We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

977 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 893: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
 Click to rate
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I think outside of one other, it is the smallest hotel room we have ever been in, and as our travel is extended we had lots of luggage and we were crowded and uncomfortable. The toilet roll holder stuck into your shoulder if you used the loo, the basin had a huge crack, and a small sign let you know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here using an itison voucher Pleasant welcome at reception rooms as stated are quite small . Definitely in need of a refurb carpets shabby and very thin walls between rooms could hear next door tv and talking really difficult to sleep. Even on leaving not asked how our stay was just took keys Got decent deal to stay but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Tbilisi
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K6711JGjessicah
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel it is a perfect location for a break away in city centre so central to everything we had a great stay and would definitely go back. Room was lovely, we ate our evening meal and breakfast at hotel and it was excellent , all round great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Donna M, Thanks for your kind review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and enjoy the hotel again very soon. Kind Regards Dan

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights, we have stayed many times , the room we were in was in the third floor and boy was it noisy, never noticed before how noisy it is, nearly all through the night I suppose the amount of bars in vicinity, the whole three days we were there , one of the two lifts was out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hecfranfmac
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hecfranfmac, Thanks for your review and yes due to our city centre location it can be noisy. Unfortunately our lift is waiting for some parts that have to be made for it hence the delay, please accept my apologies for this. We supply extra pillows and blankets on request so please give reception a call next time. We are...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel a long time before we arrived and was worried when poor reviews started to show up before my stay. So I followed tripadvisor advice and requested a room as high as possible facing Ingram street. I got a quick polite reply advising I would get a room on the 5th floor, first plus. We had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yougetspaz
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi yougetspaz, Thank you for your very fair review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Tripadvisor can be quite often biased towards poor reviews quite often due to people not complaining at the hotel itself, not having time, or reflecting on aspects of their stay after a significant time. There are many review sites for people to gain...

Warrington
Reviewed 1 week ago

A quick midweek work stopover in Glasgow on a budget. The Mercure came in at a good rate and in our corporate rules. I think of the Mercure as the start of the more upmarket range in the Accor hotels family. In reality the Glasgow hotel is just another chain hotel. Yes its very well located, the receptionists were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A_decent_bloke
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi A_decent_bloke, Thank you for your very fair review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. The building was built in 1973 so you are correct about the style of it. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

Motherwell, Lanarkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice central location however room was tiny even with an upgrade the room was still very small. Despite the double layer for the windows was quite noisy due to road works and a noisy heating system. They charged for my room twice now having to wait for this to be refunded. Bed hard and uncomfortable as was the pillows. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcl9643
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi mcl9643, Thanks for your review and I am sorry to hear you found our rooms tiny. It is widely publicised on tripadvisor that our rooms are compact and there is little I can do about that unfortunately. I do apologise for the heating system though as I am aware the radiators occasionally make some noise when heating up, also...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small (ish) but very comfortable and clean double room, probably the best nights' sleep I have had in a city centre hotel. Very hard to find fault with anything accommodation wise The staff were truly amazing, attentive and ever-busy, nothing was too much trouble - even managing to finalise my online airline booking-in and even printing me my boarding pass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJC1960
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi TJC1960, Thanks for the great review and wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to our team here and I am sure they will be delighted with your comments. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is fine for sleeping in. Good comfy beds. Decent beds good shower but small rooms and little storage. Recommended for short stay. I would not bother with breakfast as there are many great places to eat locally

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gibson123
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi gibson123, Thanks for your very fair review and great to hear you found us comfortable. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $112 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room”
Hecfranfmac, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go with the high floor facing Ingram Street”
yougetspaz, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will be quieter.”
A_decent_bloke, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wait until its refurbishec”
Lor197, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Superb location for shops, transport, attractions, bars / pubs and resturants”
Lezford, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5