We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Russell Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Russell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Start your review of Russell Hotel
 Click to rate
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just completed a most enjoyable 5 night stay at the Russell Hotel with 5 golfing buddies. The staff were absolutely outstanding & we left feeling like family. The location is terrific & small details like handling our laundry requests together w/wonderful food and a room a view, all added up to a most memorable stay. When bk in St. Andrews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has a great location looking out to the bay and the West Sands and 100 yards from the R&A. The staff related to their guests well and the visit was enjoyable, if brief. I think there is a program of refurbishment ongoing which is welcome as the bedroom furniture is dated. So location excellent, ditto ambience, but in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian m
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't think I have visited the town without a pleasurable visit to The Russell. Good food in the bar and restaurant with helpful staff. Good choice of draft beers always available.Just a stroll from all the activity of this great town without the 'extra' fuss that is sometimes thrust upon you. Super address too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
Russell H, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan E, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. We are delighted to hear that you return to us during your trips to St. Andrews, and that you are never disappointed. We do hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for one night at the end of a golf tour. I was made very welcome in this very traditional family hotel. My room was perfectly adequate with everything needed for a comfortable stay. I had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. the breakfast too was very good. I most certainly would return if in the area..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
Russell H, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevor R, Thank you for your review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we do hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely lunch in a lovely hotel. The food was wonderful and the staff were fantastic. We were served by Michael who was really friendly and very efficient. We went with an Itison voucher and upgraded our food at a very reasonable cost. Will definitely visit again in the summer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allysmum2014
Russell H, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear allysmum2014, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a group of 4 people/golfers with a 7pm reservation on a Thursday night and we received EXCELLENT food and service. Our staff was led by Helen who was expert in her role. The bar manager and bar tender were outstanding as well. This is my second time in the last 4 years and both experiences were exceptional!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeff B
Russell H, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jeff B, Thank you so much for your very wonderful review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. We are absolutely delighted to read such a wonderful review regarding our food and staff at the hotel, and I will make sure that all your comments are passed onto our teams. We do hope to see you again soon, maybe in...

dundee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped across to you today for a steak lunch. Just lovely tasty food, cranachan perfect combination of tastes, great service and staff wonderful. Looking forward to coming back again. Book early to get a table.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica R
Russell H, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erica R, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews! We are absolutely delighted to read that you had an enjoyable meal with us and we do hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Great location, Excellent food and bar, Service first class and very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable although some not the biggest in the world (which is the norm for many of the hotels in St Andrews), 2 minutes walk to the first tee of the Old Course and plenty of parking close by. Perfect

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rrmdivers
Russell H, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rrmdivers, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. We are delighted to read that your had an enjoyable golfing trip in St. Andrews and you took some memorable golf shots home with you. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

Nantwich
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Hotel is in excellent location for playing the courses within St Andrews. Staff were extremely friendly and the hotel very clean. We ate in the restaurant for two nights and the quality of the food was very good. The only downside was the room we were allocated - I assume a "Wee Classic" which was not spacious at all. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NantwichBuzzer
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed last week as a group of 10 golfers.location is perfect for the town courses all within walking distance, Rooms not spacious but good facilities, food excellent, management and staff were a delight and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended for a Memorable St Andrews visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
Russell H, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike F, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our wonderful team looked after your group of golfers. We do hope to see you again soon! Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
463 reviews
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,241 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
297 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
345 reviews
4.9 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant at The Russell
Restaurant at The Russell
Cuisines: British, Scottish, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $209 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russell Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Russell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing rooms are clearly the best for views”
brianm934, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Just enjoyed eating but not tried for overnight.”
AlanE213, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“opt for sea view rooms at the front of the hotel for excellent views over St Andrews bay and larger rooms.”
rrmdivers, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check which floor room will be situated on”
NantwichBuzzer, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the bay”
katienairn, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5