We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rufflets Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,099 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,086: English reviews
Start your review of Rufflets Hotel
 Click to rate
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A short holiday in St Andrews visiting our student daughter. We didnt know what to expect having been disappointed in the past with good reviews on TripAdvisor. We need not have worried - Ruffletts is a gorgeous country hotel with amazingly well tended gardens. We stayed in Room 24. Very tasteful decor and the shortbread and fresh milk was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pantlings
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Rufflets is a beautiful Country House Hotel, just a mile and a half from St Andrews. We had a really lovely room which was more like a suite really - the room decor was very nice, with two comfortable armchairs and the king size bed particularly comfortable. The en suite bathroom was very spacious and cosy with Molton Brown toiletries....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
About Hotel's Favourite Review
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen As always we are very much reassured to read when our guests have had such a great time with us at Rufflets. I suppose that at the end of the day, the great experiences that we see being described on this site is really what is expected of hotels in this day and age. We do work hard...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed a couple of nights to celebrate our anniversary as has become our norm. Once again everything was excellent. The service and the food was superb as usual. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin14750
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a lovely overnight at the recently refurbished Rufflets near St Andrews. I've often promised myself a stay at this "country house" venue and am now delighted to have done so. The room was lovely , recently decorated to a very high standard , all facilities including a very well appointed en suite with huge bath a mega...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray W
scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've eaten lunch here many times with friends and family and never had any issues. This time we stayed the night. There is an air of fear from the staff that makes them mechanical in their actions, not a personality amongst them. Perhaps being a family run hotel the management are strict on any employee who may challenge their way....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimmy_stokes
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jimmy_stokes Many thanks for the (slightly odd) feedback - as always we do read and listen to all comments, and often reply, as you can see from other reviews. So you clearly don't like the decor in the hotel - some do and some don't - and whilst we do try, we cannot please everyone. Although I don't undertand...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

An attractive country house hotel with lovely, well tended, grounds. Public spaces, bar, lounges and dining room; comfortable and spacious. Staff efficient and helpful. Mostly 3/4 star rather than 4 star! Let down, in the dining room, by an unexciting, poorly cooked menu. Double beds are fine, singles are quite small. Bathrooms are excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank De-novo
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in late march and were blessed by wonderful weather. The hotel harks back to days gone by with great decor, friendly and very helpful staff and an aura of the 1920's 30's where nothing was too much trouble. We were however rather disappointed with the food offering which, to our tastes and palettes, was under...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flyingtame
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the feedback - glad that we were able to arrange the weather for your stay!! It appears that for the most part, the visit was a very good one, and we welcome the recommendation. However, I was concerned to read the notes on the quality of the food. We do very much appreciate the comments (this is...

Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We try to stay here at least once per year and it never fails to impress. From the warm welcome to the fond farewell, the staff make it a memorable experience. The food and service in restaurant (breakfast and dinner) combine to make dining a pleasure. We pushed the boat out on our first night and ordered the Chateaubriand -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryC23
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback - always appreciated. And I was glad to be able to sort out the wee issue quickly so that you were both able to enjoy the stay (as you always do) with us at Rufflets. Gavin has some new gins coming into the bar so you will be able to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a Xmas present from our son and daughter-in-law. Everything from Check-in to Check-out was impeccable. Attention to detail was impressive. Our room (30) was huge with two armchairs and a couch. The bathroom had both a bath and a walk in shower. Despite all the furniture there was plenty of walk around space. The food was tasteful, plentiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 150kennethr
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear that the Christmas present was such a success - you never know - they might repeat it! Really appreciate the very kind comments - Room 30 has had a refurb in the last year (something that we are doing on a rolling programme to keep them all good and fresh), but it is reassuring to read that...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, me and our wee dog had a really relaxing couple of nights at this lovely country house hotel. Our Christmas gift to each other was a great success, one we would hope to repeat. On arrival wee dog received her welcome pack which contained treats, poo bags and lots of helpful local information. We stayed in the Rufflets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Star007551
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the time taken in leaving your thoughts after your recent stay - it is always good to see when our guests (including the four-legged ones) have been able to have such a good time with us. Glad to see how much you enjoyed the Terrace Restaurant as well - and very much appreciate the recommendation. With my...

487 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (302)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (20)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Suite (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
6.9 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,976 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
447 reviews
2.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
280 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
3.0 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $236 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rufflets Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Livonia, Michigan
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rufflets Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room which overlooks the gardens.”
Martin14750, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Classic rooms are great, but clearly upgrade to suite standard worth the extra”
GerryC23, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room was large and spacious, bathrooms exceptional”
margaretPerthshire, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the beautiful grounds have the best view, the hotel enjoys the afternoon sunshine”
Cestosh, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the gardens are lovely and room 33 is fab!!”
daisy18, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5