We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Dalmore Lodge Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for the challenge cup final, arrived quite early but was able to drop bags off and Iain gave us the room key so we could come back later. Was really looking forward to the breakfast after hearing so many good reviews on here, however had one to many whiskey's the night before and slept through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Lee, great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and sorry you missed breakfast. You'll have to come back for another rugby event and avoid the whisky this time :) We are 2.5 miles from the start of Princes Street and as you note, on a great bus link into the town. See you again. Iain and Dot

Edinburgh
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This place is really lovely and exceeded our expectations. We would normally stay at Hotel in town ,so i was not sure how i would like a Guest House. We had a lovely downstairs, double room at the back of property. The decor is very modern and tasteful . Exceptionally clean ,quiet and comfortable . Ian was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghShirley
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Shirley, thanks for your brilliant review. Glad you enjoyed your "guest house experience" with us. It is more personal than staying in a larger hotel plus still easy to get into town with great transport links just outside the door. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Iain and Dot

Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We arrived from Shetland at 6pm ,we contacted Iain beforehand to say when we would arrive,he made us so welcome,helping us upstairs with our luggage.He also gave us advice on places nearby where we could have a meal.We had 2 nights stay in 2 different rooms,i had booked nights separately so changed room on night 2.Both rooms were really lovely,2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhona S
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks Rhona for your brilliant review on both rooms :) It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are glad you enjoyed it so much. Hope to see you both again soon in our home. Another thank you again for the lovely Shetland soap and shower gel. It was very kind of you to bring with you. See...

County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights and the place is like a home away from home. Owners were very friendly and helpful.the room is cosy, ensuite is very clean. Breakfast is lovely. What else can I say? I will definitely consider staying here again on my next trip to Edinburgh. Location is perfect, bus stops are just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank serenelady1157
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca and Alexa, thank you very much for your lovely review. Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both again at Dalmore Lodge. Hope the Uni trip went well :)

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We had a very comfortable stop over on our recent trip to the Capital. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. It is ideally situated (just across the road from the zoo).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Echt
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Always appreciated when people take the time to add a review, especially when it is a perfect review ! Thanks for staying and we will see you on another occasion in our home. Iain and Dot

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

arrived in the afternoon to find the key in the key safe as agreed.A really clean spacious room with everything you need.The shower was really good with plenty of hot water.The breakfast was well cooked and plenty of it.Iain was a very good host and I will be glad to stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank omg2010lol
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We are always grateful when guests take the time to add their reviews. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in our home next time you Visit Edinburgh. Iain and Dot

United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for an Edinburgh wedding. We booked 3 rooms, all of them were lovely - nicely decorated, quality furniture, very comfy beds, modern en suites. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our room faced onto the road but was still quiet. Breakfast was fab, really good coffee and the cooked breakfast was perfect. Iain and Dot made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilovedthefood
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, really appreciate you adding your review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you liked your breakfast and hope your visit to the Zoo went well before returning home. See you another time. Iain and Dot

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Our daughter had booked us in for 2 nights while we helped her to move house. The location is easy to find - directly opposite the Edinburgh Zoo - but the parking is limited. We were asked to specify our exact arrival time - to ensure we would be welcomed. This worked fine for us and we were shown to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanatdyce
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when visiting your daughter. You will have to try the Chinese next time - it is great! Iain and Dot

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed here for the night with my partner after finding the photos of the place attractive as well as the reasonable price. The location of the B and B is perfect for anyone going to the zoo as it is directly opposite the entrance for the zoo. The destination was a short bus ride from the city centre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mulhernfan
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

A big thank you for adding such a lovely review. We always appreciate people taking time out their busy lives to add their views. Thank you for the comments about our home. It is always good to know we are doing something right! It does make us feel appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again at Dalmore Lodge. Iain...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We had room 4 facing zoo which looks lovely . traffic not a problem road quietens as the night draws near. Room spotless tea/coffee and biscuits in room and shower good lovely shower gel and shampoo provided along with hair dryer and plenty power sockets. Iron and board available. Ian was like a friend who cares about you. Very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nicola p
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your lovely review for us. We try our best to provide everything we would want ourselves if staying in a guest house and it is great to know you appreciated the little touches. It can be difficult these days, as most people expect it to be like a hotel when it is just our home. Great...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Corstorphine
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#194 of 389 in Edinburgh
151 reviews
Corstorphine
Judy Guest House
Judy Guest House
#327 of 389 in Edinburgh
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Hotel
#117 of 389 in Edinburgh
98 reviews
Classic Guest House
#69 of 389 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#123 of 389 in Edinburgh
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Address: 14 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Price Range: $113 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmore Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Dalmore Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmore Lodge Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalmore Lodge Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalmore Lodge Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back really quiet”
12summers, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room to rear recommended”
alanatdyce, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has patio door a table 2 seats ground floor garden view. Rooms 3.4&5 are first floor. All lovely views.”
nicolapH8694BE, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 was noisy early in the morning due to the kitchen being next to it.”
wheelgate, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had room 5 - front of the house, overlooking the zoo.. The room is red with a double and a single bed in (sleeps 3) :)”
emmajZ4772SK, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates