make sure you have some fun or we will point you in the right direction to find it! We are 150 meters from the best party street in town. 5 blocks of pubs , bars , casinos, fast food, theatres ect. No children allowed. No grumpy old people allowed. if you are antisocial cheapskate who has to update facebook every 15 seconds because you have no idea ho to communicate AFK and only booked here for the price you will not be happy here. All facilities are shared.All rooms are coed we dont have male or female rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bluesky Hostel

Address: 65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $21 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bluesky Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesky Hostel Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bluesky Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bluesky Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, get a private room or one with less people...you sleep a bit better. ;)”
Iaps, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The red room is most crowded so book it wen you are with a bunch if not get the smaler room.”
FreddyE_12, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“there are two buildings. ask to be on the side of the road where reception is.”
aussiebackpackerdude, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“choose bottom beds and away from the doors and lighting”
prashant_menon, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Obviously the less people in a dorm the more likely you wont get disturbed. I slept pretty well in Room 2. Make sure the window is open during the day though, dorms need ventilation! lol”
MrIanM, 13 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 28* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates