We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

HIExpress.comUSD 97*
View Deal
#27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 116*
USD 97*
Great Deal
USD 98*
USD 98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,040: English reviews
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. From check in to check out, everything was first class. Staff were 100% professional and friendly. I even got food ordered by them to allow me to eat in my room. The room was spotlessly clean with everything I needed within. Breakfast was adequate for what I wanted. I used to stay at a different hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear David H, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I am thrilled to read such a positive review from your recent stay. We all take great pride in the customer service we deliver which helps ensure all our guests have the best possible experience here, therefor...

Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-lac, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A clean and modern hotel facing Glasgow riverside, with pubs nearby and an excellent Italian restaurant next door. The rooms are well equipped to the usual IHG high standard. The only problem is parking. However, the hotel does offer discounted parking fees at the nearby open air NCP parking area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Sandra C, Thank you for posting your review of The Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I am very happy to see you found our hotel clean, modern and well equipped. That's great to hear you found our location good and that you were able to explore the local bars and restaurants nearby. Thank you once again for...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a very good one night stay at this hotel. Check-in was quick and friendly and we got our room at 12.30 in the afternoon which was excellent. The hotel was a little walk from the centre of the city but you do benefit from peace and quiet and I heard no noise at night. Room decor was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed the room we chose for you and that our location was suited for your trip to Glasgow. I am also delighted to read that you took advantage of our breakfast...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located just off Argyle street so great for getting to shops, pubs, clubs. Staff were welcoming, friendly and with good humour. Room was clean, bed was comfy. Only slight niggle was that it smelled of men's deodorant the whole stay. Breakfast was good, staff amazing at coordinating and cleaning this area. Ice machine in hall was fab. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Safeguard
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Hi Safegaurd, Thank you very much for taken the time out to leave us fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the HIEX Glasgow Riverside. I am thrilled to read that you had a fab stay and found our great location handy for all the shops,pubs and clubs. All the staff take great pride and satisfaction in delivering...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff in this hotel were very friendly, polite and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent, well stocked up at all times and plenty of space to accommodate people even at busy times. The room was clean. However, I would recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel, we were positioned at the front and we were disturbed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE R
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Lynne R Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I am delighted to read that our staff were friendly, polite and welcoming during your stay with us I will pass on your nice comments to all. I am also pleased that you took advantage of our continental buffet breakfast which includes 4 hot...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a modern well appointed chain hotel of the usual design, nicely positioned almost next to the river and within easy walking distance of the City centre, Merchant City, venues and nightlife. It is opposite the Clutha Bar, site of the police helicopter tragedy in 2013. Parking is available at cost in the NCP a couple of minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frequenter-50
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Hi Frequenter-50 Thank you for taken the time out to review your recent stay with us a the HIEX Glasgow Riverside. I am thrilled to read that you found our fantastic City Centre Hotel central for all of your needs as as we are stones throw away from the Merchant City and all the local venues in the area. Its...

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here whilst working in the area, nice location in the town, ncp car park nearby. My room was clean and comfortable, staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ok in the morning. Definitely recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squawking44
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Squawking44. I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your 4 star review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am pleased to read that you found the hotels city centre location perfect for your visit to Glasgow and also that you took advantage of the hotels discounted agreement with...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed here on Friday night as we were having a night out in Glasgow. I deal location to enjoy Glasgow at its best. Excellent service from the two Gentlemen on reception, most helpful in check in and check out..credit to the company. Breakfast was ok. we will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotland1966
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Scotland1966, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I am thrilled to read such positive comments of your stay and that our location was just ideal for your plans in the city. That's great to hear you found our staff on reception...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. Room was clean, beds were comfortable and staff were very helpful. The staff assisted me in ordering carry out which was very nice. The room temperature was difficult to control. I was quite cold most nights. You could increase the temperature but once it reached that temp, it immediately re-set to the lower temperature. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonmel
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Moonmel, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel and staff to be great. It's also good to see that you took advantage of the breakfast we include with all of our rooms and also the hotels location was excellent for your visit to...

Scotland
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Having stayed here before. I decided to book again. Very disappointed! Rooms have been upgraded but to be honest they are not a great standard. Obv it was the cheapest in the area for a reason. Will stick to other hotels in future which is a shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hunca
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Hi Hunca, Thank you for taken the time out to review your recent stay with us at the HIEX Glasgow Riverside. I am saddened to read that you were disappointing with your recent stay with us. Our rooms were refurbished early last year in which we had new capets,fully decorated and painted rooms,new hairdryers and iron and iron boards put...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
3,139 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Price Range: $110 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room in the back on the third floor, and it was really nice and quiet.”
ccmatz, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Central location”
kennymcn, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the back, the front is way too noisy.”
LYNNER546, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher level for best views”
NeilyOshawa, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a corner room as these are larger and quieter”
KennedyClan2603, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
USD 97* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 98
Expedia.comUSD 98
HotelQuicklyUSD 116
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates