We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,450: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our Christmas experience at the Old Course always begins with the Christmas party night when my husband and I travel down with our friends to meet up with our mutual group of chums and we always have a fantastic night. From the moment we arrive I feel like I'm at home and I find myself instantly relaxing in my favourite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Couldn't have been a better trip. Firstly upgraded to a suite which was massive! Extremely comfortable bed and excellent shower/ bath. We used all facilities, great spa, gym, bar and restaurant. Staff were excellent from start to finish. They make you feel like royalty. Views of the golf courses were amazing when having breakfast in the morning. Trying the plunge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess W
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jess W, For a guest to state they "couldn't have had a better trip", this is music to our ears. We constantly look to exceed guests expectations and so knowing that you left so happy is fantastic news. We re-open on April 13th, after some refurbishment and so we look forward to welcoming you back sometime after this date....

Berkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Old Course several times including over New Year 2015 and as we had such a great time last year we decided to spend 2016 New Year at the Hotel again. As ever our 4 night stay was faultless from the very beginning with the efficient and lovely reservationist Francessca right through to the day we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moirad
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Moirad, Many thanks for staying with us again and for the great comments on your experience. I was delighted to read that so many elements were so positive, and that some of our team really stood out for you. Thank you for highlighting them as they will truly appreciate your kind words. The Fireworks: I'm glad you enjoyed them...

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh you bet I would - went for their 3 day Christmas Break and had a really good time made even better by the fact that my husband was able to play the Old Course on Xmas Eve - thanks to Charlie the golf concierge - spa for me and long walks on a deserted beach in the sunshine -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rowy123456
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rowy123456, Many thanks for taking the time to leave comments after your stay with us. I was delighted to read about so many positive experiences you had during your time on our resort. Thanks also for the mention of our team looking after you. They regularly read comments on this site, and so they will be thrilled that their...

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this amazing hotel as part of our chilled out pre Christmas plans. Hotel is lovely and you are treated like Kings and Queens from the friendly and professional staff. Food is to die for and breakfast is one of the best we have ever eaten. Check out the rooftop hot tub but we didn't jump in as it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vince M
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Vince M, Many thanks for choosing to stay with us last month, and leaving such great feedback. I was delighted you had such a good time, the food was to your liking and that our team looked after you well. We are now closed for a soft refurbishment of 103 of our bedrooms and re-open on April 13th. We...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our favourite hotel in the world! We've stayed a few times on overnight breaks and again recently on 1st January which didn't disappoint (it never has). Glass of Prosecco on arrival, Staff are lovely and attentive. Our room was excellent. Spa, whilst really busy, was great. We cannot wait to see how everything pans out after the refurb...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ADouglasBoy
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ADouglasBoy, Many thanks for staying with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was thrilled that you had such a good time, our team looked after you well again, and that you had a chance to play The Duke's, a jewel in our crown. Thanks also for the personal commendation... it is greatly appreciated....

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night for a birthday celebration. Room was big and ok, although looking a little tired. Used leisure facilities twice which were excellent. Breakfast was also of a very high standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsPimmsy Z
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MrandMrsPimmsy Z, Thank you for staying with us, and for leaving comments on this site. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and you had fun visiting our Kohler Waters Spa. Regards your room looking a little tired, we are now closed for a refurbishment of over 100 of our regular bedrooms, and so when you return...

Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Old Course Hotel is a bit of a favourite of ours. Lovely rooms. Breakfast is great and the Road Hole restaurant is good; however I do not at all recommend the Sands restaurant. We've had one too many poor experiences there. If I'm honest, the food right across the board is the weak link if there is one. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Kendoll
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Capt_Kendoll, Many thanks for your most constructive feedback, further to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to report that we have recently appointed a highly experienced Director of Food & Beverage, and so I'm confident that on your next visit with us, you should see a noticeable difference in our food offering. Regarding your point on investment,...

Angus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was taken here as a birthday surprise and the Old Course Hotel staff could not have been more attentive. From the extra sweets in the room to the birthday cupcake from the bar staff overlooking the 17th it was a great experience. I stay in a lot of hotels with work so I'm not usually fussed but I thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon D
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Simon D, Thank you very much for taking time to leave your feedback further to your stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your time with us and that our team went the extra mile to make your birthday that little bit more memorable. We look forward to having you back with us again when next in St...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was so excited to stay at the old course but I have left disappointed! When we checked in, on Hogmanay we got offered a glass of prosecco which was nice & our room was a good size, dated (but I know a refurb is underway) with a view of scaffolding & the car park. - £270 was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gemsl87
OldCourseHotel, Director of Operations at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gemsl87, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is always sad when a guest leaves our resort having not had their expectations met. I am very sorry that the meal and service in our Sands Grill was not 100%, however I'm pleased that our team reacted quickly to the issues of food quality by reducing your...

472 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (429)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.6 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,838 reviews
0.5 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
1,176 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,056 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#12 of 18 in St Andrews
632 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jigger Inn
The Jigger Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $452 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is worth paying extra for room facing the golf course/sea and the suites are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles Moirad, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View of golf course and sea is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles Rowy123456, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Save money in winter by not going for the golf course view as the 4th floor bar has the best views anyway!”
 of 5 bubbles 915simond, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a non-course view as you have plenty of opportunity to see this view from other parts of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Dora007, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A view over the old course”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay