We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glasgow Pond Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 113*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 113*
USD 113*
USD 114*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Glasgow Pond Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,036 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Pond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,000: English reviews
The Highlands
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We only stayed 1 night and chose it because it is only a 5 minute walk from Gartnavel hospital where my wife had an appointment. Staff were efficient and courteous and our room, although a big t small, was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Kettle, good size tv, free wi-fi, great shower and big comfy bed. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheHighlandsCrofter
Sharon D, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheHighlandsCrofter, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent stay with us. I trust all went well with your wife's hospital appointment. I am delighted to read that you found our amenities great, our staff efficient & courteous and our food tasty. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Not the prettiest of hotels from the outside but for the price it did the job well. Our room was well fitted out and clean. Breakfast was fine and you could have Haggis, omelette etc by request. Good location in a lovely part of the city

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy_w12345
Sharon D, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found our amenities clean and both our breakfast and location good. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Glasgow. Kind regards Sharon

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. Hotel was clean and tidy however when we arrived in to 1 of the rooms we noticed the window was broken and wouldn't close, we went to use the phone in the room to call reception but that was also broken! In the 2nd room the shower was very very difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatyWalsh92
Sharon D, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KatyWalsh92, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us following your recent stay at the Glasgow Pond Hotel. I was saddened to read your comments as this is not our usual standard of customer service and it is only with feedback such as yours we can maintain and improve our customer service and staff training. I...

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Recently attended a wedding at this venue and actually heard the staff mock the wedding openly. Can't even begin to word how rude this is and so disheartening. A wedding is a very special, personal day so of course everything isn't going to be to your style. But to pick away at it and discuss it between staff? Horrible. Do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MFThermo
Sharon D, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent visit. This type of feedback is highly unusual, therefore I would like to discuss your comments with you direct, please contact me on the hotel telephone number 0141-334-8161 or alternatively advise of a number and a suitable time for me to contact you....

Crieff
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We had to stay here whilst our daughter was in an adjacent hospital. The room was at tha rear of the property and overlooked the hospital car park which, apart from the odd emergency ambulance, did not disturb us. The room was clean although small but the tv had a superb picture (I think it was a Samsung.) However, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fraser B
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

If you don't expect to stay in a hotel and get any sleep then book here. If you don't mind being robbed of £144 for 2 nights without sleep then book here. What can I say other than truly the stay from hell. Now I have read other reviews I see this is an ongoing problem. Unfortunately I shared a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michelle G
Sharon D, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are a vibrant West End hotel, especially at weekends, which is part of what attracts many of our guests, however from time to time we do have inconsiderate guests, please accept my apologies on their behalf. Kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The main drawback is location - one way a view of the hospital morgue and concrete nightmare architecture, the other way a petrol station and major road. So, not exactly view from-a-roomable. However, check in is efficient and pleasant. Room is clean if a tad jaded and with enough space for two (not always the case). Bed is comfy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marksw3960
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

A very basic hotel....cleanliness was average, decor a little tired. But, the food in The restaurant for dinner was really unexpectedly really good! The curry and steak and pesto sandwiches were yummy, as was the leek and potatoes soup and Indian appetizers. Very close to naval hospital and a bit challenging to find if using gps to get here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommysmemere
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Very disappointing! Don't go there since very unprofessional. My room was double booked and at 1:00 am another person with luggage stood next to my bed. Couldn't fall asleep anymore. I was here for the Scottish Open and lost the next day badly after the night not sleeping. No compensation offered. Needed to go to police and handed it over...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Henryk S
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We moved up from Scotch corner to Glasgow on leg 2 of our journey to Bute. The hotel is one we were both familiar with as we only lived a few miles from it for a number of years. It is very handy for Glasgow's West end, Byres road and Ashton Lane only 20 minutes walk or £5.80 in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S S

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
413 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
251 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $110 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glasgow Pond Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Glasgow Pond Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The pond next door makes a lovely spot to walk around.”
694kimb, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are quite close together and are not entirely sound-proof so I imagine the top floor is probably the best to stay on.”
jor698, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Find a different hotel”
110henryks, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“One side faces Great Western Road, but we didn't hear any traffic noise”
jingscrivens717, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appear of same stature.”
Y7776YPwilliamh, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 113* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 113
Booking.comUSD 114
Hotwire.comUSD 113
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates