We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arrandale Guest House

Save
Share
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Overview
28 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BZ Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Housekeeping
Pool
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
33
28
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
33
28
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centredouble and single bedb b'scooked breakfastporridgeyogurtprinces streetlisannandaleensuitebusesroomyscotland
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Lis is very welcoming, and does good breakfast if you want, toast, fruit, yoghurt, or the full English breakfast it's all available. Soya milk and vegetable spread available on request. Rooms large and airy, not modern but clean and comfortable beds and a nice shower...More

Thank Jo S
Reviewed 27 September 2017

My friend Maureen and I stayed here last Sunday night. Lis the owner was as ever welcoming, friendly and could not do enough for you. Room 5 the family room, with a double and two single rooms, was warm and inviting. Breakfast was cooked English...More

Thank ckmcgurk8817
Response from ArrandaleGuestHouse, Owner at Arrandale Guest HouseResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much. I'm so glad you enjoy staying here.

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Really cant complain about this B&B was clean breakfast was ok and because it was the Festival felt the price was fantastic.Could do with a revamp but that is the only negative complaint ,Would definitely return to this B&B .

Thank Sandra600
Response from ArrandaleGuestHouse, Owner at Arrandale Guest HouseResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the price good. We'll be carrying out some refurbishments over autumn/winter.

Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were visiting Edinburgh to see the Military Tattoo and unfortunately only staying the one night. We weren't sure what to expect from our booking given its the busy time of year with school summer holidays and the Fringe also being on. We've both stayed...More

2  Thank Kate Y
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We stayed one night here. We were welcomed warmly and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean, warm but not too hot and we had a lovely big bathroom for our exclusive use. Breakfast was delicious and relaxed. A...More

1  Thank Sandra C
View more reviews
About
Description
Lis & Ross extend a warm, friendly welcome to our 3 star Arrandale Guest House, a spacious 19th century villa, once a large family home and retaining some original features. Ideally located for the Castle, ...More University and Roslyn. •Located in the Newington area on the south side of the city centre, close to Edinburgh University, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool, the Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Arthur's Seat and the Meadows. •A short bus journey to the city centre, the Castle, Scottish Parliament, the railway station and the bus station. •Frequent, excellent bus service to all parts of the city, to Castle, Holyrood Palace, Royal Yacht Britannia and to the south of the city, to Roslyn Glen, Butterfly World and to the Scottish Borders •rooms - single, double, twin, room for a small family/group of 3 people and a large family/group of 4 or 5 people. •5 Bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, one bedroom has a private bathroom outside of the bedroom (it is not shared). •Every room is equipped with a television, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, towels, toiletries and tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
USD 83 - USD 161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Arrandale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Photos
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
625 reviews
.43 km away
The Northumberland Hotel
438 reviews
.50 km away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
1,140 reviews
.54 km away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
961 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,754 restaurants in Edinburgh
Pataka
828 reviews
.62 km away
Edinburgh Food Studio
84 reviews
.41 km away
The Old Bell Inn
542 reviews
.54 km away
Delhi Diner
291 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,247 attractions in Edinburgh
Pickering's Gin Distillery
507 reviews
1.10 km away
Holyrood Park
2,465 reviews
.95 km away
The Queen's Hall
97 reviews
1.20 km away
Summerhall
43 reviews
1.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
david h
20 January 2017|
Answer
Response from ArrandaleGuestHouse | Property representative |
Hi David, it costs about £27 for a taxi from the airport to the guest house.
0
Votes
springriver
11 September 2015|
Answer
Response from ArrandaleGuestHouse | Property representative |
The fan was replaced promptly. As soon as any fans become faulty, they are replaced as quickly as possible. It is a statutory requirement that all bathrooms are fitted with extractor fans.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms 1 and 2 are by the kitchen so if you prefer a quiet morning, please ask for rooms upstairs."
Read review
"Rooms at the back of property look into lovely gardens."
Read review
"Excellent transport links - great Chinese and Indian restaurants easy walking distance from Arrandale House..."
Read review
"We had room number 4, which is at the rear and quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing