We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,174: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Main entrance tired and dated. Room small and cold, but clean. No atmosphere at breakfast. 2nd morning better, as got window seat. Dinner average. Cream tea ( part of the offer) had spray cream, NOT clotted, as on menu- disappointing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcam2016
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had to visit St Andrews on short notice for business and was pleased there was still availability at the Rusacks having stayed previously. There was plenty of parking on site and I received a warm welcome upon check in. My room was spacious and tastefully finished, I also had a wonderful view across the course. The bar seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank griff81
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely old Hotel , very comfortable room , refurbished ,spotless, looking direct on to Old Course , found all staff to be friendly and helpfull , eating in was a pleasant experience , Breakfast was delightful , Staff very efficient and friendly ,all in all a memorable 2 days for all the right reasons , many thanks ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamish S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights at the Rusacks hotel on an Itison deal with Friends, on check-in we were met with a bit of an issue as I did not have the codes for the vouchers, even though I had given these codes at time of booking, the receptionist, was OK about it, but lets say she was not over helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harrymack19
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Harry for your recent review, I am glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry Check In was not seamless without your voucher or booking code but glad we helped get it sorted eventually. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited for 1 night on an itison voucher which was really good value for money. It was a cold and windy day so we enjoyed the afternoon in the bar with a cream tea which was ok and drinks which were on the expensive side. The bar is comfortable with lovely sea views. We had dinner in the more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurastarAberdeen
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Laura, for your recent review. I am so glad you found us value for money and the food delicious. We do have rooms with amazing views which can either be pre-booked or upgraded to at check in We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Bahrain
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A poor stay a dated room and overall ambience was dated. A very small room which was adequate at best. Drinks in the bar were extensive but the bar staff had very limited knowledge on mixers and finishing touches. Breakfast was very slow and the lipstick on the coffee cup seemed to amuse the waitress. Very disappointing stay average at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebnab
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review Sebnab, I am sorry you only found your stay average and had an issue with lip stick on your coffee cup. We will be looking into your comments to address as a a matter of urgency as we take all guest feedback very seriously. Thank you for your comments. Kristian Campbell

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had one night here in the Dunhill room. The room was huge with a bay window overlooking the golf course and the beach. Fantastic views to wake up to. The beds were large and comfy. When we arrived we had afternoon tea which was lovely. The hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel was one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allyballyp
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Allybally for your recent 5 star review! I am so glad to see you enjoyed room 125 with its amazing views. Hopefully you can stay longer next time.. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our booking at Rusacks Hotel was something we looked forward to, as we find the town of St Andrews very pleasant and have been there on day visits many times over the past 10 years. I would like to say that everything about our stay was perfect, unfortunately that was not the case because of our (and not only our!)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review James, I am sorry to see the busy breakfast service spoilt your stay with us. We do experience a high demand for breakfast from 9.30am on wards and try a recommend an earlier time for a more relaxing breakfast during Sunday mornings especially. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed on Feb 12th. The hotel was chaotic from the moment we arrived. Check in time had been changed from 2pm to 3pm but we weren't informed of this change prior to our arrival. Both reception staff seemed distracted and unwelcoming. They apologised for the inconvenience but told us they had 60 rooms to turn over this day. Excuses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review Alex, I would love the opportunity to discuss all your comments in more detail if you would like to make contact at the hotel? Warm regards Kristian Campbell

Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed, two nights in Feb.On arriving we stood at the out side door for a good five minutes after we rang the bell before a member of staff let us in.At reception we asked about parking and were told the car park was full to park on the street or a car park some distance away.The receptionist on duty wasent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joansinclair4
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review Joan, I am sorry you were unable to access our limited Car park which we operate a first come basis. On a positive I am glad to see you enjoyed both our One Under Gastro Pub and Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

327 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.2 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,896 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
405 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,074 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
247 reviews
0.7 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $191 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles lcam2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 318 Lovely back facing , very quiet , looks on to Old Course , and West Bay”
 of 5 bubbles 942hamishs, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the supplement of £20 per night for a view of the golf course was not worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles harrymack19, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay a bit more for rooms overlooking the golf course it's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Allyballyp, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Golf and beach views”
 of 5 bubbles Ludgates, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5