We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,186: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
 Click to rate
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights B&B at the beginning of March not on a cheap deal. The first room we were given was dark,gloomy and black mould in the bathroom. The front desk were less than helpful however thanks to the porter who checked out the condition of the bathroom moved us to a far superior room. This was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritadayer
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived for a 2 night stay booked by our family for my husband's birthday treat. We were welcomed by very friendly staff who gave birthday wishes and free room upgrade. We entered the Bobby Jones suite to be bowled over by the wonderful spaciousness, sheer luxury and breathtaking views! The suite was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camusban7
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the negative reviews. In a great location in the centre of town and overlooking the beach and golf course. All staff very helpful and the food was lovely. Parking available if you don't arrive too late

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljmainsy2
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel before with the only problem encountered being parking in the residents car park. This was again an issue but nothing compared to the disturbed night we had due to a constant drone coming from the ventilation system directly outside our bedroom window. Avoid Room 20 - "The Auchterlonnie " at all costs as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith R
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is awful. The rooms are small and hot. The staff is rude . I called the front desk to ask if there was anything I could do to cool the temperature in the room. The answer was no. The windows only open a few inches. Our first room had a broken lock (see photo ). I am traveling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itravel2run
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, good staff. Renovations required. The Hotel is tired and needs money spent on it. The rooms are small and more like a B & B type accomodation than a top hotel. Rocca restaurant was very good but expensive. Breakfast okay but a cheek to charge s surcharge for certain cooked items.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul J
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for your recent review. I am glad to read you found the location great and the staff good during your stay We do plan to fully refurbish the hotel in conjunction with the planned extension. A tip for next time would be to book one of our already refurbished Executive or feature rooms. Thank you once again...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an Itison voucher deal which consisted of 2 nights bed and breakfast, dinner on the first night and a cream tea for £219 with a £20 supplement for a Saturday night. It was our second stay at the Rusacks and on both occasions, it was a fantastic experience. The room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped even with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilma307
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Wilma for your 5 star review! I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay and Kerry will be over the moon about her mention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this in December 2016 for husband's 60th birthday and told them this in booking. Although we booked a classic room and did not expect this to be spectacular to say we were disappointed was an understatement. We arrived about noon and our booking said check-in was 2pm, however on arrival was informed by receptionist that this had now been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oliviaScotland
Kelty, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this lovely hotel about four or five times and really enjoyed it. This stay was equally lovely. The rooms are well decorated and lovely and clean. The comfiest beds and pillows ever! We almost missed breakfast as we slept like logs. Breakfast lovely, all cooked fresh to order. Staff are great, we felt very well looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fifefoodie k
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent 5 star review. It is great to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the room and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check-in was disappointing. I had booked our three-night stay the previous October and thought that I had added to my booking one dinner at £50 – and that I had earned a £10 voucher for having booked online. On check-in, I was not advised about the ten pounds voucher, until I asked about it. When I asked about the fifty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter3101
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter, for such a detailed review. I am sorry confusion with your booking did not get your stay with us off to the best start. I am glad to see you overall enjoyed your stay on the second and third day with things back on track. As always such feedback allows us to look at areas to improve...

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.2 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,928 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
422 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,088 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
261 reviews
0.7 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $196 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the shore side are the only ones with a view. Do not accept room at the traffic lights on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles oliviaScotland, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Facing the sea/golf course”
 of 5 bubbles Peter3101, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles lcam2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 318 Lovely back facing , very quiet , looks on to Old Course , and West Bay”
 of 5 bubbles 942hamishs, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the supplement of £20 per night for a view of the golf course was not worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles harrymack19, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5