We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunedin

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed 6 May 2015

This was our first visit to Dunedin, having stayed at other hotels in Kirkcaldy in the past. We sent four nights here. A lovely room facing south. Very comfortable bed, power shower in the bathroom. We had our own key for the front door and could come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was a leisurely affair with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Yvonne and Les D, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Mike D Many thanks for your review and we're so glad you intend staying with us again when you next visit Kirkcaldy. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Yvonne & Les

Banbury
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a week in Kirkcaldy and stayed at The Dunedin. We were made very welcome by Yvonne and Les who who recommended places to eat and places to visit. Great decor, Central location and fabulous breakfasts. Would highly recommend. Will definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thehatlady2014
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear thehatlady2014, Thank you so much for you review of Dunedin. We have always been very fortunate that our guests post overwhelmingly positive reviews here and we truly appreciate each and every one of them. We're so glad you enjoyed your week with us and hope you'll consider another visit to Fife soon Haste ye back! Yvonne & Les

Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

Needing to stay in Kirkcaldy on business, I really couldn't have made a better choice. Dunedin has a wonderful feel about it, and from parking up in the private car park and entering through the large and solid outer doors, I knew it was my kinda place. The room was large, with seating and a very comfy bed. A nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dombott
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Dombott, Thank you so much for your review of Dunedin - we have it proved to us time after time that doing things "on the cheap" as you put it, definitely doesn't pay, and astute guests such as yourself will always notice when they are. Sorry if you felt the cereals might have been a little stale (and no,...

Maarssen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I've been thinking about this review. Dunedin House is a very good B&B on a good central location in Kirkcaldy. There are a lot of positive things to say about this house (the location, nice restaurants nearby, spacious room, nice shower, three choices for breakfast, private parking, walking distance to the station for visiting Edinburgh, close to Fife Coastal Path)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonnie2403
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Sonnie2403, Many thanks for your overwhelmingly positive review of Dunedin. I do feel that some of the less positive aspects of your review would not be an issue had you looked at our website - yes, we are on a road but this is not busy main road and we are set back from that road by over 15metres...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My step-daughter and I were exploring historic properties in Fife and stayed in this lovely guest house. There is parking in the front which is rare to find. Warm welcome from Yvonne, who showed us to a large and airy room which was beautifully decorated. The recommendation for a restaurant was greatly appreciated (a short walk away), the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Julie T, Thank you for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope your next visit to Fife will be a little longer. Haste ye back! Yvonne & Les

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Looked for a decent hotel on the web in Kirkcaldy, but all looked off putting, and mostly 20 years overdue a makeover, so went for a good B&B option, for an overnight stay whilst walking the excellent Fife Coastal Path. Glad we did, as Dunedin was well up to 4 star hotel standard. Large, clean, well furnished room, attractive old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear SteveF, Many thanks for your kind comments, We always try to make Dunedin a place WE would want yo stay in if we were visiting the area and the fact that you enjoyed the room and your breakfast confirms we seem to be doing (at least) something right!!!! We hope you will stay with us again soon and promise...

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Yvonne & Les made us so welcome we stayed an extra night, they are well situated with great local knowledge about trains and how to catch them gave us so much confidence, as we live in NZ in the country, where there are no trains it was fantastic. The rooms are big and beautiful as is the breakfast. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 666Peg
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear 666Peg, Many thanks for your review of Dunedin. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our advice helpful. We are fortunate in receiving overwhelmingly positive reviews on TripAdvisor and this always helps us gauge what we're doing right and what we're doing wrong. We hope you'll visit us again when you return to Scotland. Best regards...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This guest house deserves the best review. The minute you get in the front door you know you are somewhere that will not disappoint. Lovely clean room & super breakfast. We would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear JenniferP, Thank you so much for your positive review of Dunedin. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you return again soon. Best regards Les & Yvonne

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and a colleague stayed here on Monday night and we were very pleasantly surprised as to how beautiful the house was. Our rooms were comfortably furnished and very large and the bathrooms were clean and we loved the underfloor heating. We were made very welcome by the owners and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were delicious. As good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous561951
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Anonymous561951, Thak you so much for your very kind review of Dunedin. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast lived up to your expectation. You're right about the underfloor heating - it's a luxury when you're not used to it - but a necessity when you are! We look forward to seeing you...

Sheffield
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The room and the rest of the B&B were excellent. I had stayed a few years before with my wife but was alone this timebut I was still treated with a lovely welcome. Breakkfast was brilliant, everything you could ask for. I asked about local restaurants and was given an Indian restauarant which proved to be as good as recommended....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank den54wort
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear den54wort, Thank you so much for your review and we're delighted you feel you were treated like family - that is our intention. We'll do our best to live up to your review when we see you next. Best regards Yvonne & Les

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkcaldy hotels
0.7 km away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
247 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
182 reviews
4.0 km away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
37 reviews
0.9 km away
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
61 reviews
2.8 km away
The Elbow Room
The Elbow Room
#6 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for "boutique" style accommodation in the heart of Kirkcaldy? Stay at Dunedin! Excellent and regular transport links are just a short stroll away. Large, comfortable en-suite rooms with a modern contemporary feel. Off-street parking and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is simply superb and if you're tired of the "traditional" cooked breakfast try the fresh salmon, scrambled eggs and croissant - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunedin

Address: 25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Price Range: $94 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dunedin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room I had at the back of the house overlooked a lovely garden”
 of 5 bubbles cariakass, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if lower level rooms available. We were on first floor accessed by stone stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Sc0tabr0ad, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I didn't ask to see the other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MikeDixon, 6 May 2015 | Read review
“We had a fabulous room at the front. We live in a village with little traffic so first night felt noisy, but soon became accustomed it.”
 of 5 bubbles thehatlady2014, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We had the front upstairs room, which was very large, with a smart en-suite”
 of 5 bubbles stevef559, 19 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5