We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (39)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good41%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“royal mile”(235 reviews)
“great location”(221 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
541
561
215
73
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
541
561
215
73
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmart city hostelroyal milegreat locationguest kitchenbunk bedsshower and toiletstag doluggage roomnoisy at nightfringe festivalhigh streetcentral locationtrain stationhaggisroommatesdormensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had never been to a hostel before but my first visit was positive and I would definitely use safestay again. The location is great as it's walking distance from all of the pubs and shops. The room was spacious and neatly presented. The only...More

Thank 840steph
Response from SafestayEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Safestay EdinburghResponded 6 days ago

Hello 840steph! Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it! We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and hope you had a great time here in Edinburgh! All the best !

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends in a private room. We had our own toilet & shower. Room was clean and had ample sockets to charge phones etc. Towels were provided & chest of drawers to put away clothes. One of the beds did...More

3  Thank glasgow1Glasgow
Response from SafestayEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Safestay EdinburghResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello glasgow1Glasgow! Thank you so much for your feedback it really means a lot to us! We hope you enjoyed your stay, but I'm sorry to hear about the beds being 1 duvet short and about the service at the bar also. I shall speak...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel was amazing to stay at, all of the staff were friendly, especially Rob, Lucy, and Sophie. The rooms were really great to stay at, just enough room to be comfortable. The location is makes it very easy to get around.

Thank Joshua B
Response from SafestayEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Safestay EdinburghResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Joshua! Thank you so much for your lovely review, we shall show this to our bar team and i'm sure it will make their day! Kind regards - Abi

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rob, Lucy, and Sophie are the most friendly and attentive bartenders I have encountered in the UK. They have yet to disappoint after the many drinks I have ordered over my stay. More should be like emMore

Thank Tyler M
Response from SafestayEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Safestay EdinburghResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Tyler! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We will be sure to show Rob, Lucy & Sophie this, I'm sure it will make them all very happy! We hope you had a great time in Edinburgh & a safe journey on wards....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Edinburgh for 5 nights and were looking for something that could be a sort of home base. This hostel was pretty typical and didn’t have any faults really but was really big and often busy, which was not really what we wanted....More

Thank Emily B
Response from SafestayEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Safestay EdinburghResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Emily! Thank you for your review! We are glad we fitted your needs! We have a few fans available from reception for when rooms start to get hotter in summer and your comments about the guest kitchen have been forwarded to management. We hope...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Edinburgh
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 26 - USD 319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 26 - USD 319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (39)
Pool & Beach (8)
Amenities (29)
Family and Play Areas (14)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rachel S
27 January 2017|
Answer
Response from SOphia95xx | Reviewed this property |
I seen a few children staying here when I was here but it was mostly solo travellers or small groups of friends.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I'm not sure which way it faces, but try to get a window looking out over the bay"
Read review
"Avoid rooms with windows above the bar as it gets noisy"
Read review
"Who comes overseas please, Bring your adapters!!!!!"
Read review
"accessibility to the royal mile and waverly station were good."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing