We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 616: English reviews
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has a great position and if you get a front facing room you will have a beautiful view of the water and the Old Course. The room was large and very clean and tidy. The staff were all very pleasant. The hotel is quite at night and no external noise. The food in the Grill was brilliant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dougall1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous views of the sea and the lovely building which houses the Royal and Ancient Golf Club. Front facing bedrooms have the same view but I had a room at the back which overlooks the hotel garden and the rear of various other buildings. Nice sized room though with large bathroom. Hotel was clean and well presented albeit a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HelenMc1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A breathtaking location, I headed out on a morning run from the hotel which brought the sight of dramatic, crashing waves, rock pools, the famous Old Course, war memorial and ruined castle and cathedral. St. Andrews is small so you are never far from anywhere but the hotel is in the perfect spot. Inside, it's pretty standard and not cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoehmBawerk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely location. Friendly staff. We had a beautiful room overlooking the sea. It was clean and spacious. Wonderful breakfast to start the day before exploring the wonderful local area. We look forward to staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa D
wiltshire
Reviewed 3 November 2016

First the positives - the views from the front of the hotel are stunning, and the service was friendly. Now the rest - our trip was a disaster from start to finish. We were travelling with our teenage son so booked a junior suite with a double room and an extra bed. On arriving found we'd been allocated 2 twin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GreenMabel
Essex, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 November 2016

For a golfer it is a perfect location, 150 yards from the first tee on the Old Course. Book a room with a view of the beach and the sea. There are plenty of restaurants within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is somewhat worn and tired, but we thought it had character and we enjoyed our 3 night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vbulpbul
bwscoresstandrewsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vbulpbul Thank you for your recent review via tripadvisor, I agree that certain aspects of our building is tired and worn which we are in the process of rectifying. Being an old Victorian building remedial works are a continual process as it is our aim to continually improve the overall product whilst retaining its character. Regards Marc A Adams...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Looking at some of the other reviews for this hotel, I'm somewhat surprised since we had such a good experience here. Our large and comfortable room was on the 3rd floor and looked out on the "Chariots of Fire" beach and the back of the R&A clubhouse, just a few steps away from the Old Course. The staff treated us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank totandem89
bwscoresstandrewsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review

Dear totandem89 Thank you for your recent review via tripadvisor, thank you for such a wonderful review. I will certainly share your feedback with the team as such positive comments always help with team positivity. Regards Marc A Adams Regional General Manager gm@scoreshotel.co.uk

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my partner, Our room was lovely but service let it down. Considering what we paid for one night and the service we received was very disappointing. Dinner was poor and the breakfast wasn't much better. Probably won't return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emily L
bwscoresstandrewsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily L Thank you for your recent review via tripadvisor, please accept my apologies that the service levels were bell below the standard I expect for our guests and for this there is no excuse, once again please accept my apologies. Regards Marc A Adams Regional General Manager gm@scoreshotel.co.uk

Bedlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This hotel is in an excellent location. The view is wonderful. However there has to be a time when you can't just rely on the view. The hotel is very tired and dated. Needs complete refurbishment. The rooms aren't sound proofed. I could have had a conversation with the gentlemen next door in the bathroom. The rooms were freezing and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirsty7046
bwscoresstandrewsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty7046 Thank you for your recent review via tripadvisor, the service levels you have received are clearly well below the standard we expect for our guests. Contrary to belief we do not sit back and rely on our location, we do in fact have a rolling program of refurbishment in place this year as we are fully aware of...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Looking a bit jaded we thought. Dirty coffee cups in the room, only one bath towel, but the room was large and very comfortable. Service 'OK'. Very convenient for the old course and the hotel was very accommodating over leaving luggage etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaguar164
bwscoresstandrewsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jaguar164 Thank you for your recent review via tripadvisor, please accept my apologies that the service levels you experienced were well below our agreed standards, corrective action is being put into place to rectify this. Regards Marc A Adams Regional General Manager gm@scoreshotel.co.uk

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Andrews
1,143 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#8 of 19 in St Andrews
355 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Andrews
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
2,782 reviews
2.6 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 19 in St Andrews
1,035 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Address: 76 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $142 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
San Antonio, Texas, United States
over a year ago
Glassboro, New Jersey

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a front facing room to get beautiful views.”
 of 5 bubbles dougall1, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view preferred!”
 of 5 bubbles vbulpbul, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel has a lot of stairs, but there is an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles totandem89, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the beach!”
 of 5 bubbles Tomster5, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the water!”
 of 5 bubbles 245jerrys, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay