We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Inn St Andrews

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Inn St Andrews
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The New Inn St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We stayed in a very large room with 3 single beds for 3 adults. There was plenty of room for all of our luggage. I believe there was even a cot in our room, but we didn't look at it. It is within walking distance to the town center, but we took a cab due to the weather. The bartender...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelFrugalButOften
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Inn could benefit from a refurbishment, if you are accommodated in the room titled "New Inn" I would suggest putting the radiator off in the bathroom before retiring, it makes an annoying noise and I only discovered it was the radiator on our second night. Breakfast was served by Dawn who was lovely, very helpful and friendly. We had an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EnaWeb
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the New Inn. We are sorry you were disappointed by you stay, The bar is indeed due for a refurbishment and we hope that this will be done in April of this year just waiting on confirmation. We explained fully about the misunderstanding of the payment that instead of a preauthorisation a...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Good to visit friends in St. Andrews, - proximity to high street and the boarding house is excellent. - Pub on ground floor - good service ! - Very kind staff - always providing very good service. - Liked the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WORLDTRAVELLER192013
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Just back from a very enjoyable 2 night break over new year. The staff in the hotel are amazing, very friendly and nothing is a bother. The rooms were clean and cosy and the breakfast menu very varied. We had a very enjoyable stay and would have no hesitation in going back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhoda A
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

thanks so much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The New Inn

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

It was only after visiting I spoke to a number a regular who informed me the New Inn has recently changed hands and a number of changes have been made meaning a lot of the other reviews are now irrelevant. Most strikingly is the change of menu, I ate there on a previous visit and found it to be fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stella_M992
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

I would like to clarify that The New Inn has not changed hands. The same person ( myself) has owned The New Inn since 2009. What has changed is the chef so whilst it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your meal I can assure you the macaroni does not come out a tin ! I will...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Having booked after reading the reassuringly good reviews on this site, and given that the rates are more than budget cost, I had expected more. In fact, this was possibly the worst night's sleep I have ever paid for! Our room (Kinkell) was directly above the pool table and we were therefore kept awake until 1am, listening to the jukebox...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahc39
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although its not the great news for us. During the winter the bar closes at 12 on Saturday however we had a couple of folks who were proving difficult to move on, Sadly its difficiult to legislate for the behaviour of others. So this led to noise going on later than we wished. We have...

Scotland
Reviewed 15 November 2015

A group of us booked this friendly cosy hotel for a University reunion weekend. We had a great time, the owner Heidi and all the staff could not have been more helpful. They bent over backwards to make sure we were fed and watered. They are a great team. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we slept very well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunterboy69
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, We really enjoyed having your group at The New Inn and look forward to welcoming you back next time the reunion hits St Andrews.

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

Situated at opposite end of village from bus station. Good food and atmosphere in the bar. Music provided by an X factor star. Fair size room facing the street. Drinks reasonably priced and good selection.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roosmith
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the New Inn. We hope to welcome you back to The New Inn some time soon. Jade Richards was the former X factor contestant singing in the bar, she will be back on 28th November

Newport Beach
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

We booked sort of last-minute and the reviews online looked good! We originally thought we would stay for two nights and enjoy the environs of Saint Andrews. The room was so dirty and clearly had not had a thorough cleaning in years! My garage floor is cleaner than any surface in that accommodation! The rate includes breakfast which we paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra F
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the New Inn. For such a massive issue with your room I would really have appreciated you taking the time to speak to me The Owner, I am in fact a woman, perhaps you were too busy rushing out the door to notice. Whilst in your opinion our bedrooms are dirty I...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We were delighted with this find. Just a short walk from the St Andrews town centre we stopped here for dinner. One of the main attractions for us was it was pet friendly so our best pal could join us. Have to say the welcome was exceptional and the dog in particular was made to feel very welcome with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnyrigger

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
1.4 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
280 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
0.9 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
192 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
448 reviews
8.4 km away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Inn is a lively local with five contemporary en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have free wifi access, refreshment tray and free view TV. We offer a good selection of home made meals using local produce. A warm welcome is guaranteed at this ideal affordable base for exploring St Andrews. Walking distance to town centre and centrally located for many golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The New Inn St Andrews

Address: 23 St. Mary Street, St Andrews KY16 8AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $177 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The New Inn St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
The New Inn St Andrews Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn St Andrews staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view.”
350grahamh, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Can't really comment on the other rooms but the family room at the back of the inn is certainly very quiet and an undisturbed night”
Victoria3744, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“If possible choose room not directly above the fine bar, otherwise you'll be fine”
498matsb, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Spacious,airy room on ground floor, not great view though.”
jakki26, 28 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Bay Room if you want quietness. If your arriving in the hotel after a night out then this doesent matter.”
955ewanw, 5 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5