We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Expedia.comUSD 511*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 977*
USD 511*
USD 977*
USD 511*
USD 977*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,487: English reviews
Benidorm, Spain
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Booked for the 27th December for my husband as a Xmas gift as he hadn't stayed before. I have stayed a few times and had a great time from the spa to breakfast, unfortunately this time was not great at all, spa was, the usual standard which was first class, rooms great apart from they still use shower curtains and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackihig
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the spa, and the attention from our team here on the resort. I do very much appreciate your feedback on Breakfast in the Sands Grill being below the standard you have come to expect. When we open the Sands as an additional breakfast room, typically the service is very good....

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Arrived today and first impressions are that this hotel needs an overhaul. The hotel bedrooms are tired, with poorly maintained carpets, badly scored and dated furniture and an old fashioned bathroom with shower curtain over bath. Very poor value for money - I have paid half the price elsewhere for a much nicer room. The hotel is very busy but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank weegiewanderers
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for leaving feedback on this site. I am sorry you did not enjoy your Old Course Room and certainly take on board your comments about the condition therein. I can confirm we were fully booked last night, although one 3rd party room booking site showed that we had availability. At no point would we...

Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 December 2015

The settings are beautiful the hotel is very restful with a very pleasant accommodating staff.The hotel is the perfect place for your special occasions such as company meetings or family celebrations.The food is wholesome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review further to your visit with us. I hope you can stay with us again soon, when we will try even harder to provide a great service and experience. With my best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Reviewed 28 December 2015

Stayed as family for the Christmas period, superb food, great staff, wonderful room, nothing is too much from room service to the little extras that make the difference, I cannot wait until next year !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at such a special time of year. I was thrilled to read that your family had such an enjoyable time, and that we looked after you so well. We look forward to having you join us again in 2016. Happy Hogmanay! David Scott Director of Operations

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Overlooking the 17th hole of St Andrews this hotel is perfectly situated for both the Old Course and Town. Great pubs, restaurants and bars just minutes from the hotel make this location unbeatable. Hotel is expensive but you are paying for location. No issues my end and enjoyed my brief stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andyrockinghall
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving such positive feedback further to your time with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience on our resort and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us when in St Andrews. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in 2016. With my best wishes, David Scott Director Operations

Scotland
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We stayed here for a Christmas dance. Our whole experience was amazing, from the prosecco at check in, the wonderful staff who were friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite overlooking the 18th hole. The suite was huge and extremely comfortable. The food was delicious. I would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank baggissprincess
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us recently, and for leaving such great comments on your experiences. I was particularly happy to read that our team went out their way for you, and that nothing was too much trouble. Your recommendation of our hotel is greatly appreciated and I hope you will have the opportunity to join us again...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I arrived on a cold and windy day in St Andrews. We were warmly greeted and shown to reception. There we were told we had been given a free upgrade to our room - which was lovely! We also received free Prosecco at check in which I thought was a lovely touch. Our room was beautifully clean...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JoannaRobertson
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying with us and leaving such positive comment on this site. I was delighted to read that we looked after you well, you enjoyed the in-room movies and also the breakfast. Hopefully on your next visit, you can stay loner. Until then, best wishes and Merry Christmas. David Scott Director of Operations

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

My partner and I were in St Andrews for a short break. This was a special occasion and I had informed the hotel of this beforehand. On arrival we were greeted with a smile and told that we were upgraded. On arriving to the room my jaw dropped. We had been upgraded to one of the suites. It was just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barryire
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us when visiting St Andrews. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and I will be sure to share your comments with our team as they really do try hard to look after our guests, and to make the difference that you have expressed will really please them. Thank you also for you comment regards...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We stayed here last weekend for my 70th birthday and it was a real treat, we were given a glass of Prosceco as soon as we had arrived and were escorted to our room straight away even though we had arrived before check in time. Our room had a beautiful view overlooking the golf course and the sea. All amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing the Old Course Hotel for your 70th celebrations. I was very pleased to read that your stay with us was so memorable, and you enjoyed the views, staff service and the dinner in our Road Hole Restaurant. I hope you can join us again sometime in 2016. With my best wishes, David Scott Director...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Stayed recently for my birthday and found this to be one of the top hotels I have frequented. St Andrews is a magical place and this hotel adds to that experience. The staff were excellent. The room was clean and bright with every facility and the 'turn down' service much appreciated. Breakfast in the morning was luxurious with a fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Banker64
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for joining us, and for leaving feedback through this site. I was delighted to read that you had such a good experience with us, and that our team looked after you so well. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon. Merry Christmas. David Scott Director of Operations

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (446)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.7 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
3,015 reviews
2.1 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,105 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,244 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
660 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jigger Inn
The Jigger Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $420 - $1,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure that you are aware that their is building works at the rear of the hotel. If possible get a room with a sea view.”
Dolly052, 29 May 2017 | Read review
“Has to be Old course view”
FoxtrotUk, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“If possible any of the rooms that face the Old course.”
AlanE213, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Take the rooms on the first floor. The view is at breakfast time”
andre_verbeemen, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“We personally love the view over the Old Course where you can see the players struggling with the famous road hole.”
Rick23081947, 5 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 511* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 511
AMOMAUSD 977
TripAdvisorUSD 511
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates