We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Nira Caledonia

Show Prices
#14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Nira Caledonia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,010 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 961: English reviews
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for my 30th as one of my gifts from my husband and I adored the hotel. We were upgraded to a stunning suite and the staff couldn't do enough to help. They made us dinner reservations and when we returned had lit candles and scattered rose petals! So lovely! Great quiet location a nice five minute stroll into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian C
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Delighted to read that you had a great stay and that the team looked after you whilst celebrating your husband's birthday celebrations. The team will be best pleased to have your recognition. You say you'll definitely be back. What more could we ask for?! Please remember - you book as a guest, stay as a friend and return...

Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We loved the quietness of the location, yet very easy to get to the centre of town. The small room we stayed had great ambience and the bed was very comfortable , adding a chair would have been nice, particularly for older people. I could see everyone enjoying their breakfast in the morning, the service was attentive and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meilo S
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words and sentiment, great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team too will be delighted to read your comments. I certainly wish to welcome you back again sometime in the near future. Please be sure to contact us directly. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 April 2016

The real beauty of this hotel is the personal experience I received. Everyone from the front desk to the food service got to know me. When I asked if a larger room were available when I arrived, on the ground floor, because I was having some knee issues, the staff was incredibly accommodating. The food in their own bistro is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robinrfilipski
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback and comments. It does sound like you were very well looked after during your stay with us. The team will be highly delighted to have your recognition for their levels of personal service, something with which they take great pride affording to all guests. You say that you would prefer to...

London
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We stayed 2 nights in an executive double room and were very sorry it couldn't have been longer. The room was spotlessly clean and provided with everything we could possibly wish for to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Yes there were one or two slight cosmetic issues in the room which could benefit from attention at some stage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Si502
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Great to receive and read your comments, much obliged. The team members at the hotel will be most pleased to have your recognition for their levels of personal service. I do note your other comments for attention, thank you. You say that you will certainly return. That does speak volumes. We would be delighted to welcome you back...

Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

First class hotel decor and food both tremendous only quibble was bed was supposed to have a king size bed but it was only two beds pulled together it made sleep in comfortable apart from this everything was spot on the breakfast was fulfilling and plenty of choice the decor throughout the hotel first class service and all staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wonderful to have your feedback and endorsements, thank you very much. The team will be best pleased to learn that you appreciated their levels of personal attention and service. We certainly wish to welcome you back sometime in the near future. Best regards, Chris Lynch General Manager

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This was our second visit to this hotel on a weekend break. We pre booked dinner on the Saturday as we could not get booked the last time. Food was excellent both nights and staff were very attentive throughout. Even a false fire alarm did not upset us as again the staff helped and informed us of what was happening.hope...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weeg499
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wonderful to have feedback from returning guests, thank you. I have no doubt that the team members will be delighted to have your recognition. Great to read that you were well looked after whilst staying with us. Upon a third visit I would very much wish to welcome you back personally, please do get in touch as we...

Cambridge
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We stayed here for our 4 day honeymoon and thank the hotel staff for a fabulous stay. From the moment that we stepped from the taxi outside and someone came out to help with our bags until we checked out we were happy with our stay. Lovely room at the top of the main building with large seating area, netspresso...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avaughanj
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you most sincerely for your kind comments and sentiment. Great to read that you appreciated the levels of personal service and comfort whilst staying with us. Your endorsement to others is most welcome. Please do not forget - you book as a guest, stay as a friend and return as family. We look forward to welcoming you...

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Our second visit and once again a pleasure. Great, helpful and attentive staff throughout our stay and only too willing to assist. Superb dinner (pre-reserved) and wonderful breakfast, which we couldn't finish. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TommyF555
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Delighted to receive and read your comments. All team members at the hotel will no doubt be best pleased and proud to have your personal recognition, thank you. I also note that you are a returning guest, wonderful to have you back and your endorsement!! What more could we ask for?! Upon a third visit I would wish...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were travelling with another couple. We all had suites which were absolutely massive! Our room was in the main building where the restaurant and concierge are. The decor is lovely and each room is individually decorated. What I loved was the decor and size of the rooms as well as most of the staff. On our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sachaerin
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments and sentiment, great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I do note your other comments for attention. We sincerely wish to welcome you back to Nira Caledonia sometime in the not too distant future. Please be sure to contact us directly. Assuring you of our best attention at...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel, breakfast & service are all excellent. I would however expect much more from an executive double than a room in the attic. Access to the room was up several flights of stairs the last being very narrow and winding. Quality of room and bathroom was very disappointing. The room was dusty, poor quality furniture and a very low...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharpy85
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your constructive and subjective comments. The team and I appreciate the many positive aspects you have shared. Unfortunately we only learn of your disappointment after your departure and from your on-line posting. Most certainly we would have appreciated the full opportunity to put anything right that was not as expected. I...

590 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Bellevue (Jacuzzi) Suite (35)
Viewed
Dean Suite (39)
Viewed
Executive (30)
Viewed
Petite (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,712 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,404 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
736 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
929 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighbourhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighbourhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Price Range: $183 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nira Caledonia staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Pune, India
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Nira Caledonia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely worth upgrading to a Suite.”
  • Wow factor!
  • Amazing!
  • Champagne!
  • With the upgrade!
  • Fabulous!
 of 5 bubbles jojo082, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor and it certainly keeps you fit going up all those stairs but the view was fabulous/”
 of 5 bubbles Floydmol, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay more and get a larger room!”
 of 5 bubbles TheBearsAway, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have jacuzzi tubs!”
 of 5 bubbles artsyamys, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think any of the rooms listed as suites would be an excellent choice.”
 of 5 bubbles vincenth586, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay