We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brownlees Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Brownlees Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly hosts (and cat), excellent location just next to the coast, breakfast with fresh fruit salad, home-made jam - and, of course, a cooked part by order. Rooms are small, but cosy and clean, good internet reception.

Helpful?
Thank thecat_38789799
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The host was very welcoming and very amusing, room was smallish (though I had a double on my own so it wasn't small for me) but beautifully and imaginatively decorated. Not only was mineral water supplied - quite unusual for a b&b - but also a nightcap by the bed! Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and there was a wide... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast-Tiny rooms, but a lot of heart and soul in the food , service, and friendliness of the staff! Jackie is a great breakfast cook and Trevor will keep you entertained as much or as little as you like! There is even a little whiskey at the bedside if you need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Brownlees. We always try and make our guests feel welcome in our home. As a Victorian Town House, we have limited space compared to Large Hotels. However, the rooms may seem smaller, because of the size of our six foot six super king beds. More 

Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent location, food and owners are very friendly, knowledgeable and historical 😀 Trevor helped my son get on the Old Course right away! No wait!!! We were very lucky 🍀 it's been my son's dream to play this course and it's literally down the street!

Helpful?
Thank Sheilagaultgibilisco
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad I was able to help, I know what it means to our guests to get onto The Old. He had the full package "wind,rain and lots of fun, playing in the dark up the 18th" as I remember. More 

Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Clean rooms, breakfasts cooked to order for early tee times, parking available and plenty of good food and pubs nearby. Within a well-struck tee shot of the Royal & Ancient clubhouse so walking to the Old Course with golf bags is definitely a plus. Trevor and Jacqui top the list of accommodating hosts and they'll both give you tips on... More 

Helpful?
Thank dgamret
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

St. George, Bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We arrived via the red-eye way too early for check-in. Trevor and Jackie changed over the room ASAP and gave us some fresh fruit and coffee while we waited. I asked for ice, and Trevor went to a neighbor to get some for me: needless to say the service was extraordinary. The facilities were clean, the breakfasts were delicious and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LAPeniston
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

We always try to make everyone who stays with us at Brownlees feel at home, so we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and Pepsi. More 

White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Brownlee's was our first stop after arriving in Scotland and we were met warmly by Trevor and Jackie. Brownlee's has a great location. They are so close to The Old Course, shopping and restaurants. Trevor and Jackie are TERRIFIC hosts; very friendly and helpful with many great tips and fun stories. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie Q
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Pepsi is missing you all. More 

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Very friendly service, right in the middle of St Andrews with a free dram when you arrive!. Within walking distance of the golf courses and restaurants. Good breakfast. Car parking facilities outside the front door.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the stay. So pleased that you have survived the 36 holes a day trip, I am impressed. More 

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

4 golf friends spent 5 nights in this excellent guest house. The location is perfect, the owners are very friendly and service minded. Rooms are nice and clean and the tasteful breakfast is an excellent start before a round on a golf course. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank golf_fan_11
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

It is always nice to hear that we have left a good impression and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. How you all managed to play 36 holes a day is a fantastic achievement, something that you all should be proud. More 

Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Located steps from the Old Course and from the main shopping and dining area with free parking right outside, Brownlees looked ideal and lived up to expectations. Trevor and Jackie were impeccable hosts who offered us the use of foul weather gear for our rainy golf days and served us delicious breakfasts every morning. Pepsi the cat gave us lots... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie M
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

It was no trouble helping you with the rain suit, we always try and help when ever we can. Pepsi is still here and giving lots of hugs to everyone. More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Andrews
1,141 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
186 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#13 of 19 in St Andrews
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
354 reviews
0.1 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 19 in St Andrews
282 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Andrews
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Brownlees Guest House

Address: 7 Murray Place, St Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $133 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Brownlees Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brownlees Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Brownlees Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware the rooms are quite small, but set up efficiently, toast warm, and as we were on the uppermost level, it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccabB2993DS, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can't believe there's a bad one”
 of 5 bubbles dgamret, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“close to golf, beach, restaurant and shopping, great breakfast and hospitality”
 of 5 bubbles Snowhasl, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Every room has it's advantages.”
 of 5 bubbles BobB633, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“we used 2 rooms and both were excellent. There is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles wilhelmina3, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5