We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyll Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

737 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 678: English reviews
Florida
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel had friendly employees. Very accommodating . Breakfast was adequate ( nothing special ) . Bed was comfortable. Room was small and hot. Stayed one night. Located near bus line therefore was convenient. In safe neighborhood , was able to walk at night. Would recommend if you cannot find other lodging.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ghost_Finder
Shetland
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We were originally booked in the Argyll Guest House across the road but checked in at the hotel and we were told we had been upgraded to the hotel. The rooms were small but very clean. Staff were all friendly.Bar was closed on the 2 nights we were there, heard a few people complain about this. The free wifi didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShetlandSheltie
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us - our staff does its best in order to live up guest expectations. Bar was closed due to a private function but room service for bar and food was available for...

united kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We stayed here for one night for concert at Glasgow Hydro. Easy friendly check in. Nice clean comfortable room. Good breakfast with many options available. All in all would highly recommend. Hotel car park was full but very close parking which cost £10 from 4 o'clock to 10 the next morning .This was paid to the hotel who then issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingdom60
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always get great feedback on the breakfast and the staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Argyll Hotel again. Kind Regards...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We have been to the Argyll many times with our family as we visit Glasgow at least once a year. The hotel is comfortable and clean - a bit "lived in" but we quite like that as it doesn't have a corporate feel. It is always busy when we are there. There are actually two parts to the hotel -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JillyB186
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill Thank you for your positive comments on this feedback form and I wanted to personally respond and thank you. I appreciate your very kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Argyll Hotel. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed everything during your stay. Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Situation wise Argyll is favourably placed with museum, galleries, good eateries nearby,yet away from the hububs of busy market places if that's ones liking. Even the famous Glasgow university and the Queens Park railway station were not far off. Room was average. But the staff is immensely caring and helpful in all respects. One shall not regret in making a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanjay828
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

My colleague and I were on business trip in Glasgow for over a week and we were staying at a hotel in Saucihall street. We needed to extend a day so had to transfer to Argyll. Front reception was extremely rude and uncaring. She first said there was no rooms although my booking was confirmed n re confirmed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine K
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We booked rooms months in advance through Expedia, but somehow our reservation was compromised and we ended up with the two worst rooms in the Guest House. As a mature couple, my husband and I were awarded with an "upgrade": a double room with an extra single bed shoved in for storage. As a younger couple, my daughter and her...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan B
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

My mum booked this hotel from Canada, and based her choice on the Visit Scotland badge, and the photos that were available on the website. She booked the guest house, across the street from the hotel itself. On arrival we found the rooms to be small and seedy; they had obviously not been updated in many years. My parents were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emkathryn
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The room was comfortable for the three of us without crowding, and the breakfast was lovely in the dining room. Nothing terrible exciting, but good use of tartan plaid in the docor. I would go there again if in Glascow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb E
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015

I have stayed at this hotel many times and as always enjoyed my stay. Room was large and modern with first class shower. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Staff were friendly and helpful. I will have no hesitation in staying here again. Well done and keep up the good work.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jay186530

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
193 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,012 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
562 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
304 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sutherlands
Sutherlands
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: $76 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Egremont, United Kingdom

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 10!”
DTE-Sevilla, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best service, lovely design, scottish”
550marcod, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a front room...not at all noisy as we thought it maybe...”
ninabayer2016, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“103 is ground floor with a view of the bins, but as we spent little time here during daylight hours that wasn't a problem.”
ILoveMuseums, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floor 2 was nice and quiet”
chloes644, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5