We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Show Prices
#81 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 740: English reviews
Start your review of Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went recently for a friend's birthday weekend. We ordered breakfast in bed the first morning - the service was quick and the food surprisingly cheap for a hotel. It's location is spot on for visiting all of the main sites Edinburgh has to offer (not at all far from the castle!). You get free access and Q-jump to the nightclub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristianDolan87
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Christian, It is lovely to hear such great comments about the experience you had with us here at Le Monde Hotel. We are delighted the staff made you feel welcome and well looked after and that you found the décor and the amenities in the room of a high quality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got a good deal through booking.com which made this a really nice stay for a very reasonable price, we stayed in the Havana room which had a lovely view over George street. Our deal didn't include breakfast but we did have dinner in the hotel which was lovely. As guests we also had entrance to the VIP area of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anciepancie
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi, It is so lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Le Monde Hotel so much. We are delighted you made use of the VIP access to Shanghai and were able to relax in our cosy Library bar in front of the fire. Our number one priority at Le Monde is to ensure every one of our...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to eat at this restaurant during an afternoon looking around Edinburgh. Turns out this was an excellent decision. I had a scotch eggs starter that was to die for and my partner had French onion soup that she raved about. Thoroughly recommend a visit. Good value too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Steve, We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your day exploring Edinburgh too! We hope to welcome you back to Le Monde soon. Thanks, Paul

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Le Monde is a boutique hotel in the centre of Edinburgh and obviously not cheap. However, it is well worth it if you're looking for a base to do your exploration of this great city. The rooms are all themed on cities from around the world and of a high standard. The hotel has a lounge bar, cocktail bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Danny, It is always lovely to hear from our guests and the wonderful experience they had staying with us at Le Monde. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and we are delighted to hear that our staff made you feel relaxed and well look after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience another...

Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice bar in town great for meeting for drinks Good location in George street Very busy at weekends and can be difficult to find a seat Good nightclub underneath Haven't stayed so not sure about the hotel or the food But it's a good bar with a nice atmosphere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bevfly
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our stylish bar. We would love to welcome you back again for a meal or to stay in our beautiful boutique hotel. Thanks, Paul

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a friend for a romantic overnight for my partners 30th! What an absolute joke!! We were £285 for the night and our room was the most standard room I've ever seen! It was a disgrace! Went and asked to be moved but they were fully booked, the girl at the desk was as helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel M
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Rachel M Many thanks for your trip advisor review. I am sorry to read such a bad review of the hotel and the quality of the room and if I may comment on your points. You stayed in our Dublin room. This room is listed on our current web site, always has been and there are several pictures of...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

got a retirement gift of a night in the le monde. stayed in the Cairo suite. stayed Sunday 29th January. really wanted to stay in the Casablanca. room was tired. splashes on wall at side of bed. shower leaked as door did not close properly. to be honest not my idea of four star. tv kept going of. liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phyllisashe
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Le Monde. We would like to apologize that our Cairo suite did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been taken on board and rectified. All room requests are not not guaranteed, and we are sorry to hear that you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Saw this hotel had been highly rated online and so expected something special. Wasn't disappointed! Location is brilliant and very central to everything. I was there whilst the Christmas markets were out and the evenings were excellent. It is a boutique hotel, with rooms named after capital cities. I was in Cairo which was HUGE. Front room and desk space,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that your stay lived up to the high expectations you had. We are also delighted that you had a chance to appreciate all of the luxurious features in our Cairo suite that makes it so special and perfect for a romantic getaway! Call us...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a standard room here for a night away in the capital as myself and my partner work very long hours and needed a nice break. This place was just what we needed. We stayed in the New York suite and it was amazing, was completely blown away by the size of the room, the tv was bigger than the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panda_gem666
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for your kind review. We agree that our New York suite , with its incredibly comfortable bed, luxurious shower and elegant features has everything you need to relax and enjoy a special night away. We do apologize for the small disappointment you had in the bar while ordering your drinks but we are really glad...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A rare Sunday lunch out preceded by cocktails in Le Monde. Fabulous decor, lovely comfy seating. The kind of place where you'd happily sit all day. Great cocktails, not cheap but worth it for the chilled out, luxury ambiance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Janice, Thank you for your kind comments. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our bar trying some of our exceptional cocktails. We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Monde soon! Thanks, Paul

633 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (188)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Executive Room Atlantis (22)
Viewed
Executive Room Berlin (30)
Viewed
Executive Room Milan (18)
Viewed
Executive Room Paris (28)
Viewed
Executive Room Reykjavik (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Casablanca (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite New York (32)
Viewed
Large Superior Room Rio (32)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room Havana (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,484 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
772 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Dirty Martini
The Dirty Martini
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: $178 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to avoid the room facing club down stairs”
 of 5 bubbles KaiW_12, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Cairo suite”
  • Our welcome surprise in our room
 of 5 bubbles waterskis, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room (Cairo) was quiet. View was another building so not much to talk about.”
  • Our cozy comfy bed!
 of 5 bubbles sowwendy, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to request a room located away from the downstairs nightclub.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristiB27, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early to avoid disappointment. The Barcelona Room at the rear is cosy and intimate”
 of 5 bubbles joemccormack, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5