We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Show Prices
#45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,351: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a weekend break. On arrival at 10am wasn't expecting a room to be ready, but there was one available so an early check in was possible. The reception staff were very friendly and the cookie on arrival was a nice touch! The room itself was small but stylish with modern decor and a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon M
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jon M, Although I am delighted to read that you stay with us was an enjoyable one, I would like to apologise that you felt cramped into the table next to you at breakfast. I will raise this point with the Restaurant Manager to ensure there is sufficient space between tables and your breakfast should have a relaxing time...

Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. It’s a good location, 5 mins from Grassmarket or 10 mins from Princes Street. We were a little disappointed with the room. Whilst the décor was nice, we had an “odd shaped” room. It was long and thin, at at the window end lost a cut out into the room where there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thecoaster
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear thecoaster, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. Although I am happy to read that you enjoyed your overall stay, I am sorry that the room highlighted caused inconvenienced. Although the room is fully sound proofed I can appreciate that the shape and the position of the window can cause the hotel to...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank snikwah2015
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I had a series of meetings in Edinburgh and stayed in DoubleTreee by Hilton for a week. Hotel is well located, 5-10 minutes walk from Princes Street, Grass Market, Castle etc. I would really recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wjptak
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear wjptak, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your business trip to Edinburgh. I appreciate your feedback and happy to read that you found the hotel suited your needs on your trip and that you would recommend us to others which is the best comment we can received. Until next time Ronald Little General Manager

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here Tuesday and Wednesday night, staff where very friendly, polite and couldn't do enough for us! Rooms are spacious, very clean and offer every thing you'd need, breakfasts where of excellent quality and even offered you fresh to cook extras like omelettes or waffles etc! We would definitely recommend this hotel as its with 10...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sknab
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sknab, I am delighted to read that your stay was a thoroughly enjoyable one with the team standing out for being polite and friendly. Your 5 star review is appreciated as this clearly shows we have made a difference to your Edinburgh visit and is great to share with the team. Until next time Ronald Little General Manager

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was on 3rd floor with reasonable view of the castle which looked lovely in the winter sun. Breakfast was excellent, probably the best I've had on a 'self service/buffet style. Check-in was a bit slow but staff did apologise. The hotel operates a 'left luggage' system which is useful after check-out.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian M
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel. Although I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us with breakfast and service, although slow due to a busy arrival, I am disappointed from your review that your stay was not a 5/5. I hope that you will stay with...

Scotland
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Very nice hotel situated within walking distance of princess street. The room was spacious, very clean and had a great view of Edinburgh castle, The breakfast was excellent, discounted parking is available 200yds from hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GMFC1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear GMFC1, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Just on our way back from 2 nights here and we can't fault the hotel. Arriving after valentines weekend they were understandably not ready when we arrived at about one but we're happy to take our bags and we were happy to go explore the city. When we returned about 4pm we were slightly annoyed that the room was still...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay F
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay F, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had a faultless experience and can only apologise that there was a slightly delay in your breakfast order for poached eggs. We have seen an large increase in these orders over the past 2 weeks...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

We arrived for a two night half term break. Particularly liked the fact that we could choose our room and check in prior to arrival. The reception staff were really friendly and first impressions were that our room was fab. Fourth floor, castle view and a sofa double bed for our daughter. The bathroom was great and you won't find...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nialls_angel
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear nialls_angel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh for your half term break. Although I am happy to read that you will return on your next Edinburgh trip, there were clear issues which will be discuss with the team to ensure we deal with these accordingly. I appreciate your feedback and can...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We had 3 nights here. The hotel was nice and clean, the breakfast was great, lots of choice. We had cocktails in the bar , which was good, not busy on a Saturday night. Walk up and down the stairs, the old tiles were worth missing the lift for. Nice biscuits too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bennettbunch77
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Bennettbunch77, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the DoubleTree Cookies. I appreciate your feedback and delighted to see that you enjoyed the offering at breakfast to get your say off to the right start along with cocktails in Monboddo. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Until next...

649 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (282)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Guest Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
646 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,828 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,260 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $146 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher the better and end of the halls”
 of 5 bubbles IlluminatingRose, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a great room on second floor. Friends stayed on the 4th and had noise issues due to a party on the penthouse above.”
 of 5 bubbles AQ1975, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a Castle View.”
 of 5 bubbles garyt987, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only top-floor rooms have any view - the others look onto the tenement buildings across the street”
 of 5 bubbles Highland2, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go up to the roof top viewing area”
 of 5 bubbles 304christopherg, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay