We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Acorn Hotel

Show Prices
#41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Acorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Acorn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2014

I arrived at this hotel with 3 other colleagues on a short business trip. We were given a warm welcome. We had 4 very good rooms, all the rooms were modern and comfortable my room had a very good bathroom and even had a TV in the shower. All of the rooms were quiet and we got a good nights...

Thank sparksDurham
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Stayed here with Mr W for a 1 night stay last Friday. Initially no vacancies were shown on hotel's own website but were available on Booking.com. Didn't want to book and then find out later there were no rooms available but a quick call to hotel and very helpful staff sorted it out. There is metered parking on the road...

Thank Woodpecker-47
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Price was doubled during the commonwealth games. But it's fair I understand all the hotels doubled the price in Glasgow. First day was Sunday and their cashier was broken. The reception girl was kind and called me to bring cash. However I didn't have that much money on me when I arrived at 9.30pm. So...

Thank CeciliaRR
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a problem with the bar downstairs during your stay. Normally they close at 11pm as stated by our Duty Manager, during the Games some of the pubs etc in Glasgow did stay open a bit later, however we do not like our guest's being disturbed after 11pm, the do not disturb sign on the staff...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I've been in Glasgow with work. We stayed at this hotel. Very nice and clean, good location, friendly staff. The only low side is that there was no drinking water in the room. Normally in hotel rooms there is a fresh bottled water. I had to drink a tap water which was really horrible, especially in the morning (left at...

Thank AnnRoseC
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay, we do not provide bottled water in the rooms as the tap water is some of the best in Scotland for drinking, if you let the tap run until the water is really cold it is lovely, any water left out in a glass over night will have a slightly stale...

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here whilst attending the Commonwealth Games. This is a good quality small hotel. The décor is good and the bedroom and bathroom were well decorated, clean and large. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the hydro and 15 to 20 minutes walk from Glasgow central station and a...

Thank Windywest
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Location is a plus, only ten minute walk from the centre, therefore slightly quieter than in the city centre. The hotel a little disappointing. Described as a 4 star boutique hotel,the room although clean had some negative aspects including a mark on the throw on the bed and the carpet quite soiled. We were also allocated a room (room 4...

1Thank ShereeSteve
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were misled by the 4 star rating, the hotel is 3 stars, as quite clearly stated on our website. We can only apologise for the soiled bed throw, this should have been picked up by our cleaning staff and on room checks by the Duty Manager. The carpet had been cleaned the day before you arrived...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We found the hotel's location to be good with easy access to Kelvingrove Park, not too noisy at night and a 20 minute walk found you in the CBD. The room was adequate, not a heap of space but had a good ensuite. Be aware that there are no lifts at the hotel so lugging suitcases up to the top...

Thank Julie S
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is the 1st time we stayed in The Acorn. We usually go for 4 star but were pleasantly surprised as this is a lovely wee hotel. The girl on reception was really nice, Louise I think her name was. She even serviced our room on our 1st day after the cleaner knocked our door four times on the Saturday...

1Thank Val A
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise if you felt that the housekeeper was over zealous, the person in question was relatively new and had not up until that point had any guest ask them to come back, she did eventually ask Louise what she should do and Louise informed her that she had to let you know that she finished at 1.30 and if...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good position for visiting the centre or the West End, entrance to Kelvingrove Park just down the road. Single room not over large, but nicely decorated, clean and a lovely modern bathroom. Bed comfy altho' pillows not too soft. For an old building the dividing walls seemed very thin and there was noise from the adjoining rooms which didn't aid...

Thank cambridge37
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having just arrived after an overnight flight, we really appreciated the attentive service of the front desk. The room was not large but adequate with a nice view. The place was clean, although the carpet in our room could do with an upgrade. Parking across the hotel seemed to be always available at around £4 per day. The hotel serves...

Thank IGF

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (44)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
View from Room (4)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (10)
Dining (3)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (14)
Dining (2)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
183 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
554 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
722 reviews
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
852 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $76 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Acorn Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Singapore, Singapore
6 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Acorn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the ground floor if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles AliAsad1110, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was on the second floor which the receptionist said was quiet. I had no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles jackiemS4244RD, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top rooms are beautifully quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BrownEyedGirl17, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles V8548CVnancyw, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book a room that is not above the bar belonging to the adjacent restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles sandalsinthesand, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5