We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grassmarket Hotel

Save
Share
94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR Scotland
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (707)
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (227)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#69 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Gift shop
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
2,811Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,420
  • 923
  • 280
  • 123
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
NDP260688 wrote a review Oct 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom12 contributions33 helpful votes
Came here for a birthday weekend away and was really pleased. The hotel and rooms were lovely and clean. The staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Edinburgh. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Edinburgh, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Hi NDP260688 Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you chose our hotel for your special getaway and were left satisfied. It is fantastic to read through your comments that you found our staff to be polite, helpful and location great. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another great stay and trip to Edinburgh. lease call us direct on 01312202299 for the best returners rates. Inese&The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Read more
kkennedy77777 wrote a review Sep 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here Friday and Saturday great hotel in the middle of grassmarket .. quirky and very clean great staff very helpful. Downside we stayed In room 106 directly about the pub outside and can amazing it being very noisy if the lockdown was not in place fortunately the pubs closed at 10pm or we would have had a very noisy night .. it is a great room for people watching . Enjoyed our visit
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Edinburgh, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 30 Sep 2020
Hi kkennedy77777 Thank you very much for your time to leave us a feedback regards your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found our hotel clean, quirky and staff very helpful. It sounds like you had a great stay , we really hope we can welcome you back soon for another visit. Please call us on 01312202299 for the best returners rates Inese&The Grassmarket Hotel team
Read more
poppy120 wrote a review Sep 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom15 contributions41 helpful votes
We loved our stay at the Grassmarket Hotel. We opted for the slightly larger double and found it great with a king sized bed and modern shower room. The location was superb. Everything accessible and discount card for nearby NCP car park which reduced the cost by more than half. A very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Edinburgh, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 27 Sep 2020
Hi poppy120 Thank you for this fantastic review! We are beyond pleased to read your kind comments and we are very proud that we could make your stay so enjoyable. Hopefully you made the most of your stay here in Edinburgh and the discount card came in handy! Please call us direct on 01312202299 next time you are in town for the best returners rates, we cannot wait to welcome you back! Inese&The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Read more
Laurie Y wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions4 helpful votes
I booked into the STAY Central hotel for Saturday 19th September for 1 night. After the room was paid for, I received an email informing me that we were being transferred to The Grassmarket Hotel as the STAY hotel doesn’t open until late September. I accepted the re-location however I was very disappointed in the quality of the hotel and I have many complaints. Firstly, the room was very small. I’d say that it would be more suitable for 1 person rather than 2. Secondly, the window was wedged open with a book. My guess is that the window was open due to dampness issues. The window was really dirty (as you can see in the photo I have attached) and there were lots of cobwebs. My partner and I then realised that there was a beetle in our room that had came in through this open window. We caught the bug and flushed it down the toilet after closing the window. We came back to our room later that night to find another beetle on a pillow in our bed. We then had to get rid of that one. Just as we were about to sleep, my parter moved a pillow and another beetle came scurrying out and behind the headboard. 3 beetles! After that, we were transferred to another room as we knew we couldn’t settle in the one before. This room was a lot better and so much more spacious. This is what I’d expect for the price that I paid. Personally, I did not like the hotel decor it’s furniture. The bed wasn’t very comfortable and the chair in the room wasn’t comfortable either. The hotel advertises Bluetooth speakers however in both rooms they did not work as they wouldn’t even turn on. The STAY central hotel also said that The Grassmarket Hotel would have the same facilities however unlike the STAY central, it did not have parking. We had to pay £13.50 to park overnight which was a discounted price given to us by the hotel- this was a bonus and the only good thing about the hotel. The only good thing I would say about The Grassmarket Hotel would be it’s location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Edinburgh, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 23 Sep 2020
Hi LauriexYx Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we appreciate all feedback we receive. Firstly we are happy to hear that you did love our central location, however we are very sorry to know that you experienced the above mentioned issues during your stay, I can assure you that this is not our standard and I apologize for the inconvenience caused.I am glad that you had addressed these problems to our friendly reception team during your stay who were able to hopefully rectify the situation. We have since then taken every step to ensure that the mentioned issues have been resolved. Hopefully we can welcome you back to one of our other Central Edinburgh Hotels for your next trip to the city. Inese&The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Read more
Hamed F wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Pleasant stay at the Grassmarket Hotel, staff were excellent and went the extra mile in detailing all the spots to visit during our stay. Room was to our satisfaction and right in the middle of the town so walking distance to all tourist hotspots.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Edinburgh, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 16 Sep 2020
Hi Hamed F Wow-Thank you for this fantastic review, we are pleased to read through your superb comments. I am very happy to hear that you found our staff to be excellent and helpful, room satisfactory and location great! Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon for another stay with us , please remember to call us direct on 01312202299 for the best returners rates! Inese&The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 102 - USD 281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grassmarket hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghGrassmarket / Old Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grassmarket Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grassmarket Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.3 km), Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 km), and Camera Obscura and World of Illusions (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grassmarket Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Grassmarket Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Grassmarket Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Grassmarket Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, The Piper's Rest Public House, and Tupiniquim Brasil crepes.
Is Grassmarket Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are there any historical sites close to Grassmarket Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.5 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.3 km), and Gilmerton Cove (6.0 km).