We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Show Prices
#27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,024: English reviews
Milton, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights. Breakfast was included. they serve eggs, sausage, beans, and the usual cereals and yogurt. I like that we can just eat breakfast at the hotel before heading out. Felt very safe as you need to swipe your room key to get in the building. Within walking distance to Central Station where we took Virgin train...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aries415
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Aries415, I would like to thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside. I am happy to read that our location was perfect for your walks around Glasgow and also for catching your train to London. It's great that all staff members were friendly towards you, we always strive to provide the...

Dorchester, UK
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

I chose this hotel, due to its central location and because I knew of it's reputation and having stayed at several other similar properties. I wasn't disappointed as it is as described. I had requested a quiet room on third floor, as advised on TA. My room was very quiet and comfortable, though I do think they could include bottled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim-Limbach
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Tim-Limbach, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am very pleased to read that the hotel lived up to your expectations and you were able to relax in one of our quieter rooms. I am glad you took advantage of our free WI-FI and continental breakfast. Thank...

Airth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Fantastic staff, so friendly & helpful, over & above call of duty, made our stay so relaxing & pleasurable, every member of staff was the same, approachable & lovely, rooms immaculate, breakfast (free) & delicious, cannot wait to return, night staff were just the same, enthusiastic, this is a hotel doing it right, their staff obviously enjoy their jobs &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise H
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Louise H Thank you for taking the time to leave your five star review regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and I have passed on your fantastic comments to the rest of the team who are thrilled....

Berwickshire
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We were directed incorrectly to the Holiday Inn and found it tricky to find a safe pedestrian route from there to the Express. If you find yourself at the Holiday Inn in error it is better to retrace your steps back to the airport terminal then find this Express hotel. However the hotel was fine, comfortable and spotless and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank borderwoman
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear borderwoman, Thank you for posting your review regarding to your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am delighted to read your nice comments about hotel being comfortable and spotless. That's great that you would come back and recommend us even if you had difficulties with finding our hotel. Thank you again Kind regards Karolina...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights and can't praise the hotel enough. Especially the staff. From start to finish all of the staff were superb. Friendly, helpful, chatty and made you feel welcome. The rooms were quite big, if not maybe in need of a touch-up.. some of the rooms looking a little bit dated. Potential for really nice rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Scott L Thank you for leaving your review regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I am delighted to read that you had a superb stay during your time with us and I have passed on your great comments to the rest of the team. I am also pleased to confirm that...

Reviewed 20 July 2015

although i would recommend this place to SOME people, its not because of the wonderful hotel room or the great breakfast they had. in fact, the hotel, other than the staff was very lacking. I haven't had much trouble with holiday inn express, in fact, i like holiday inn's of all kind, mostly because of the standard i know they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Matt H Thank you for leaving your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I was disappointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your standards, however we welcome all feedback from our guests as this is vital to our on going improvement and we are scheduled for a soft refurbishment in...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is definitely worth staying and great value for money! The rooms are basic but very clean the staff are very welcoming and always aim to please! The location is a five minute walk from the Buchanan shopping centre and only a few minutes walk from argyle street so the location is excellant! You have all the amenities at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead61
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Sinead61 Thank for taking the time to leave a great review on our hotel Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am delighted to hear that our hotel is definitely worth staying at and great value for money, I am also happy to hear that our staff were welcoming we always aim to please as we take great pride in...

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great city centre location. Typical Holiday Inn Express layout, but as usual, clean, bright and modern. Staff very friendly & welcoming. Ice machine is a great idea and enabled me to have an ice cold water at bedtime! Wish more hotels had this. Breakfast is the only thing that lets down Holiday Inn Express hotels. Hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Samantha J Thank you for your 4 star review on our hotel. I am happy to hear that you find our hotel to be in a great city centre location and that you found our staff to be very friendly and welcoming, I will so happy to pass on your great comments to all staff. I am also delighted...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

A fantastic hotel for a weekend in the city. Just a stone's throw from St Enoch Centre and Argyle Street. But still quiet at night. The hotel has a 24 hr bar perfect for a last one at the end of the night. Parking is accross the street and only £10 for 24 hours (you can beat that anywhere in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Braveliver
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Braveliver, Thank you for taking your time to post your fantastic review regarding to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am delighted to read that our staff make your weekend break perfect. That's great that you enjoyed city location which didn't affect your night sleep. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Despite a few nice touches (differing firmness of pillows, clever bathroom/toilet door system, free ice/microwave access), there were plenty of reminders that it's a pretty basic hotel. One tap was cosmetically damaged, the loo roll holder didn't quite work, the air con gurgled all night (despite being off) the cleaning staff walked in without knocking (and rehung a dirty towel)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank witsd
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear witsd Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and the room was clean and that you had a nice quiet peaceful stay. I am sorry to hear that you had a few problems during your stay also please accept my...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
3,048 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
926 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Price Range: $100 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher level for best views”
 of 5 bubbles NeilyOshawa, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a corner room as these are larger and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles KennedyClan2603, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms facing the river seem quite nice”
 of 5 bubbles billyww_13, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“high room to avoid traffic noise quite a busy area”
 of 5 bubbles 897mikeg, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that sleep 4 often cost the same as rooms for 2!”
 of 5 bubbles 178graemet, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5