We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Safestay Edinburgh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Safestay Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,004: English reviews
Start your review of Safestay Edinburgh
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was like a sauna and the window bately opens. Great huge shower facilities ensuite. The bed linnen is due to renewing. Breakfast is nice but nothing special, best to buy in advance at reception

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristof S
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family of 6 spent one night here before flying out...simple place to stay near all the attractions. I like that this hostel allows families with children the opportunity to book the entire room. The bedlinens were good quality & provided. The mattresses themselves were not luxurious but ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B1341QDsarahb
Dortmund
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent location, very useful facilites like resturant/bar, luggage room, shelves in the room for the guests belongings, bath inside the room. Good Service, advise and help of the staff was great. Excellent value for Money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edinburgvistor17
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Safestay Edinburgh feels really upscale for a hostel and for the price we paid you really can't beat it. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and fairly spacious, common spaces were there. Would highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katrinad1991
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Two friends and I traveled to Edinburgh for the first time and it was amazing! This hostel (after being able to find it- we didn't realize bridges go over other roads at first) was so wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was well set-up. The noise was not as bad as I expected, and there was so...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erin227
SafestayEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I am new to the world of hostels and was quite nervous. But this was an excellent experience! It was clean and the location was excellent!!! The staff was mostly friendly and knowledgeable. There was a full service bar and restaurant which was convenient. Lots to do within walking distance. The only downsize was my room smelled of cigarette smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni L
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will make sure that someone looks at the window to that room, apologies that it did not close probably during your stay with us. Thank you again and I hope that you had a lovely onward trip.

Worcester, MA
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was great...for a 12 bed dorm (fully booked) it was a breeze. Large enough so that everyone had their own space, as well as 2 showers and 2 toilets. 2 sinks in the common space between the showers/toilets. Small complaints about the room...the motion detector lights in that sink space came on...but shut off after only a few...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikajake
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the feedback on the wet room. We will be sure to check for any missing hooks as this would make the experience easier. I hope that you had a great onward journey...

Valenciennes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very clean, not expensive and comfortable. The rooms were tidy and the beds comfortable. The cooking facilities worked perfectly. The location is perfect as is just in the city centre and you just have to walk a little bit to be on the Royal Mile.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank m_nicam159
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review! We hope to see you again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spacious high rise hostel, staff and reception very organized, felt safe, overall very clean, fun pub downstairs, loud at night but otherwise no complaints. Location right in old town, very convenient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallysP3829BV
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you, I hope you had a great time exploring Edinburgh!

Lagos, Portugal
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great place to stay. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the place itself was perfect for what we wanted. It is a little bit rough around the edges iin the rooms but for the money not a problem. We had 3 private rooms between 11 guys and found them comfortable with there own toilet and shower. The hostel amenities...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mookface
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! The Ox is a firm favorite with the team here too delighted you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
863 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $36 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Safestay Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Safestay Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great place to stay during the Fringe!”
ttl_17, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Noisy on the lower floors due to the proximity to the street and the in-house bar”
kiwifamily007, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I had room 506 and was very happy with it. It was close to the elevators and easy to find. It was spacious and quiet.”
SuzanS_8_2016, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room, not on the hotel bar side.”
125am_liec, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the bar are noisy”
592lianl, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5