We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alba Hills Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Alba Hills Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the bedroom with the external bathroom which we found to be no problem at all. The bathroom was a really good size. Our room did the job with a very comfy bed but it could've done with a touch up. Both the walls and carpets were a little dirty with marks from over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhopkins94
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I have stayed in Edinburgh in Hotels before but never have I paid so much. My daughter booked this so I didn't realise the price until we arrived. While is was clean and comfortable and breakfast was just ok and the Wi-Fi wasn't working the second day of our stay. The cost was £260 for the room for 2 nights....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinecalderwood
AlbaHillsTeam, Owner at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, We would like to express or gratefulness and thanks for this review and bringing this to our attention. We would also like to sincerely apologies to you and your daughter for this genuine error in the system. As the room was booked for the price of 3 adults and we had not realized that at the time, we would...

London
Reviewed 21 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanhaines
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

When we arrived 3 hours later than planned due to our flight being delayed the owner was very accommodating and explained to us which key to use and when is breakfast etc. The cost was £100 per night which was obviously due to the Edinburgh festival, and we were there for 3 nights.The location is approximately 25 minutes from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conrad528
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

If only all B&B's were as good as this one. Great correspondence before my visit where the hotel really wanted to know if I had any special requests. Easy to get to with many buses direct from Waverley station on Princes Street/North Bridge then a one minute walk at the far end. And the next bus stop is not too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snouticus
Europe
Reviewed 12 August 2016

The place is bed and breakfast based concept, not really in the centre of the city, but walking (30 minutes) distance or shorter ride by bus. The room was small, but clean, cosy and functional. Bathroom was basic and clean, the room is equipped in TV, coffee/tea items, kettle and some biscuits replenished on daily basis. Breakfast is served between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AhogZ
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I really loved staying at this guest house. From the moment I arrived i was made to feel at home by Tracey. She explained to me everything I needed to know about the accommodation, plus extra information about Edinburgh, and surrounding areas, as she was a true local. She also made sure that I had everything I needed in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Kind of old and creaky. Clean and cozy. Not too far from attractions by taxi. Breakfast was good. Little pricy for the age of the building. Beautiful old building but could use some updating. Plumbing was kind of noisy and the door to the bathroom was not a solid door. No privacy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Wolverhampton
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Great location as many bus routes you can jump on to head into town. Arthur 's Seat walking distance. Greeted by lovley staff who stated it was my home. GVE me the full low down on the attractions, local amnenities, local transport etc. Room for a single initially a box room.....but an end suite and a seated window meant I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We were up for the Edinburgh Film Festival and found this lovely town guest house very comfortable and convenient. The owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming, giving us lots of info about what to see in the city etc. The guest house is on a main road but although our family room was at the front we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam P

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 km away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#50 of 444 in Edinburgh
235 reviews
0.5 km away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#68 of 444 in Edinburgh
100 reviews
0.0 km away
Barony House
Barony House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#29 of 444 in Edinburgh
181 reviews
0.1 km away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#3 of 444 in Edinburgh
889 reviews
0.3 km away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#61 of 444 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alba Hills Guest House is an elegant Victorian house with many original features, we are a family run Guest House offering friendly and welcoming hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and tasty hot breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alba Hills Guest House

Address: 33 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $203 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Hills Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Alba Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hills Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Alba Hills Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alba Hills Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Alba Hills Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice view from windows at the back of the house. Clean and well decorated. no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinecalderwood, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I don't think the place had disabled access; if there was a lift i did not see it.”
 of 5 bubbles rozw726, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back have good views of Arthur's Seat & have no road noise”
  • View from cosy ensuite single Room 2
 of 5 bubbles Everhopefulone, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms doesn't have en-suite facilities. Also there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles NadeeshaRathnayake, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Get the garden view room, it's amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles lorenzoviolone, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay