We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
#26 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,428: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is our fourth stay at this hotel. Once again we were very pleased with the experience. Dinner, tapas style in the bar, was a good option most nights and we can highly recommend the lamb dish and steak from the restaurant menu. We stayed four days and housekeeping was a little ad hoc some days with bathroom and tea/coffee/biscuit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XOX140
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our chef is very passionate about this food and we are about to launch our autumn menu next week. Housekeeping comments have bee noted. We look forward to seeing you here again in the neat future.

Essex, UK
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just back from the hotel again, lost count of the number of years we have stayed here. It is ideally situated for a short visit for the Festival. Always have found the hotel clean and the buffet breakfast sets us up for the day. The only thing I can comment on-2 people in the room however after the first night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aitchjayes
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Delighted you are promising to come back again next year. Your housekeeping issues have been noted and your comments will be passed onto Kevin - thank you for mentioning him in your note. See you in 2014!

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you have £250.00 a night to spend on a hotel then there must be better places to stay in Edinburgh for the money than No.10 Hill Place. No dressing gowns, no views from windows, faulty plumbing (cold water only one day, scalding and uncontrollable supply the next), no daily replacement of towels, no topping up of bathroom tissues, very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GaryPippa
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Ten Hill Place Hotel and clearly there are comments you have made which we need to take on board.

Reviewed 4 August 2013

The location is good and possibly the best thing about this hotel as we found the accommodation disappointing. The classic rooms are tiny and the furniture is battered and tired, for example an old style TV cabinet, now has a flat screen balanced on top of it, this should have been replaced. The room servicing was also poor, the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lahmouna
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not find the Hotel to your satisfaction and all your comments have been noted.

Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

If you're like me and a bit of a clean freak then this is the hotel for you. The rooms were impeccably clean and spacious. Although for some reason our room had a glass door to the bathroom so your other half can watch you on the toilet!? Not sure why this was put in but it was an interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemlaar
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and your candid feedback!! Indeed the bathroom doors do polarise opinion, and we have taken steps in some rooms to frost the see-through parts, which we will roll out to the rest of the hotel in due course. Our housekeeping team will be proud to hear we have surpassed your expectations, and it is...

Osoyro, Norway
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The room was spacious and very nice. The service in the reception was very good. The bed was comfortable, although some people might find it a bit on the hard side. The hotel was situated very well in the center of the town. We had a walking distance to the Castle and Holyrood palace, and the National museum was right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bente S
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for your kind comments about our team which I will be sure to pass on. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your expereince in our restaurant, we usually receive wonderful feedback about it from non-residents and guests alike. Our Head Chef has produced another fantastic seasonal menu from the freshest of local...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here to mark a special occasion, booked by my better half. Was surprised when got there we had superior room. Massive room with loads of space and two large windows. The bed was very comfy and had a great night sleep. Thank god for air con as it was really warm. Found it a little walk from princes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGL280712
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

I'm glad you had such a nice time, and that we could help you celebrate your special occasion. It is one of the front desk team's desires to ensure those celebrating have as wonderful a time as possible, and they will do whatever they are able to ensure this happens. I have passed your comments regarding housekeeping to the team...

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After a long day of traveling we arrived around 9pm to find that our room was given away. The front desk said that the hotel was overbooked, but interestingly enough we had prepaid for the room weeks ahead of time. In their defense, they did call us a cab and set us up a room at another hotel in that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review, and your kind comments regarding your room on your intial visit. I do offer my apologies however that your return visit was complicated by our hotel being overbooked. Thankfully this happens rarely but sadly leaves us with little option but to seek accommodation for our guests elsewhere. It is not a course of action...

Rotorua, NZ
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed one evening in July on our first night in the UK. Pleasant room and friendly staff. Short walk to the central city and Edinburgh Castle. Breakfast was adequate if not spectacular. Coffee standard disappointing. Not much parking space in the area. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Would like to know what the issue was you had with the coffee as our brand has always been very popular. Please e-mail me directly on m.walker@surgeonshall.com as we take all comments seriously and we would be interested to know what you felt was wrong with...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Thought this would be a nice hotel, but was highly dissatisfied when we checked in, this is NOT a luxury hotel, room has dated cheap,furniture, the mattress is OLD, and lumpy. Room is large but not comfortable. I would not recommend this to anyone who,is looking for a 3star or better. The plus side is good location and a friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maia R
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments on our Hotel and our friendly staff. However, with regards your comments on us not being "luxury" - we have never claimed to be so. We are a good 4-star Hotel offering comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We have only been opened since 2006 and it is therefore difficult to accept our furniture is now described...

518 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Skyline Room Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
778 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,184 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighbourhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighbourhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
No.Ten Restaurant
No.Ten Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as 'conference hotel of the year 2015' Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Price Range: $126 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles lemons275, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The corner suite on the third floor is very good - quiet as above the road.”
 of 5 bubbles 926AndreaM, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room on higher floor with view of the mountain”
 of 5 bubbles lemonhead830, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms get noise early in AM from cars parked on a back street, right under our window.”
 of 5 bubbles Confidante09, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Fantastic panoramic view from 5th floor rooms (Skyline).”
 of 5 bubbles fatb0ab, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5