We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

arrived in the afternoon to find the key in the key safe as agreed.A really clean spacious room with everything you need.The shower was really good with plenty of hot water.The breakfast was well cooked and plenty of it.Iain was a very good host and I will be glad to stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omg2010lol
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We are always grateful when guests take the time to add their reviews. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in our home next time you Visit Edinburgh. Iain and Dot

United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for an Edinburgh wedding. We booked 3 rooms, all of them were lovely - nicely decorated, quality furniture, very comfy beds, modern en suites. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our room faced onto the road but was still quiet. Breakfast was fab, really good coffee and the cooked breakfast was perfect. Iain and Dot made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovedthefood
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, really appreciate you adding your review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you liked your breakfast and hope your visit to the Zoo went well before returning home. See you another time. Iain and Dot

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Our daughter had booked us in for 2 nights while we helped her to move house. The location is easy to find - directly opposite the Edinburgh Zoo - but the parking is limited. We were asked to specify our exact arrival time - to ensure we would be welcomed. This worked fine for us and we were shown to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanatdyce
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when visiting your daughter. You will have to try the Chinese next time - it is great! Iain and Dot

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed here for the night with my partner after finding the photos of the place attractive as well as the reasonable price. The location of the B and B is perfect for anyone going to the zoo as it is directly opposite the entrance for the zoo. The destination was a short bus ride from the city centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mulhernfan
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

A big thank you for adding such a lovely review. We always appreciate people taking time out their busy lives to add their views. Thank you for the comments about our home. It is always good to know we are doing something right! It does make us feel appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again at Dalmore Lodge. Iain...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We had room 4 facing zoo which looks lovely . traffic not a problem road quietens as the night draws near. Room spotless tea/coffee and biscuits in room and shower good lovely shower gel and shampoo provided along with hair dryer and plenty power sockets. Iron and board available. Ian was like a friend who cares about you. Very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicola p
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your lovely review for us. We try our best to provide everything we would want ourselves if staying in a guest house and it is great to know you appreciated the little touches. It can be difficult these days, as most people expect it to be like a hotel when it is just our home. Great...

Reviewed 2 August 2016

This guest house ticked the boxes in regards to what we needed, ie location to zoo, clean and comfortable. However as we were staying whilst we attended a wedding, we were looking forward to a lie in. Unfortunately our room was next to the kitchen on the ground floor so could hear all the general clattering involved in breakfast prep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wheelgate
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank for adding your review. Probably would have been better (and cheaper) booking direct with us rather through a booking agent. When you book through an Agent, you choose the room yourself and they are not allocated on arrival. We could have then helped you with room configuration and ensured you booked a room that wasn't next to...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable, but quite a long way from the city centre along a road with very heavy traffic. What really bothered us, though, was the hosts refusal to cook breakfast for our sick child because they hadn't finished their food the day before!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your review. Glad you felt the rooms were comfortable as it is very important to us about the cleanliness so appreciate your comments. I'm not sure whether you booked through an agent or directly with us but we give lots of information on our own website and via agents on where we are located and the...

glasgow
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this guesthouse yesterday. Was welcomed in by ian,im assuming who is the owner. Ian was welcoming and friendly,showed me to my room on arriving and discussed breakfast with me etc. The rooms are large,modern,spotlessly clean and ensuite. I stayed in room number one which also had the added bonus of french doors and a balcony which is something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert n
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you very much for your fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is not very often people get the use of the balcony but the weather was the best it's been in a long time! Hope you get the opportunity to visit us again. Was lovely to meet you. Iain and Dot

Reviewed 24 June 2016

Absolutely loved staying at this guest house! Rooms are gorgeous, clean and comfortable to stay in! We felt right at home when we we're here! We were in room 5 and we had the best view ever of Edinburgh zoo (we also had the window open at night and there was no disturbances for us! - no noise from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a great time with us and loved the room and the ease of getting into the City Centre. As you note, the bus service from us is excellent and it doesn't take long to get into the City or to the Airport. Sorry you didn't meet Dot but...

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We liked the Dalmore. Our breakfasts were hot and very good. Iain was nice but can be a little touchy. The location of the Dalmore is awesome. Major buses run right in front and you can get anywhere from this location. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GLyle
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to add your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, I was a little touchy but only due to the fact that we left the keys for you with the room number in our keysafe but for some reason you put them back in the safe, then entered another room already booked for...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#104 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,971 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
Corstorphine
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#281 of 445 in Edinburgh
137 reviews
Hampton Hotel
#122 of 445 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
Corstorphine
Judy Guest House
Judy Guest House
#360 of 445 in Edinburgh
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Address: 14 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Price Range: $107 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmore Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dalmore Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmore Lodge Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalmore Lodge Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalmore Lodge Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room to rear recommended”
 of 5 bubbles alanatdyce, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has patio door a table 2 seats ground floor garden view. Rooms 3.4&5 are first floor. All lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolapH8694BE, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 was noisy early in the morning due to the kitchen being next to it.”
 of 5 bubbles wheelgate, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had room 5 - front of the house, overlooking the zoo.. The room is red with a double and a single bed in (sleeps 3) :)”
 of 5 bubbles emmajZ4772SK, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“we where in room number 1 which is right by the kitchen the breakfast smell wakes you up.”
 of 5 bubbles kendoliverpool, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay